We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10505 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #80 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Not that bad as I read, depend on the apartment you got. I changed the room twice, and I discovered that there are different types of apartments, so if you are unhappy with your room, try to change it, you'll be surprised. The clerks are helpful and polite, the hotel is close to the Dolphin Mall and Int'l Mall and not far away from the Airport, around 20 min. The cons: the cleaning is so and so, the breakfast is the same every day, the pool is tiny, the area is surrounded by warehouses...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
32
17
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I booked the hotel using points. I needed the room for one night after returning from a cruise. When we arrived at the hotel the Front desk agent was nice, but before checking he system she told me that it's too early to check in, she then looked into her computer and said I a have a "nice suite for you". The agent was nice, but did not bother informing me about any of the hotel amenities or telling me about the area. The initial impression of the hall ways was terrible. They were very dark and smelly. When we arrived at the room, we were disappointed to see how dated the furniture and the appliances were. The sofa bed was not made and did not have any pillows. The TV was old and had a large cable box on top of it. During our stay the AC went out. When I asked the front desk agent to get it fixed, she said that the maintenance guy was around, but she does not know where he is, she'll try to contact him, but if she cannot find him he'll fix it tomorrow. I explained to her that I needed to sleep and that I am leaving at 3:00 am the next morning and I needed it fixed. After few minutes, the gentleman who was very nice came to the room and got the Ac fixed. it' disappointing that the gentleman did not speak a word of English but insisted on telling me what he was trying to do. At 3;00 am when I went down to the lobby area to get a luggage car I asked the lady working overnight if we can get the grab and go breakfast for my kids since we are leaving early. She said "O.K." but had no idea what I was asking talking about. I also observed some people sitting in the lobby using the computer and blasting some music, it looked like they were friends of the employees. Sadly I cannot think of anything good to say about this hotel and don't let the Airport in the name fool you. The hotel is a good 20 minutes away form the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The studio had a kitchen, the bed were comfortable, and cleaned daily. It was enough for two people. We had a blast because we rented a car and drove everywhere. It was quiet, no one bothered us. Every morning I got a plastic bag to get the complimentary breakfast. The staff members were helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Every TownePlace (we learned the hard way) has their TVs to the sides of the bed and I mean SIDE. Attempts to move it are fruitless as the cable is too short. Even the living area TV is to the side of the couch. Who watches TV like this?
The rest of the place was dirty and smelly: Hallways on ground level and 2nd floor, elevator. Our one bedroom was no better: leftover peanut on floor, toilet handle broken, shower curtain chains off, refrig stuck out of the counter because it did not fit under the cabinet (must have been a sale they could not resist and were stupid enough not to measure for, or too lazy to trim the wood.)

Never again, not here not to any TownePlace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was on a car trip to Key West and wanted to spend a day at South Beach along the way. After reading many reviews for South Beach and Miami Beach hotels, I came to the conclusion anything affordable was run down, scary or had no parking. Considering I had a car and was a Marriott rewards member, my search turned to hotels further away. This hotel turned out to be a good choice for me. It is convenient to the Dolphin Expressway which goes directly to South Beach. It took me about 20 minutes to get from the hotel to South Beach. I had no problem parking at South Beach either Saturday evening or Sunday morning. Both days I parked at the end of South Pointe Drive which is steps from the beach. Back at TownePlace, parking wasn't a problem. The best part of my stay was the bed. It was awesome. The mattress was plush and the sheets felt high quality. I didn't spend a lot of time in the room so the kitchenette didn't matter. The bathroom was large and very clean. The television was an old 27 inch tube TV which was adequate while getting ready for bed. The remote was missing a battery but the desk clerk replaced it right away. There's a small-ish rectangular swimming pool which might be good to cool off but I didn't use it. Maybe I was lucky but the room was quiet and there were no cooking smells. Overall the room and property were clean, stylish and didn't seem worn or run down like other reviews state. I can see the hotel is meant for business people on extended stays but it worked for my needs, which was a place to sleep while I went to South Beach. I wouldn't make it a vacation destination, it's in a office/commercial area, but I'd stay there again for one or two nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here after our cruise for 2 nights. The rooms are in very poor condition. Old decor and the appliances are very old as well. Our microwave oven did not work. The free breakfast is in the main lobby, not much bigger than a bedroom. The swimming pool was filthy. We will certainly not be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central America
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've stayed there twice. The first time for one night and it was OK. The second time for five nights and we won't do it again. Seem like the suites are used for extended periods by sailors, the rooms have a full kitchen, in our second stay we had to live with the smell of very strong smelly cooking, which we didn't care for. The second time we took a better look at the rooms, they are run down, the beds are too soft (or too used), the wifi service was very poor, most of the time we had to quit using it. We had to keep asking for towels and bed sheets. The free breakfast buffet had to be collected and brought back to the rooms because there are no tables for breakfast. Something we bought, was in a plastic bag in a closet, the value wasn't more than $10, but it disapeared. You can hear the planes as they pass over the hotel. From my point of view, higher cost, than what it offers. The rest was OK. One night and maybe two people, no more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area

Address: 10505 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.