We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10505 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #82 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good and Enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The studio had a kitchen, the bed were comfortable, and cleaned daily. It was enough for two people. We had a blast because we rented a car and drove everywhere. It was quiet, no one bothered us. Every morning I got a plastic bag to get the complimentary breakfast. The staff members were helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
32
17
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Every TownePlace (we learned the hard way) has their TVs to the sides of the bed and I mean SIDE. Attempts to move it are fruitless as the cable is too short. Even the living area TV is to the side of the couch. Who watches TV like this?
The rest of the place was dirty and smelly: Hallways on ground level and 2nd floor, elevator. Our one bedroom was no better: leftover peanut on floor, toilet handle broken, shower curtain chains off, refrig stuck out of the counter because it did not fit under the cabinet (must have been a sale they could not resist and were stupid enough not to measure for, or too lazy to trim the wood.)

Never again, not here not to any TownePlace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was on a car trip to Key West and wanted to spend a day at South Beach along the way. After reading many reviews for South Beach and Miami Beach hotels, I came to the conclusion anything affordable was run down, scary or had no parking. Considering I had a car and was a Marriott rewards member, my search turned to hotels further away. This hotel turned out to be a good choice for me. It is convenient to the Dolphin Expressway which goes directly to South Beach. It took me about 20 minutes to get from the hotel to South Beach. I had no problem parking at South Beach either Saturday evening or Sunday morning. Both days I parked at the end of South Pointe Drive which is steps from the beach. Back at TownePlace, parking wasn't a problem. The best part of my stay was the bed. It was awesome. The mattress was plush and the sheets felt high quality. I didn't spend a lot of time in the room so the kitchenette didn't matter. The bathroom was large and very clean. The television was an old 27 inch tube TV which was adequate while getting ready for bed. The remote was missing a battery but the desk clerk replaced it right away. There's a small-ish rectangular swimming pool which might be good to cool off but I didn't use it. Maybe I was lucky but the room was quiet and there were no cooking smells. Overall the room and property were clean, stylish and didn't seem worn or run down like other reviews state. I can see the hotel is meant for business people on extended stays but it worked for my needs, which was a place to sleep while I went to South Beach. I wouldn't make it a vacation destination, it's in a office/commercial area, but I'd stay there again for one or two nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here after our cruise for 2 nights. The rooms are in very poor condition. Old decor and the appliances are very old as well. Our microwave oven did not work. The free breakfast is in the main lobby, not much bigger than a bedroom. The swimming pool was filthy. We will certainly not be going back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central America
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've stayed there twice. The first time for one night and it was OK. The second time for five nights and we won't do it again. Seem like the suites are used for extended periods by sailors, the rooms have a full kitchen, in our second stay we had to live with the smell of very strong smelly cooking, which we didn't care for. The second time we took a better look at the rooms, they are run down, the beds are too soft (or too used), the wifi service was very poor, most of the time we had to quit using it. We had to keep asking for towels and bed sheets. The free breakfast buffet had to be collected and brought back to the rooms because there are no tables for breakfast. Something we bought, was in a plastic bag in a closet, the value wasn't more than $10, but it disapeared. You can hear the planes as they pass over the hotel. From my point of view, higher cost, than what it offers. The rest was OK. One night and maybe two people, no more.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Outdated, seedy, very well worn. Staff was pleasant and accommodating, but that couldn't make up for all the deficiencies. Supposed to be nonsmoking but reeked of cigarette smoke. Poor excuse for a breakfast, even a "continental" one. Practically no water pressure in shower, had to wait 5-10 minutes to get hot water. I could go on, but why waste time typing. Just avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

stayed one nite before traveling on, what a disappointment, paid 100 for a studio suite, hard to find parking, hard to find entry to building and then no signs for elevators or location of room. got there, was disappointed further by small cheaply outfitted room, collection of mismatched dishes and a Large hole in bottom of freezer, (how does that happen) Had trouble with shower promptly taken care of by nice staff member. Desk chair and free wi-fi best part of stay.
won't ever be going back and have written to Marriot as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area

Address: 10505 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33178
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Miami Airport West / Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.