We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property with a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8079 NW 154 Street, Miami, FL 33016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #68 of 122 Hotels in Miami
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great property with a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was my first time staying at a TownePlace Suites by Mariott and to say I was a bit worried upon entering the property would be an understatement. The reviews on here are definitely sub-par and certain things about the brand itself concerned me (especially the breakfast).

I am happy to say that our stay was very much enjoyable. The property is consisted of two buildings and I can at least say that the one we stayed in was kept up very well. It would appear that the property has and is currently going through renovations and upgrades of just about everything(there were some landscape contractors there during our stay). Some of the photos on here are very outdated (such as the ones with "dated" kitchen appliances). Upon entering our room, we were pleased to see it was rather spacious with a full kitchen (stove,microwave,full fridge,dishwasher, sink), queen bed, and couch with pull out bed. Kitchen was fully equipped with clean silverware and dishes including pots and pans. Bed was very comfortable and again it would appear that this hotel has most recently had a makeover. Everything in the bathroom from the flooring to the tub looked brand new as well. Long story short, we were very satisfied with the room aspect.

Now the breakfast... surprisingly good! As a frequent traveler I of course like to have a full breakfast with meats and eggs in the morning. TownePlace Suites does not offer that and it specifically states that within the brand profile. However, they do indeed provide a continental breakfast. And for being continental, I was very satisfied. Six cereals to choose from every morning, several varieties of instant oatmeal, milk cartons, yogurt, orange and apple juice, hard boiled eggs, bagels, English muffins with a variety of jams, bananas, and apples. So for a continental, this hotel does a fantastic job! I do wish that Marriott would offer more for this brand, but that is in no way the fault of the managers or staff here. The staff did a wonderful job keeping everything stocked with food.

One thing to note. This is an extended stay brand. So there are various guests whom are more like residents as they basically live here. During breakfast there were several kids getting ready for school but I did not find any one during the 5 days we were there disrespectful.

We didn't get a chance to hit the pool, but it looked just fine and clean. It is outdoors.

The gym has all brand new equipment which is a plus. Very small though, but each time I went no one was there, so no biggie.

The location is great. Just a few miles out of central Miami and located next to plenty of restaurants, malls, and a 24 hour CVS across the street. There is also a Winn Dixie a block away. Very peaceful location.

Overall, fantastic place to stay if you are looking to stay near Miami but want a little peace as well. Highly recommend for anyone who is looking for a place to stay for an extended period of time.

Room Tip: High Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager8079, Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your most recent stay a the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. I appreciate your feedback and will be sharing your comments with our team.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
45
15
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was a little worried about staying here when I read some of the reviews, but I needed a room close to the Golf Tournament in Doral and close to Shopping. Other hotels closer were either booked or way overpriced. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the room. It appeared to have been recently renovated. It had a bed, coach, kitchen, and desk area. The refrigerator was big and if you wanted to you could cook because the kitchen had a full stove. I know some people are real picky about the breakfast, I am not. I thought it was fine. The coffee was good. They had bagels, muffins, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, cereal and oatmeal. Again, I was ok with it, I understand others might want a bigger breakfast. The highway was right there so I was able to get everywhere I needed to. There were also some restaurants and stores right there. Since it wasn't a tourist area, the CVS had normal prices so it was great to be able to grab things I needed from there like water. So overall it's not the fanciest place, but I found it to be clean and roomy and for the price I was very happy.

Room Tip: There are two buildings, I'd stay in the one where the breakfast is served so you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager8079, Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at our location. On behalf of myself and my team I am very happy you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sharing your comments with my staff.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I was a bit underwhelmed by this property. It was a bit old but they were working on it. The breakfast was terrible. Very limited and a very small area. I was there for 4 days and every morning they could not keep the bar stocked or coffee made.
The staff were nice but not friendly. My key would not work on 3 different occasions and when I went to the desk they changed it out but never an apology. I thought it was odd. Also every time I went to the front desk the person running it was in the laundry room chatting with housekeeping.
The rooms were nice but oddly stocked, 3 glasses, 3 cups, no wine glasses and odd numbers of plates.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager8079, Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for staying at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott and for sharing your feedback about your stay. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our hotel team to immediately correct the issues you experienced during your stay. My apologies for any inconvenience. I appreciate the suggestion on adding wine glasses to the rooms as well. Thank you again for sharing your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The rooms were old, dirty and extremely smelly. It was discusting and it seemed that the whole hotel smelled and not only our room. It smelles like an old basement with old wet carpets.

The location was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager8079, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feeback on our hotel. I am very sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. When you have a moment would you please contact the hotel at 305-512-9191 as I would like more specific feed back from you such as the room number or building location you are referencing so we may further investigate and correct the issue. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurley, Alabama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Don't expect a large lobby because this hotel does not have one. Well they do but it's very small. Everything looks a little old and needs good cleaning and painting. The outside looks much better than the inside. Breakfast is not anything special and people seem to help themselves to bags full of yoghurt, milk, and other breakfast items. No one seemed to care.The staff though was very nice and helpful and the rooms were ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager8079, Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. I will share your comments with my team regarding the service you receieved and your breakfast experience. This hotel is scheduled for improvement projects in 2014 which includes painting of the exterior of the building, in order to maintain a fresh product. Thank you again for staying with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed for two nights with my son between college semesters in early January for a break from the NJ cold.
I requested an early check-in and was disappointed when a room wasn't available at around 11:45 AM. I am a "Silver Elite Member" and assume that that should come with a few perks.
Once in the suite, I was impressed with its cleanliness and layout. There's a good-sized work area, small living area with sofa bed, and small kitchen with stove. The bed was very comfortable (my son got the sofa sleeper, and said it was comfortable enough as well).
The continental breakfast, although small, was better than I expected. I have been at Towneplace Suites where there is simply a selection of wrapped bars and muffins; this location has cereal, oatmeal, and bagels & muffins that can be toasted as well. Hot cocoa and fruit is also available.
The staff is friendly and pleasant, greeting all the guests with a "good morning, buenos dias" (it is, after all, Miami!).
The fitness center is adequate, with a treadmill, cycle, elliptical, and small selection of dumbbells. There is also a laundry room and small outdoor pool.
It's located within walking distance of a large strip mall with restaurants; a Publix is located a bit further away, but still in walking distance near "Main Street Miami Lakes". Nice location for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager8079, Manager at TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and will be sharing your comments with our staff. Thank you again, I look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Spacious rooms, comfortable bed, nice work area, full kitchen, nice area, plenty of parking and a helpful friendly staff. Recently remodeled to include a new breakfast room and very appealing decor. Now the bad news: Water was off the entire day right after I checked in. It flooded the new breakfast room so I can't comment on that...it's been closed. Well, a dip in the outdoor pool would cool me off...except that is closed too! I hate to complain when I really did have a comfortable stay, but really. It is December and that makes it tourist season. Shouldn't everything be at it's peak for the busy season? At least I have a nice view...of the parking lot. Almost forgot. They have a nice picnic area with a gas grill. (It worked!)

Room Tip: No real difference in the rooms. All are "parking lot view", All are large & comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes

Address: 8079 NW 154 Street, Miami, FL 33016
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Miami Lakes Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.