We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3901 Southwest 117th Avenue, Miami, FL 33175   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When looking for a hotel close to where we wanted to be, this hotel was the best choice. I was a little apprehensive, because of the location (right next to the Florida Turnpike). It is a gem in the ruff. The staff was very courtious, the room was clean, and it was quiet. The free continental breakfast was good and as always the staff was very helpful and courtious. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and adequate. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulioFL086, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear JezJulie2013,
We are grateful that you took the time to write a review of your stay with us, we are glad we met or exceeded your expectations, we look forward to your next visit with us.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    90
    34
    6
    0
See reviews for
113
74
9
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I just stayed one night, location was perfect for my needs, the building looks old but well maintained. Rooms clean, but my room in particular had humidity smell. Air conditioning LOUD , breakfast was good. I have been in better hotels in Miami for a less price

Room Tip: Higher floors might have less humidity smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulioFL086, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Emblema,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, we are looking into the issues and are taking steps to resolve them, again, Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us another chance, we will be renovating this year and are very excited about the new look.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although we have been there only 2 Nights at this Comfort Suites Hotel, we say, that it was all very friendly and totally clean there. During our Stay, we went two times there for Breakfast, wich was nice decorated and all fresh. Good Coffee there!!! It was a short Stay there and we did felt good in this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear BeachandSuntravel88,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment regarding you stay with us, we appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a good hotel. Very good breakfast. Beds could be better. A little bit noisy. Pool, spa, gym were excellent. Price was higher than I thought. Personal was
OK. I would recomend it. Good place for stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Veronicasv,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family, we hope you will visit again soon.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here after checking to find the closest hotel to FIU, and after reading some good reviews on tripadvisor. This is a mid-level hotel in a non-touristy section of Miami. I was in town to go to my girlfriend's son's graduation at FIU, and this hotel was just a few minutes easy drive away. I would disagree with one recent review saying this was in a "bad" section of Miami. This is not South Beach - but it's not "bad". It's just typical busy mid-urban sprawl. Very convenient to get to just off the Florida turnpike (but try not to be on the roads during Miami's notoriously bad rush-hours).

Staff was pleasant and accommodating - the room was big, surprisingly clean and updated with a mini-fridge, coffeemaker with complimentary coffee, clean showers, and everything you would expect to find at a hotel in this price range.

I also would take issue with one reviewer's suggestion that the pool area should be graded down because it's outside, and gee well if it is raining you are out of luck. Seriously? I would venture to say 99% of the hotel pools in Florida are outside, and that's as it should be because THIS IS FLORIDA AND PEOPLE COME HERE TO BE OUTSIDE! Honestly, I think some people should just stay home and never travel, because they will never be happy. Frankly, I was really impressed with the pool area because there is not a lot of space to put a pool on this property, and the designers did a great job of fitting it in and landscaping around it so that even though it is just a few steps from the road it has a nice green, lush feel to it. The adjoining fitness room is small, but clean and seems to have nice new equipment in it.

If there is any complaint about the room it is that there is no option to leave the fan on when the A/C compressor kicks off, so if you prefer white noise to sleep bring your own. (I found a great app on my smartphone which did the trick).

The free breakfast is what one would expect - breads and bagels, cereal, juice, yogurts, and even eggs and bacon. Not spectacular, but perfectly fine and utilitarian. I was very impressed with this hotel in terms of what I expected in this nondescript area and at this price range. If you need a hotel within close range of the nearby hospital or FIU, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are convenient but you may get a whiff of the breakfast room so if that might both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Johnkvenfla,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to comment and "clarify" some things.
On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to your next visit with us.

Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms were very nice and big. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but OK. The hotel in general was nice and clean, and it was OK to stay there, but not much to do around there. We didn't have a car so the only option (because public transport is not the best in Miami) was to take a taxi, which got really expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Frasti001,
Thank you very much for the review, you are right, ideally one should have a car when staying in this area, well really anywhere in Miami, there is a lot to see and enjoy and we lack an expansive public transportation system, we hope you will stay with us again, it will be our pleasure to host you.

Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel just in a bad area. All the people was very nice. the only downside of this hotel is the pool is SMALL and outside. So if you want to take a dip and it's raining sorry. There are a few places to eat in walking distance if you want to chance it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Chyna28us,

Thank you very much for the review of our property, we are sorry you did not comfortable in the area, it actually is quite convenient to some our guests, there are several restaurants nearby, we provide a list at the Front Desk, we certainly hope that you will try us again, we will be happy to recommend places for eating and sightseeing. Again, thank you for staying with us.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 3901 Southwest 117th Avenue, Miami, FL 33175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#9 Business Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Miami
Comfort Suites Miami
Miami Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;