We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3901 Southwest 117th Avenue, Miami, FL 33175   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 131 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a good hotel. Very good breakfast. Beds could be better. A little bit noisy. Pool, spa, gym were excellent. Price was higher than I thought. Personal was
OK. I would recomend it. Good place for stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Veronicasv,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family, we hope you will visit again soon.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    85
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
101
71
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here after checking to find the closest hotel to FIU, and after reading some good reviews on tripadvisor. This is a mid-level hotel in a non-touristy section of Miami. I was in town to go to my girlfriend's son's graduation at FIU, and this hotel was just a few minutes easy drive away. I would disagree with one recent review saying this was in a "bad" section of Miami. This is not South Beach - but it's not "bad". It's just typical busy mid-urban sprawl. Very convenient to get to just off the Florida turnpike (but try not to be on the roads during Miami's notoriously bad rush-hours).

Staff was pleasant and accommodating - the room was big, surprisingly clean and updated with a mini-fridge, coffeemaker with complimentary coffee, clean showers, and everything you would expect to find at a hotel in this price range.

I also would take issue with one reviewer's suggestion that the pool area should be graded down because it's outside, and gee well if it is raining you are out of luck. Seriously? I would venture to say 99% of the hotel pools in Florida are outside, and that's as it should be because THIS IS FLORIDA AND PEOPLE COME HERE TO BE OUTSIDE! Honestly, I think some people should just stay home and never travel, because they will never be happy. Frankly, I was really impressed with the pool area because there is not a lot of space to put a pool on this property, and the designers did a great job of fitting it in and landscaping around it so that even though it is just a few steps from the road it has a nice green, lush feel to it. The adjoining fitness room is small, but clean and seems to have nice new equipment in it.

If there is any complaint about the room it is that there is no option to leave the fan on when the A/C compressor kicks off, so if you prefer white noise to sleep bring your own. (I found a great app on my smartphone which did the trick).

The free breakfast is what one would expect - breads and bagels, cereal, juice, yogurts, and even eggs and bacon. Not spectacular, but perfectly fine and utilitarian. I was very impressed with this hotel in terms of what I expected in this nondescript area and at this price range. If you need a hotel within close range of the nearby hospital or FIU, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are convenient but you may get a whiff of the breakfast room so if that might both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Johnkvenfla,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to comment and "clarify" some things.
On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to your next visit with us.

Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms were very nice and big. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but OK. The hotel in general was nice and clean, and it was OK to stay there, but not much to do around there. We didn't have a car so the only option (because public transport is not the best in Miami) was to take a taxi, which got really expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Frasti001,
Thank you very much for the review, you are right, ideally one should have a car when staying in this area, well really anywhere in Miami, there is a lot to see and enjoy and we lack an expansive public transportation system, we hope you will stay with us again, it will be our pleasure to host you.

Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel just in a bad area. All the people was very nice. the only downside of this hotel is the pool is SMALL and outside. So if you want to take a dip and it's raining sorry. There are a few places to eat in walking distance if you want to chance it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Chyna28us,

Thank you very much for the review of our property, we are sorry you did not comfortable in the area, it actually is quite convenient to some our guests, there are several restaurants nearby, we provide a list at the Front Desk, we certainly hope that you will try us again, we will be happy to recommend places for eating and sightseeing. Again, thank you for staying with us.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room was good. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. The front desk staff was exceptional, especially the late afternoon / early evening manager. Also witnessed a customer leave her purse. The breakfast room attendant noticed and chased after the person -- nice to see that effort spent and honesty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear SpiroZambini,
We are grateful that you took the time to write a review of your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to host you, we look forward to your next visit.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here several days for a business trip and found the hotel accommodations and food to be fine - clean, in good repair, comfortable. The location was also convenient for us. The exceptional aspect that set this hotel apart was the gracious, welcoming attitude of the staff. Of course all our interactions with them were pleasant, but the warmth and obvious pleasure taken in their work went far beyond what I would expect.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToolsMiami, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear JLC6j,
Thank you so very much for the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us, it was truly our pleasure!
We look forward to your next visit with us.
Tulio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Miami
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Suites Miami
Miami Comfort Suites
Address: 3901 Southwest 117th Avenue, Miami, FL 33175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Choice Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list