We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall) to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11750 Mills Drive, Miami, FL 33183   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #48 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had points from a prior stay with Country Inn so decided to use the points to lower the cost of the overnight here. We had not been that impressed with the other one (in Louisville,Ky) so did not have high hopes but the reviews were good so thought we would try it. We were very pleased with this one. The area is very congested but it was easy to find and there is a walkway behind the hotel that goes to a shopping area with several restaurants and stores. It was great to be able to walk around after being in the car all day. The walkway is well lit and we felt very safe walking after dark. They had all types of choices for places to eat in various price ranges. We chose a casual BBQ place and it was very good but they had everything from Moe's to very upscale places. The room was clean and comfortable. We were not happy that they gave us a handicapped accessible room and tried to change it but were told that the hotel was booked and nothing else was available. This could have been a major issue for us if we were staying more than one night but we decided to just be flexible about it. The young man at the desk was very friendly and helpful about other questions so we took him at his word about the room availability. The breakfast room was pleasant and clean and had the usual items. They had sausage and scrambled eggs and waffles for people that like that. Instead of packaged cups of yogurt they had yogurt in a bowl which I chose not to eat since I question where the big spoon as been. There were plenty of other choices like cereal, toast and oatmeal. Overall we would stay here again if in the area and if this had been our first stay at a Country Inn we would have had a better overall impression of the chain. The only real negative is that the traffic congestion in the area is terrible but that seems to be pretty much a given in south Florida.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    90
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
70
68
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daegu, South Korea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is located right beside a shopping mall. We were trying to locate this hotel in the run up to Christmas and ended up driving through the neighbouring mall. Not a good idea. Try to stay outside the mall if possible.

Pros: The room was generously sized, with fridge (can't remember microwave or not), separate bathroom contained within the room and a decent size TV. The breakfast was a large spread containing cereals, fruit, and baked goods. Coffee is freely available all day.

Negatives: I was looking forward to using the fitness center, but it was a little sparse containing only a recumbent bike, treadmill and elliptical machine. There was no weights machine, free weights or otherwise. While potentially useful for keeping fit on travels, it will not fulfill all needs. Also, the pool described by staff as 'heated' was cold and not very clean. There were notices around the hotel notifying customers that staff were being let off early for Christmas, but I feel that basic services like this should be maintained.

Overall, if you want somewhere to stay in the Kendall area without the need for health/fitness equipment I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall), responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry the fitness center did not met all your needs. Looking forward to see you again.
We wish you the best for the New Year 2014 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed on Friday, Dec. 20th, 2013. Went to sleep about 9pm...woke up at 11pm to spanish/cuban music from a local nightclub next door. Could hear every word of music and crowd cheering...as if we were in the night club. Called for ear plugs...none available. We were up until 1 am when the Florida "quiet" law was enforced. Also, noted that signs in the parking lot stated that they are not responsible for any damage/theft to vehicles. I was worried that our rental car would have damage from the rowdy crowd next door, it didn't, but it made my stay more unpleasant. The desk clerk stated the music was louder than normal?!?? Filled out a survey for Country Inn & Suites and called to "talk about the experience" per survey recommendation. Unfortunately, the manager was unavailable and the voice mail was filled. Left message with clerk with my phone number and no return call was made. Would not recommend if you want a good nights sleep!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall), responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience. This is a quite and safe place, during the Holidays we have diferent activities around the mall. Yours was an isolated incident and again I apologize.
Regarding the Hotel signs, all Hotels must post "We are not responsible for valuables left in y vehicles". We hope you come back and give us a chance to prove we are the best location in Kendall.
Make it a great year 2014 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here since it was the closes place and cheapest for our needs. Lots of shopping around. Traffic is terrible and people are rude. Breakfast was the usual you get in a hotel that serves breakfast. Rooms are small and need to be updated. The chair in our room was ripping in different areas. As a manager, I would be embarrassed to have this in a guest room. Would I stay here again, NO.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall), responded to this review, December 14, 2013
I do apologize for the any inconvenience you had and I do thank you for the comments.
Right now we are remodeling the Hotel and if you visit us in the near future will be a different experience. Happy Holidays !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoddard, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Flew into Ft. Lauderdale to drive to Key West. Stayed here the first night so we could start our drive fresh the next morning. Nice location, mall next door. Very well maintained property and rooms. Includes breakfast. Overall great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall), responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and yes we do have the best location in Kendall.
Hope to see you in the near future.
Happy Holidays !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Here's the Pluses and Minuses that I noticed:

BIGGEST PLUS: Many things were just as I'd expected (as far as being clean, comfortable, mostly quiet, and close to nearby food/attractions)
BIGGEST MINUS: Breakfast DEFINITELY NOT as advertised (see below) which caused 3 of the 5 people to consistently eat in nearby fast food places
OVERALL: I would stay here again in spite of the bad breakfast, because there are plenty of places to eat in the area that are not expensive.

All of the Pluses
+ very helpful, courteous and professional staff (front desk and cleaning staff)
+ Great location! close to airport and attractions (Dadeland Mall, Miami Metro Zoo, Seaquarium, Miami Beach, Crandon beach, etc.)
+ very clean, spacious, comfy, quiet
+ very clean, nice size pool
+ mall, shops, restaurants, fast food literally around the corner or within blocks
+ fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron, etc.
+ Quiet A/C, can put on timer on it
+ Helpfully gave us a later checkout when our flight time changed
+ Cookies at the front desk every day :)
+ Coffee always available, 24/7

All of the Minuses
- NO SINK IN BATHROOM (your dirty hands have to touch the door knob)
- BREAKFAST: 1) I was there for five days...Where were the croissants, french toast, parfait, omelets, english muffins, ham, bacon, pastries, croissants, and yogurt??? In five days I saw bagels and raisin bread, cold/hot cereal, sausage patties, sausage links, biscuits and eggs...where were the other items???; 2) Very limited space to eat (maybe 10 tables); 3) Food not as tasty as I'd expected (i.e. my sausage was too soft and had some kind of strange slimy strings in it; my orange juice was bitter and pulpy; eggs on first day looked powdered and strange)
- SOMEWHAT THIN WALLS (can hear the people next door when they are speaking loudly or laughing; assuming they can hear us too; fortunately the people next door are our family!)
- Very slow elevator (fortunately, there are only four floors)

Room Tip: 1) Ask for a room on the 2nd floor if you want quickest access to the workout room, laundry room, ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall), responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have the best Hotel location in kendall, We are the best kept secret in kendall. Regarding our breakfast it is a buffet and we do have a daily variaty which may not appeal to everyone.
Happy Holidays to you and yours !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location is fantastic. The mall has been redeveloped. Nice variety of stores, pharmacy, banks, lots of restaurants. All in close proximity. There are about 10 restaurants and bars clustered around a lake. Very pretty. You do not need a car but it would certainly make life easier. AVIS is located in the same mall.

Hotel standard is good. Breakfast variety is great. The layout of the one bedrooms are odd in the sense that when the couch is opened there is very little room to pass and you have to pass to get from the bedroom to the door or bathroom. Very difficult for the elderly.

Security is not an issue. The mall has security driving around constantly. There is also a mall shuttle service. Taxi to MIA is about $50.00. I would stay here again. Much better than MIA area.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have lakeview. Avoid the ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis2011, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall), responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments, yes we are the best kept secret in Kendall.
Happy Holidays to you and yours !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall)

Address: 11750 Mills Drive, Miami, FL 33183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Location, 1/2 from the Turnpike, Shula's Express Way 5 minutes and 7 from the Palmetto Express Way. We are located on an upscale Mall, Town & Country. Great Dining within walking distance of famous restaurants like Cadillac Ranch, CJ Burgues and Portofino, glamour shopping stores Nordstrom Rack, Loehmann's and more. Enjoy our lake side and go walking distance to the nice and fun Blu Martini Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Miami (Kendall)
Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall) Hotel Miami
Country Inn Miami Kendall
Miami Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Miami (Kendall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.