We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - some helpful tips if you don't want to rent a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 130 hotels in Miami
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - some helpful tips if you don't want to rent a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I won a voucher to stay at this hotel in Miami so I didn't really take the time to research about it. Upon arriving to Miami we called the hotel to see if there was a free shuttle. We found out that one comes every 20 minutes or so. At MIA there's no designated area for hotel shuttles so its the patrons responsibility to spot the right shuttle and flag down the driver to stop. Once on the shuttle it took 5 minutes to arrive at the hotel.
The hotel itself was nice despite the repair in the middle of the lobby. We were told the hotel is still under renovation, hence the small, yet temporary, fitness room. I liked how a room key was required in the elevator before it transports you to your floor. I also liked the cleanliness and design of the hallways. The rooms themselves were clean and modern looking. The king size bed was comfortable and the pillows were perfect. Housekeeping restocked the room quickly every morning with fresh towels and linens. There was even some relaxation kit we were able to use before bed. (nice little extra)
I also received vouchers for 3 free breakfast buffets. The food was the typical breakfast: bacon, sausage, potato, eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, bread. I was hoping for maybe waffles or pancakes, maybe even oatmeal one of the days but the food was the same every single day. Good thing it was free and decent tasting. The waitstaff was also very courteous.
Our plan was not to stay at the hotel but we didn't want to rent a car so here are some helpful tips if you're like us: 1)Use the free shuttle available to go to the mall or else a taxi (one-way) will cost you $30. 2)Use the free shuttle to Magic City Casino. The casino itself was not so great but from there it was a 20 min. walk to a popular restaurant called Versailles located in Little Havana. 3) Want to go to South Beach? Take the free shuttle to the airport. Go to the Metrobus station at MIA and take the 150 bus. Only $2.35 each way. Otherwise, a round trip by taxi can cost you about $100. 4) Have a phone number of a taxi company with you because it is not very easy to hail down a cab on the street. We had to call for one from Little Havana, one from Coral Gables, and one late at night from South Beach. It took them at least 20 minutes to arrive - plan accordingly. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Jade830, we appreciate you taking time to post this very informative review. I am sure future guests will find it very helpful. We are please that you enjoyed our hotel and service and Thank You for your visit. Alson, we noted your comment re the Breakfast item rotation. The lay out of the buffet does not allow for any additional sections to be added. We are working on a new menu that will enable our guest to choose items of their liking and it will be prepared fresh in the kitchen for you.

Again, Thank You for the very constructive comment posted. May your future journeys be enjoyable and safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    293
    96
    48
    31
See reviews for
122
210
68
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've stayed here at least six times in the past three years and I would highly recommend it, especially if you're flying in to Miami. There's an airport shuttle, and the staff--from the front desk to the restaurant waiters to the concierge--is very knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel itself is enclosed by a gated entrance, and entry to your elevator stop is by your room key as well. It's very top-of-the-line. I especially like the room they have set up with internet access (in the rooms, too) and printers to print off boarding passes, reservations, etc.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Robin61_13, we can't Thank You enough for your loyalty and the recommendation of our property. Please know that we will do everything possible to to keep on earning your support and endorsement.
Wishing you a fantastic New Year and may your travels continue to be relaxing and safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the night before an early morning flight and was very satisfied. The rooms were modern, clean, and welcoming. Dinner was very good in the restaurant. The staff was very friendly and eager to please.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear voyager81, loved to read that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Thank You very much for visiting us and the review posted
Our best wishes for safe and relaxing travels and the New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very handy hotel for the airport... less than 5 minutes drive to the rental car return...

Nothing wrong with the hotel... clean, comfortable, quiet etc. but $13 for overnight parking was a little steep to be truthful...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear floridabrits, we appreciate your visit and the comments posted thereafter. We noted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the convenience to the rental car location as well as your special note of the daily parking charge. I am sure that your review will help others when looking for a suitable hotel in the Miami Airport market.
Wishing you safe and enjoyable journeys and our best wishes for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Crowne Plaza was relatively easy to find as we journeyed in to Miami from the Keys. All the front door staff were very helpful, especially one of the ladies on Reception. The room was the standard utilitarian hotel model except for no fridge or tea, both of which would have been helpful. Fine for a one-night transit stop. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment and the carpet on our floor was new. The cost of parking is addition to the hotel price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear JandJFarnhamCommon, Thank You very much for your visit and the feedback posted. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay with us and noted the items that would have added further enjoyment. While a fridge is not a standard item in our guest rooms, it can be requested pending availability as well as tea.
Wishing you a very Happy New Year and many pleasant and enjoyable journeys.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very clean hotel. with nice rooms near the hotel. But what really stood out was the front desk clerk Cory who saw me in a panic because i had left my phone in the taxi that just drove me to the hotel from Orlando. He wasted no time and sprung into action, using his own phone he called long distance and luckily the taxi driver had not left Miami.
Wish all employees like where as hospitably as Cory. Great job!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Derek A, I am very pleased to read that my Business Partner Corey was successful in assisting with your dilemma. Thank You very much for sharing this with us and all interested.
May we wish you a Happy New Year and Thank You for your visit.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a nice place, My family and I stayed there for a long weekend, at first I thought I would have been to far away from the beach, but I realized that we are 15 minutes away from it. Great locations overall, my family and I enjoyed this hotel, after my family departure I could only say what a nice place !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Clacayo, my Business partners and I are delighted to read that your visit to our hotel pleased you and your family. Thank You very much for sharing your feedback and selecting our hotel for your visit.
Our best wishes for a relaxing and joyful Holiday period. May your future travels be safe and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Address: 950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Miami Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience, comfort and personal service makes the Crowne Plaza Miami International Airport hotel an ideal destination for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza hotel MIA, located on NW Lejeune Rd, is only half a mile from the MIA terminals with 24-hour complimentary MIA shuttle service. Our hotel offers a complete package of guest amenities, including a full service restaurant, lounge, a South Beach style pool, and fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in all 305 rooms and public space. To make your stay even more convenient, we offer on demand remote printing capabilities in our business center (complimentary for registered guests). This Miami hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Transportation can be arranged to the Port of Miami and shuttle service is also available to the popular Dolphin Mall (both services are available for a small fee). Enjoy being just minutes away from trendy South Beach, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove nightlife and Coral Gables. **We are a non-smoking hotel.** The hotel is centrally located near Miami International Airport and putting all the excitement of Miami within easy reach makes us one of the most convenient hotels in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.