We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Miami Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #48 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having lived in Miami recently and coming back for a visit, I had very, very low expectations from a customer service standpoint. I was very pleasantly surprised by the personnel at this hotel however. From the moment I checked in, the staff were great. The front desk agents were all very engaging and friendly, made me feel welcome.

The full breakfast provided as a benefit of Platinum status was just right. The food was good,the variety was above-average, and the service was on par with expectations.

When I needed to print something from the business center, the printer was taking forever to download my document (10+minutes). The general manager noticed this and approached me to offer to print my document in his office. Very unexpected and great customer service.

The room was recently renovated and the details were very nice. The only negative is the shower. Water escapes easily under the glass in the shower and goes all over the floor in the bathroom. That could have been better designed, but other than that the room looked great.

All in all a great hotel overall, not just for being close to the airport. Would definitely stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear chaster86, Thank You very much for your kind review. We are pleased to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and provided you with some rest and relaxation. Your endorsment of our business is highly appreciated.
We certainly would enjoy welcoming you again during a future trip to Miami. If we can be of any assistance, please let us know. Until your next visit, Bon Voyage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    326
    113
    51
    32
See reviews for
138
232
81
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here during a recent layover. Friendly and helpful staff both at the front desk and at the restaurant. There is a shuttle to the airport which is very convenient. The rooms are what you can expect from Crowne Plaza. Although we weren't there for the pool, it is currently closed for repairs. I'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear TravelingDog08, we really appreciate your visit and the endorsement of our business. Thank You very much for taking time to share this review.
Our best wished for continuous pleasant and safe journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Close to Miami International Airport, but the customer service makes this a great choice no matter why you are visiting. The front desk is manned by the best staff. Jennifer welcomed me with a big smile and an efficient check in process. Every employee seemed really happy to serve. Unusual in the travel industry to have such great and truly pleasant staff. My visit is off to a great start.

Room Tip: Some construction, pool closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear time_traveler2583s, we enjoyed reading your very generous review of our service performance during your stay. My Business partner Jennifer wishes to express her gratitude for highlighting her professional service particularly. So from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Miami International Airport, Thank You for your visit, the comments posted and the endorsement of our property and service.
Our best wishes for safe and enjoyable journeys.............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Convenient to airport. Published room rates confusing - sometimes a similar rate includes breakfast but other times no breakfast. I stayed for three nights in early October and breakfast was included, yet another stay a week later did not included breakfast. I heard other people complaining to staff about the same problem.

However, the hotel in convenient, modern, large rooms which are quiet. Front desk personnel polite and efficient.

Bottom line, check what is included with your room rate. Hotel good for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear AZ PAUL, we looked into your feedback and noted that the early part of your reservation fell into the summer rate period and the later reservation into the fall rate period.I regret that this was not clearer when you made the reservation. We will attempt to increase visibility of these rate transition periods.
We appreciate the favorable feedback about our product and services. Wishing your safe and pleasant future journeys...............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were there to overnight before an early morning flight. The hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious, the staff was friendly. The fact they run shuttle service to the airport was a big plus. Recommend highly if you need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear J W L, your very generous feedback is greatly appreciated along with the endorsement of our business. Thank You so very much for sharing your feedback.
Our best wishes for enjoyable and safe future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First, it is very annoying to see those pizza flyers under the door when you get to your room. How do you expect to have a safe hotel when anyone can disguise themselves as pizza delivery?

The AC is extremely noisy and wakes you up along with continuously being too hot or too cold.

Plug ins for computers and phones are limited and one by the desk was damaged.

The pluses were the shower and the comfortable bed. It was disconcerting to wake up to a spot of blood on the pillow which we did not notice the previous night because we had a late night check in and we just crashed. It was disgusting.

We made the observation to the receptionist as we were leaving and hopefully this matter was addressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Citizenofthe Air, we are very disappointed that we could not provide you with the expected service performance that we are generally capable of delivering. Please accept our apology for failing to make your stay more relaxing and enjoyable.
The feedback you provided has been shared with all my Business partners and it has received the expected attention and the urgent intention to correct the sources of concern.
For the benefit of future patrons of our establishment I would like to state the we pay close attention to the security of our guests and colleagues. To this end we have installed guest room card readers in all of our guest elevators. A valid guest room key is necessary to activate the elevator to get you to the floor of your guest room location, We are a bit surprised that you found a pizza flyer in your room as we had no other reports nor findings about it. Any delivery to a guest room must be collected at the front desk when the order arrives. No access is granted for direct guest room delivery. In general power outlets for your various electronic devices can be found on the desk and the light fixture next to your bed ( a bit difficult to identify since they are of a dark color. We are evaluating an ID to better direct attention to them, as well as in the bathroom.
Again, we are deeply sorry for your troubles and concerns and promise that we will make the expected adjustments to afford others the expected hospitality experience.
Our best wishes for more relaxing and enjoyable journeys in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a long flight from the UK and needed a recovery night. The Crowne Plaza Hotel served our purpose brilliantly! The room was spacious, quiet and well-equipped and we had a very fine evening meal. Breakfast was great though the highlight was the exemplary service of a man called Gustavo. He searched for ages to find an English football match on the TV that we wanted to watch (and found it eventually!) and his kind helpfulness took customer care to a new level!
The only thing that needs to be improved is finding the shuttle bus at the airport. This was quite confusing - we were very tired and had no idea whether we were in the right place or not. After we were on the bus though, everything else was great!

Room Tip: I've a feeling all the rooms will be goood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Pete R, we are so excited to read that your stay with us helped you to relax and recover after your long flight. I have to relay a special Thank You from my Business partner Gustavo who really appreciates being mentioned by you. As stated in previous responses, the Airport General Manager community is working with the Airport administration to address the concern with the Shuttle pick up location signage. Hope to get this done soon.
Again, from all of us here, Thank You for visiting with us and the great review posted,
May all your journeys be safe and relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Address: 950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Miami Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience, comfort and personal service makes the Crowne Plaza Miami International Airport hotel an ideal destination for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza hotel MIA, located on NW Lejeune Rd, is only half a mile from the MIA terminals with 24-hour complimentary MIA shuttle service. Our hotel offers a complete package of guest amenities, including a full service restaurant, lounge, a South Beach style pool, and fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in all 305 rooms and public space. To make your stay even more convenient, we offer on demand remote printing capabilities in our business center (complimentary for registered guests). This Miami hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Transportation can be arranged to the Port of Miami and shuttle service is also available to the popular Dolphin Mall (both services are available for a small fee). Enjoy being just minutes away from trendy South Beach, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove nightlife and Coral Gables. **We are a non-smoking hotel.** The hotel is centrally located near Miami International Airport and putting all the excitement of Miami within easy reach makes us one of the most convenient hotels in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.