We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if passing through...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #46 of 131 hotels in Miami
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great if passing through...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is designed for short stay clients who are likely to be staying over before moving onto another destination or going on a cruise.

That said it does this very well. The rooms are spacious and very clean with coffee making facilites. On the roof top is a pool and a sundeck which is clean and well kept.
The bar does a good variety of drinks and meals are served nearly all day and are quite nice.

There is a large air con unit which was right outside our room that litterly made the room shake but thankfully the unit was turned off when the kitchen closed so didn't effect our sleep.

There is not alot around the hotel though which lets it down. The area is not very touristy and only had an handful of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Notts_girl86, pleased to read your review and appreciate the time taken to write and post it. I am sure that others will find your comments helpful when planning their stayover visit to our hotel. Unlike others in our area, our guests can enjoy the option of local restaurants within easy walking distance.
We hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the future. Until we meet again, Bon Voyage..............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    271
    95
    47
    31
See reviews for
102
191
63
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Hotel was clean and newly renovated. Good Check in ( Gold Member).
Got free breakfast and was disappointed that the breakfast was only free for continental. Bad Policy if you give something for free why limit. For 4$ you can upgrade .Ridiculous . Of cours it is not about the money. Waitress Sayda rectified it by asking her boss to waive that. Great effort on her part. Her friendly service made the stay. Companies need more people like that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear quickgeorge, we are pleased to read that in general your stay with us was enjoyable and satisfactory and would like to thank you for your review and feedback.
Our loyalty program has three tiers and specific local benefits associated with each tier. As such you received the appropriate benefit for your your Priority Club Gold status. The next level benefit includes a full Buffet Breakfast with all components included. I am glad to read that Sayda's service positively impacted your stay.
Wishing you safe journeys................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Check in was a nightmare as there were only two people working the desk on the day before the BCS game. They do however recognize Priority Club members with free breakfast or parking and two bottles of water. I thought this was a nice gesture. The room which was supposedly upgraded to a renovated room, it was ok but very warm. I immediately turned the AC down and we left for dinner. When we returned it was very late so I did not bother the staff with this issue. I did mention it to the desk on check out but she did not seem to care. Otherwise the room was comfortable. The renovations to the hotel were very apparent and only one of the soda machines in the hotel will provide you with a drink. Overall not a bad hotel but you are better to accept the breakfast over the parking both will cost you about the same as it would at Walt Disney World.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear thetravelinbex, what a great match up we all enjoyed for the recent BCS game. The fans of both teams were absolutely terrific to host and we enjoyed every minute of it. We would have loved the opportunity to address your in-room temperature issue prior to your return from dinner and regret that the room environment was not at the expected level. We have tested the recently installed vending machines and contacted the service provider to review all of his equipment as soon as possible.
Your visit and feedback is very much appreciated by us and others interested in our hotel and its capabilities. We will do our part to apply the knowledge gained and continue to better our performance. Our best wishes for the New Year and many enjoyable journeys.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel was perfect for our needs - one night before we left on a cruise. Complimentary shuttle from airport to hotel, and $10/person to the port the next day. Breakfast was supposed to be included in our rate, however it was just the continental portion. We wanted eggs, etc. and were charged extra for that. Just something to keep in mind.

Staff was friendly and room was fairly clean (empty M&M bag found on the floor) and a good size for family of 4 (2 kids - 9 and 7). Clean bathroom with lots of counter space!

Definitely recommend for a one-night stay. Not the highest quality that I expected from a Crowne Plaza, but was perfect for the price and what we needed.

By the way - Cuban restaurant across the street was fantastic!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear rkb1970, we like to Thank You for sharing your feedback with us and others interested. We appreciate having received your business. As we have reached the end of our property wide renovation, our full attention is directed towards matching the quality of our service to the high quality of our product. To that end any feedback is most helpful. We are disappointed that we missed the candy wrapper and offer our apology for the oversight.
May the New Year be all that you hope for and your future journeys provide you with enjoyment..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwanenburg, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We only stayed here for one night so we didn't had to drive to the airport from Key West. Even though our stay was short the room was amazing and a good way to relax after a long day of driving. Staff was friendly, the food at the bar was also really good and the next day the shuttle service dropped us off at the airport. For us it was a good way of ending our Florida vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Dennis W, we appreciate your review and having received your business. Thank You very much. I am certain that others will benefit from the details provided.
May your future journeys be enjoyable and memorable............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Comfortable night at Miami Airport making an airline connection between London and Bridgetown Barbados. Shuttle to hotel on time and help with baggage. I was recognized as Priority Club member and received comp breakfast. Room a good size, clean and very quiet. Good value. I much prefer this to the Holiday Inn at the same airport which is terrible.

Room Tip: Higher floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ROBERT B, pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and Thank You for posting this review. Wishing you many pleasant and enjoyable journeys............
Peter K Sahora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Reception staff not to friendly but restaurant/bar guys were nice.Rooms were nice had everything you need cud not use pool as weather was to cold.Did not go out as just using as a stopover as picking up a car next day.Handy as has a free bus from the Airport which we used to go pick up the car then came back to the hotel to get our luggage before setting off.Also stayed the night before travelling home again checked in the took the car back and took the bus to the Airport the next day for our flight home would use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear surfsup2, we greatly appreciate the posted review following your visit. We are disappointed that our Front Desk service delivery did not meet your and our expectations, but are pleased that others made your stay a pleasant one. Again, "Thank You" for your visit and our best wishes for the New Year..........
Peter K Sahora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Hotel
Crowne Plaza Miami
Miami Crowne Plaza
Address: 950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
#51 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Miami Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience, comfort and personal service makes the Crowne Plaza Miami International Airport hotel an ideal destination for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza hotel MIA, located on NW Lejeune Rd, is only half a mile from the MIA terminals with 24-hour complimentary MIA shuttle service. Our hotel offers a complete package of guest amenities, including a full service restaurant, lounge, a South Beach style pool, and fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in all 305 rooms and public space. To make your stay even more convenient, we offer on demand remote printing capabilities in our business center (complimentary for registered guests). This Miami hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Transportation can be arranged to the Port of Miami and shuttle service is also available to the popular Dolphin Mall (both services are available for a small fee). Enjoy being just minutes away from trendy South Beach, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove nightlife and Coral Gables. **We are a non-smoking hotel.** The hotel is centrally located near Miami International Airport and putting all the excitement of Miami within easy reach makes us one of the most convenient hotels in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.