We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing impressive, but OK for a brief stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Miami Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing impressive, but OK for a brief stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were coming in from another city and we overnighted at this hotel before leaving for a flight early the next morning. The hotel airport shuttle didn't come as frequently as we expected to pick us up from the airport and when it finally got there I practically had to jump in front of the shuttle to get it to stop to pick us up. We got there about 1130-1200 hoping for an early checkin, but the lady at the desk said they were full the night before and had no available rooms-- she didn't even check to see if anyone had checked out early and if a room could be prepared for us. She said that under no circumstances would anyone be able to check in before 3pm. The hotel has a locked room to store your luggage so we stored our bags and went and got lunch. The hotel is on quite a busy street-- but there are a couple of restaurants near by-- so the walk was not bad. We got back a little after 2-- and I talked to someone else about early checkin (I think it was a manager). He checked and found there was a room available that would meet our needs and so we took it. At that same time, I overheard the same lady telling another guest absolutely no checkin before 3pm and he had to wait in the lobby while we went to our room. Not sure what the deal was with that-- but I found it very discourteous. We booked our room with the buffet breakfast and which was nice-- great fresh fruit, yogurt, as well as an assortment of breads, scrambled eggs with toppings, bacon, sausage, and potatoes. If I needed to stay in the Miami Airport area again, I would try another hotel hoping to find something better, although overall it wasn't that bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear harvesttraveler, we like to thank you for your business and the posting of your feedback. As we currently are under renovation our rooms availability is and will be restricted until the end of November. As evidenced by earlier reviews, we are trying to accommodate early arrivals whenever possible. I am pleased to read that you had the opportunity to explore the surroundings and got a taste of the Miami Cuisine.
Again, thank you for considering our hotel and best wishes for safe journeys.........
As a note the future guests, our shuttle follows a 20 minute departure schedule from the hotel to the airport starting on top of the hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    337
    116
    51
    32
See reviews for
140
236
83
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Don't know what's happened but the staff on reception are new and their CUSTOMER SERVICE is FANTASTIC.
NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE they went out of their way to help us. We always stay at the CROWN PLAZA AIRPORT in MIAMI and it was great to return. The beds are like CLOUDS IN THE SKY to sleep in.Well done to the hotel keep up the good work.cannot wait for my next visit. THANK YOU

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Buxtonworld, your loyalty to our hotel is deeply appreciated along with the feedback posted. Please know that I am at the ready if my assistance is ever needed. Again, thank you very much for all your support and kind words.
Bon Voyage..............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A little disappointed did not know before our visit that pool area etc closed....used the makeshift gym in the morning as not good to run outside, ate in resturant which was ok....rooms good and noise proof , put in quiet area, staff very nice and was good for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear SheffieldScotsgirl, regret that our renovation plans were not disclosed to you at the time of your booking. Hope that your stay still was at an enjoyable level. Thank you for your visit and hope the we have the opportunity to welcome you back once the renovation is completed. Until than, Bon Voyage..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Does exactly what it says on the tin ... good place to spend a night between flights. Didn't have to wait long at the airport for a shuttle. Good breakfast, comfortable clean rooms and even an OK pool. Building works while we visited made a lot of noise, but not until a reasonable hour.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear 5six73, we are pleased to have received your business and the posted feedback. May your future journeys by pleasant and enjoyable.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was very clean with friendly staff. They have a nice buffet in the morning that costs a little bit. They have shuttle service to the Port of Miami and are cheaper to leave your car parked then the Port at $13 per day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear mamashirl69, thank you for your business and the feedback received. Glad you found the port shuttle service of good value. Wishing you many enjoyable journeys.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After a wait of about 10 minutes, we flagged down the hotel shuttle, and were greeted by the very friendly driver, who loaded our bags onto the bus, and unloaded them at the hotel.
Although there was a queue at the desk for check in, not unusual or unexpected at airport hotels between 3 and 5pm,, we were greeted in a friendly and efficient manner.
the room was spacious,and perfectly prepared, the bed was very comfortable.
We had a light meal and drink in the hotels' Buena Vista Lounge, which is recommended, the prices were reasonable,and the food and service were excellent.
We would have stayed in the bar longer, but I had to collect a hire car the following day, so the draught Sam Adams had to be limited.
Breakfast was served in the Cafe 950 Restaurant, again the food was excellent and reasonably priced.(Eggs Benedict recommended )
Check out was again friendly and efficient, as was the return shuttle to the airport.

Our experience at this hotel encouraged us to make a booking at the Crowne Plaza in Miami Beach, at the end of our holiday, when our booking with another hotel chain was cancelled due to over booking..

Although there was a notice advising of renovations at the hotel, we did not notice or hear anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear zaphod1314, I very much enjoyed reading about you stay with us. Thank you for the detail provided and the time taken to write and post it. I am certain that future guest will find the posting educational and beneficial. Again, Thank You and until we can welcome you again, Bon Voyage.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here recently for one night after arriving at Miami airport. We waited outside the terminal for just 5 minutes until a hotel shuttle arrived - follow signs for "hotel shuttles" on level 2. The check-in took a little longer than normal and the girl at the desk wasn't overly friendly or supplied us with information. However, as a platinum member, she offered us free parking but we had no car, she then offered us free breakfast but breakfast was included in our rate so she gave us vouchers for free drinks at the bar. Satisfied with that. The bar area was clean and comfortable and we noticed other guests taking take-away food to their rooms.
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was free wi-fi in the rooms and there was a good choice for breakfast. The bathroom was clean and plenty towels supplied. The amenities supplied were shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and bars of soap.
The next morning we were to go to Car Rental area at the airport and we asked if the hotel shuttle bus went there. We were told no so requested a taxi but the bus driver then said he would do a detour to car rental, delighted with the service.
We didn't hear any noise from aircraft until we stepped outside the hotel in the morning.
If returning here for an overnight we would certainly consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
DearLAT10258, thank you very much for your visit and the detailed review posted. I am pleased to read that our shuttle driver was able to accommodate you and take you to the rental car terminal. Again, thank you for the posting of your feedback. Wishing you many pleasant journeys.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Address: 950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Miami Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience, comfort and personal service makes the Crowne Plaza Miami International Airport hotel an ideal destination for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza hotel MIA, located on NW Lejeune Rd, is only half a mile from the MIA terminals with 24-hour complimentary MIA shuttle service. Our hotel offers a complete package of guest amenities, including a full service restaurant, lounge, a South Beach style pool, and fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in all 305 rooms and public space. To make your stay even more convenient, we offer on demand remote printing capabilities in our business center (complimentary for registered guests). This Miami hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Transportation can be arranged to the Port of Miami and shuttle service is also available to the popular Dolphin Mall (both services are available for a small fee). Enjoy being just minutes away from trendy South Beach, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove nightlife and Coral Gables. **We are a non-smoking hotel.** The hotel is centrally located near Miami International Airport and putting all the excitement of Miami within easy reach makes us one of the most convenient hotels in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.