We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS BEDS, LARGE JACUZZI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Miami Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #47 of 129 Hotels in Miami
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS BEDS, LARGE JACUZZI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our party was 2 adults with 4 children over 11 years of age. We used this hotel as a stopover after a transatlantic flight and before a drive to the Orlando area. From Miami airport, we caught a free shuttle bus along with some flight crew to the Hotel, as most of the shuttle buses outside of the airport only go to the hire car pick up area, so watch out for that. The beds are the best feature of this hotel; they were so comfortable it was a total wrench to get out of them. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were able to order in a Dominos pizza into the hotel, and the reception staff were happy to give us the number as the restaurant in the Hotel was closed. Breakfast was plentiful and good, with hot food such as bacon and eggs as well as numerous cereals, breads, pastries etc. The indoor jacuzzi is large and boiling hot. There is a sauna also. The outdoor pool was fairly warm and very clean with lots of sunbathing beds. To get a shuttle bus to the car hire complex rather than the airport was a little bit tricky, but we asked a bus driver and he was happy to do a detour for a tip.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the pool, they were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Choozie, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed a brief but relaxing stay with us and wish to thank you for your review and having received your business. Hope that we can be of service again during any future trip taking you through or to Miami. We’ll keep the room and the wonderfully relaxing bed ready for you.
Thank you also for pointing out the newly implemented Miami Airport Hotel Courtesy Van pick up/drop off zones. This new procedure was implemented as of this weekend without much notice and no time to plan for it properly. We regret any inconvenience this may cause to our guests. Airport staff has assured us that they will have enough staff on hand to communicate the unexpected change in transportation logistics and will provide guidance to the new pick up areas.
Again, thank you for your visit and the complimentary review. Wishing you safe journeys…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    333
    115
    51
    32
See reviews for
139
236
83
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SA TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had a ground floor room, it fortunately allowed my smoker husband to step out for a smoke..we really appreciated that. BUT the planes sounded like they were going thru our room.People in the next room were also out on the patio until almost 2AM and we could hear them even with the sliding door shut and curtains drawn. I think they need to replace the sliding doors with a double pane ones to cut out the noise. Service was spotty, asked for a knife to cut a Mothers Day cake...was told to call room service, they said they'd call us back, 10 min later they said we'd have to come get it when they called us back again once it was "ready". By the time they called us, we had already eaten the cake. Towels we small, room felt old and not up to other Crowne Plazas we've stayed in. They are very close to the airport but a good 30-45 min drive from Sobe. The shuttle was very prompt for quick trips to the airport, thanks. Also you can walk to the corner or across the street for restaurants, or eat in the hotel. They have wifi, but it's very slow, still it's free and we appreciated that.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear mama4llama, just wanted to let you know that we are truly concerned by the spotty service performance experienced during your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that we could not address your request in the expected manner. For this I offer my apology and assure you that your feedback will be taken very serious. We do appreciate the opportunity receiving your business and are wishing you continuous safe journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed for one night before flying home from Miami and wished we could have stayed longer.
Easy to find and front desk pleasant and quick to check us in. They also gave us a room upgrade as we were Priority Club Platinum and a free breakfast or free parking.
Room was lovely and everything worked perfectly. We also really enjoyed the pool area, quiet and with comfy chairs and lots of fluffy towels.
Didnt eat in the restaurant as no one was in there but chose the bar instead as it had a much nicer atmosphere. Food was really good and a decent price.
Overall this was a great and enjoyable choice for the last day of our holiday and we would certainly go back there if in Miami as we really enjoyed it - nothing to fault

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Hello karensolihull, we are pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and the time taken to share your thoughts and observations. The positive change in ambiance after the Lounge renovation is often mentioned by our customers, along with the service offered by my business partners.
We would love to welcome you back whenever your travel brings you to Miami, until then safe journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I was booked here by AA when my connection was missed, so I was pleased that the front desk was able to offer a choice of rooms, and also that the bar was open late and accepted the food vouchers from the airline. Check-in and check-out were very easy. The food at the bar was okay.

The room felt very dated. It was dark, both the decor and the lighting. The room had doors to connect to adjacent rooms on both sides. The bed had nice linens and was comfortable.

Overall, it was fine for an overnight stay, and the airport shuttle ran regularly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear MartyMcSuperFly, just a quick note of appreciation for posting the constructive review of your recent stay with us. Wishing you safe journeys. Peter K. sahora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newfoundland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is great for 1 night if catching a flight, it is a $20-30 cab ride anywhere, We stayed at south beach on our second trip & it was amazing ( location, location, location). It is a clean nice place but only for a night . a lot of planes fly over day & night

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Valued NewfoundlandWilds, we are pleased to have received your review and appreciate the time you invested to share your observations with current and future travellers. Our central location can be beneficial when stopping over in Miami and wanting to explore the location. Being at an airport and mindful of the impact of the airplane engine noise, we have installed two double paned windows in all guest rooms, except the ones with a sliding glass door leading onto the the pool area. It has greatly reduced the noise pollution potentially affecting our guests.
Again, we thank you for having received your business and wishing you safe travel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I had a truly horrible experience with the Crowne Plaza Miami Airport. Traveling by myself and dealing with a late arriving flight and early morning connection-I chose the Crowne Plaza because it 'was' a trusted name, very close to the airport and had a shuttle. What would have been 6 hours of sleep ended up being 3 hours after the LONG wait for the shuttle, check in, & lack of staff.
1) Waited at the airport for 50minutes for a shuttle (phoned the front desk twice-waited on hold for 7 minutes the first time, 8 1/2 minutes the second time)
2) Shuttle arrives and the driver does not even get out of the shuttle. I walked on to the shuttle with all my bags and the other guests let me know that the driver won't help and that we have to load the bags in the back. I step off the shuttle, load my bags-never see the driver.
3) Waited 20minutes to check in at 1am
4) Asked for a luggage trolley to take my bags to my room and the lone staff member on duty at the front says there are none 'not sure where they are'
5) I took all of my bags to the room myself (no offer of help)
6) shuttle didn't run regular (supposed to be every 20 minutes) in the morning, so there were too many of us at 5am that I got stranded...again
OVERALL, NOT A RELIABLE HOTEL!
All of the customers checking-in with me complained about the experience we all endured and there was NO attempt to assist in the situation. We eve asked for a note to be left with the manager-nothing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear CBP079, we are greatly disappointed that we could not provide you with the expected services you have grown accustomed to by our brand. My assistant and I have reviewed your feedback with great care and diligence utilizing several tools available to us. In summary we have to acknowledge that we appear to have been caught off guard by early morning arrival volume. For that we certainly apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. Utilizing our electronic/digital tracking devices we are puzzled by your extended wait time at the airport as we verified that our shuttle was operating according to the established 20 minutes schedule. This would also apply to the morning departure to the airport, where it would appear that the increased volume of guests needing to leave the hotel was recognized and the backup driver immediately put a second shuttle into service.
Again, we are very sorry that our service performance did not meet your expectations and hope that the thoroughness of our investigation demonstrates our commitment to continuous improvement of performance. We wish you safe journeys. Peter K Sahora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011 via mobile

For 180 + a night I would of expected more, location is horrible unless your an airline pilot going in and out of the airport. I stayed for 5 days, my key cards stopped working every day or two, which means you can't get in or out of the parking lot or use the elevators. Speaking of elevators, slowest ever... When they worked, usually one was broken. The rooms were no better than my local 60 dollar a night motel 6. I never had to use their well stouted shuttle service but there was at all times 10 plus people waiting irritated for a shuttle to take them to the airport while there were 4 parked outside with drivers just standing around talking. Also if u plan on driving or renting a car it costs an additional 13 bucks a night to park. Food was pretty low par and expensive, service was awful at the restaurant and bar and unless u like spanish food it was your only option. Old school tv's as well, internet was ridiculously slow and couldn't even get 4g on my cell phone if I was within 3 meters of the hotel, like I said ok experience, but not for the price and especially not for a crowne plaza... Come on guys, probably will avoid in the future unless its for a layover cause of how close it is to the airport

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pksahora, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear Rc29b1, justed wanted to acknowledge that we have read your review of our operation posted today. I must say that we were surprised by some of the issues listed: namely, the elevators: our equipment is brand new and after reviewing all the logs available to us we could not confirm your statement of equipment being out of service, meaning that three elevators where available at all times. The shuttle service: our shuttle service operated as advertised on a 20 min schedule going from the hotel to the airport. We are using 22 seat capacity shuttles sufficient for the needs of our location. In addition we always have an additional driver as backup for special demand periods due to our airport location. It is correct that the additional equipment is parked in front of the hotel as we rotate the equipment on hand. Since Miami Intern Airport has had some operational challenges over the past copuple of days our shuttle schedule was adjusted accordingly to meet the increased demands of stranded passengers. In reference to our food offerings, it is correct that some items of our diversified menu feature the local cuisine, however commonly expected items are also available and featured on the menu. The parking rate applicable is posted clearly on our Hotel website, at the entrance of the hotel parking lot and also listed on the room registration card.
We thank you for posting this message and the opportunity to respond to it. It is to the benefit of future travelers to read the reviews and the management response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Miami Airport

Address: 950 NW 42nd Ave., Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Miami Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience, comfort and personal service makes the Crowne Plaza Miami International Airport hotel an ideal destination for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza hotel MIA, located on NW Lejeune Rd, is only half a mile from the MIA terminals with 24-hour complimentary MIA shuttle service. Our hotel offers a complete package of guest amenities, including a full service restaurant, lounge, a South Beach style pool, and fitness center. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in all 305 rooms and public space. To make your stay even more convenient, we offer on demand remote printing capabilities in our business center (complimentary for registered guests). This Miami hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Transportation can be arranged to the Port of Miami and shuttle service is also available to the popular Dolphin Mall (both services are available for a small fee). Enjoy being just minutes away from trendy South Beach, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove nightlife and Coral Gables. **We are a non-smoking hotel.** The hotel is centrally located near Miami International Airport and putting all the excitement of Miami within easy reach makes us one of the most convenient hotels in Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.