We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3655 Northwest 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33122   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #58 of 129 hotels in Miami
Atlanta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Standard Hyatt Place offering, but a poor location off a main street with no signs makes it hard to find. Security is lacking,evidenced by the frequent problem of restaurant flyers constantly shoved under your door and the hotel's inability to keep the "trespassers" off the floors.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneMiamiHyattPlace, Manager at Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We strive to make every guest feel as comfortable and secure as possible. We are working on having a new sign installed to make it easier to find the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    113
    53
    26
    17
See reviews for
102
73
18
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Last week I stayed with my sister at this hotel. The room was very spacious. The carpet and the beds were clean. The daily breakfast had cold as hot items, and offered a good selection of pastries. The hotel itself offers a shuttle to the nearby Dolphin mall. Furthermore, the shuttle of the Macy's at the Miami International Mall drives you for free to Macy's. I recommend this hotel highly for a short shopping get away!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneMiamiHyattPlace, Manager at Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We kindly thank you for your review and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can be of service again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really a superb staff, but the rooms smelled like an armpit. The air conditioning was antiquated, worse the thermostat did not work. If I was not sweating, I was freezing. I had to get up several times during the night to change the temperature. If Hyatt does not update this property no one will ever come back. This is a real shame because the staff is so good. They did everything humanly possible to make it right.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 2nd floor, central AC units are right outside the windows and the room is not sound p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneMiamiHyattPlace, Manager at Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Our hotel will renovate the guest rooms completely this summer. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here on an overnight layover at MIA. The rooms were clean and spacious and they were adequate for the night. Hyatt Places look the same all across the US so this one in Miami is reliable in that sense: big bed, big TV, sofabed couch with a comfortable blanket, a place to plug in all your electronics. Theres a free breakfast buffet when you wake up the next day and wifi is free throughout the hotel. I can see myself staying here for a few more nights the next time I am in Miami. But only if I am renting a car.

What's annoying with this hotel is the shuttle service. Nowhere on the website when you book does it say that you have to call the hotel to have them pick you up from the airport. It just says complimentary shuttle to and from MIA. So after the regular gong show that is going through MIA's immigration and customs, the last thing you'd want is to stand at the curb for an hour waiting for a shuttle that never arrives. Then finally decide to take a cab and realize that your "airport" hotel is a $40 cab ride away.

I arrive in a foul mood (more because of the MIA gong show than the shuttle fiasco) but respectfully address the shuttle service with the staff later in the evening. The response was, "But you have to call. If you don't call we don't pick you up!" Ah, yes, right! How stupid of me... *facepalm*

So if you want to stay at this hotel near the Miami airport be forewarned: it's not as close as you think and call ahead of time for the shuttle. This hotel is best booked with a car rental.

Room Tip: All the rooms at Hyatt Houses across the USA, for the most part, all look the same. They are like ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneMiamiHyattPlace, Manager at Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I sincerely apologize that your experience with the shuttle was less then satisfying. I completely agree that our website should provide more information concerning the operations of the shuttle and we will work to change that. We are pleased that you did enjoy the facilities and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed here one night before an early morning flight. They offer a stay and park package that is wonderful. The property and room were all very clean and spacious. Every staff member we encountered was courteous and professional. The airport shuttle runs every hour- but because check in for our early morning flight was between shuttles, we needed to get a taxi cab. The hotel handled this for us with no problems at all. When we returned from our trip, all we had to do was call the hotel and they had the shuttle there to pick us up within 20 minutes. We enjoyed our stay here as well as the interaction with staff. Do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneMiamiHyattPlace, Manager at Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and kind words for our staff. It was a pleasure to be of service and hope to see you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at this hotel and we both were so pleased. The driver came immediately when we called from the airport. He was courteous and kind. He was very interactive and answered all our questions. When we arrived at the hotel the female attendant greeted us cheerfully and professionally. She gave us her undivided attention and we settled up quickly and headed to our room. We came down a bit later to get a soda and some change. The manager was with the front desk attendant and they both greeted us and helped us with our questions and needs. They asked if there was anything that we needed. They also reminded us that continental breakfast was from 6 to 10 the next morning. We came down in the morning and met the same kind of service. We also asked if we could have a delayed check out as our flight was in the late afternoon. They said we could stay in the room until 2 pm. Wonderful. So at 2 we checked out and asked for a ride to the airport. The manager said that they would be happy to take us right away or we could stay in the hotel lobby until 3 pm and then get a ride. We thought that was a great idea. So we sat in comfort for an hour. During that time we watched the manager and front assistant work through a group of people just checking in. There had been some misunderstanding and a lesser manager might have struggled with that situation. Not a chance. He calmly took care of all the necessary details and had it taken care of in 5 minutes. And in between those 5 minutes I watched him monitor the lobby and assist the front desk help as well. Our ride took us at 3 on the dot and our transaction with this hotel ended as perfectly as it had started. We cannot give high enough marks for this particular hotel and its management. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, and recommend others to do the same. The main manager particularly displayed confidence and professionalism that we found so refreshing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneMiamiHyattPlace, Manager at Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We thank you for your review and kind words. Hoping we can be of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have never had a problem with a Hyatt Place - the staff was wonderful - the facility completely on par - room was comfortable I had a King Suite with desk, sectional and refrig., all perfect for traveling with teenagers. A spacious room is always welcomed. Breakfast was good better than the typical complimentary breakfast at other hotels. My room was booked through Priceline and typically you get the worst rooms in a facility when booking on the cheap. Our room was right next to the elevators and that didn't even cause any problems = no noise whatsoever so I was pleasantly surprised at the acoustics. Hyatt Place has never let me down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReneMiamiHyattPlace, Manager at Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We kindly thank you for your review and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral

Address: 3655 Northwest 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral Hotel Miami
Miami Hyatt
Hyatt Miami Airport West
Amerisuites Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Miami Airport-West/Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.