We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #63 of 129 hotels in Miami
Abbeville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Noisy but convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Easy check-in and lots of amenities. There was airport, highway and train noise but not to cause problems. The folks in the room above us were bouncing around like Chinese gymnasts at night. A phone call to the desk handled that problem. Even though there were three driveways to the property, only one was always open. One of these driveways would have made ingress and egress much easier (entrance onto 12th). There is a lot of highway construction in all directions so have alternate routes in mind. We didn't need the kitchen but anything you would need for a lengthy stay was there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    31
    17
    9
See reviews for
46
20
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

At a first glance the hotel is not very attractive. The "residence" style allow some rooms to be located literally on street, with direct access to anyone. It is not a common thing to see. The room is not bad, with all furniture and appliances needed to a long stay. But you should be aware that you will be situated just below the final approach/ take-off trajectory of Miami Airport. It is really noisy! The ear plugs provided by the staff are not sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for our hotel and for your candid feedback. The hotel uses these reviews to understand what guests truly enjoy about their stay, and what we can do to improve their stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have no problem with airport noise. ESPECIALLY when I book next to an airport! The room was immaculate. Runway 9/27 is a busy one though and at 13,000 feet, it sure to have the big boys taking off and screaming to gain altitude and a pretty constant rate in good weather. Hey, they supply you with ear plugs,lol. Free wi-fi and parking is always a plus.This would not be a place where I would stay for 6 weeks ( I overheard a guy looking to book in the summer) given the aircraft noise and outside rush hour traffic. To me, with the kitchen set up, living room and dining area and all, this is a property better suited for the country or an area with less hustle and bustle where you can enjoy the amenities of home in a quiet atmosphere. Stephanie was the crown jewel of the front desk folks who were all nice. The themed free eats every night was a nice touch on the pocket as well as the palate and of course the free breakfast in the morning was delicious, hot and on time. Oh, and good coffee is always available around the clock. The ceilings in the rooms are paper thin. The upper rooms are called penthouses and you have a family with active kids above you, you're in for a noisy stay. Since I was a short stay guy I didn't complain but the front desk would admonish the tenants if requested. Good transient place. I would stay again and this time shoot a few hoops or hit a few tennis balls. Go. Stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay under the penthouse suites or rooms with families. The ceilings are thin. Asked to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear JAYTRAVEL1958:
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. The hotel uses these reviews to understand what guests truly enjoy about their stay, and what we need to do to improve. Thank you very much for your candid feedback. Kind Regards, TGomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demaileron
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This place gets an even five stars. Cool rooms, great staff, very good food, and a very quick airport shuttle.

Keep in mind it is an AIRPORT area hotel. Miami International is one of the busier airports in North America. It is just beyond me when people get on TripAdvisor and complain about jet noise while at an airport area hotel.

If you don't like Jet noise, don't fly. Or at least, don't stay at an airport area hotel.

Meanwhile, I look forward to my return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Residence Inn by Marriott - Airport. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Let me start out by saying that the staff at this hotel was great. The issues were not within their control. I was there for 12 days for work. The place is old and shows its age. The studio suite I had was very large and was on ground level. All of the rooms exit to the outside. There is no security or anything preventing anyone from.the property. As a woman alone, I did not feel safe at times. There were some questionable characters on the property. The biggest issue by far is the NOISE! It is directly in the landing approach for Miami airport. It felt like they were landing on the roof. The building often shook! The planes were frequent. Oh, and to top it off, around 3-4 am a train right next to the hotel came through, horns blaring. There is no sound proofing either as the Gorilla above me was another issue. Despite the convenience to where I had to go, I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We thank you very much for having taken the time to post a response for our hotel and letting us know what we are doing right and what we need to improve. Guest Satisfaction is our #1 priority. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly. Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I am a Marriott regular, and prefer Residence Inn & Springhill Suites. I chose this property since t was close to University of Miami, wher I was conducting business and close to the airport, where I would be departing from. Much to my chagrin, there is no airport shuttle!! This is definately needed. The rooms are tired, and the bathroom in need of updating/regrouting. Not to pleasant to look at.

On the plus side, the satff is young and energetic and happy to help and recommend local restaurants. I do appreciate that kind of service. The lobby printer was not working, so they offered to have me forward the docs to them, and they printed everything for me. The manager worked hard on Wednesday night cooking the burgers for the BBQ. Nice to see that, too!!

The planes do come right overhead.In fact, you can wave to the passengers!!. It's not too offensive, though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We thank you very much for having taken the time to post a response for our hotel. It gives us the opportunity to learn and improve our services. We will certainly look into the possibility of adding airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know what we are doing right and what we need to improve. Guest Satisfaction is our #1 priority. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly. Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I agree that the hotel does lie right beneath the plane landing path so that it can be noisy during the night, however it quiets down after midnight. The room is average and we couldn't get the internet to work for some reason, no matter through wireless or wired network. We never had problem at the other residence inn, so was surprised to have encountered the problem. The front desk did call the room to follow up, however the problem still cannot be resolved because no technician is present at that time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a response. I apologize that you were not able to connect to our WiFi service during your most recent visit. We have since contacted our internet service provider and have requested that they check every access point to assure that this does not happen in the future. Please know that we have complimentary 24/7 technical support for all of our guests and that we realize how important it is to be able to connect. Thank you again and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions. Kind Regards, TonyG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Address: 1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area Hotel Miami
Miami Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.