We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amenitities and airplanes taking off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #62 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Fontana, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice amenitities and airplanes taking off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We enjoyed the Residence Inn for our 3-day stay in Miami. They were very helpful in getting us a downstairs room for early check-in when we arrived. A hot breakfast and dinner is provided daily (no dinner onSundays) and it is decent hotel buffet food. Breakfast usually consisted of scrambled eggs, make your own waffles/toast, muffins, potatoes or hash browns, ham or sausage, fruit, cereal, and juice. Dinner varies each night. Our one bedroom suite had a decent sized kitchen and living area w/ couch and Flat screen TV. The kitchen was stocked with four plates, bowls, utensils, and paper towels. It also had a nice electric stove/oven, microwave, and full-size fridge. The king bed was pretty soft, but not too soft and had comfy feather pillows. The room itself seemed a bit outdated, but it was clean and comfortable. The front desk employees were always friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel was fine - it was a few minutes from the Dolphin Mall, but a bit of a drive to many of the coastal parts of Miami. There is no view to have anywhere at the hotel, so our parking lot view was just fine. When you first arrive, you'll notice the loud airplanes taking off at the nearby airport, but it never woke us up at night (the hotel also provides complimentary earplugs for your stay). The hotel also has a small tennis court (not full size), a small pool, and a hot tub (it was closed when we visited).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post a response for our hotel. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy the hot tub during your visit. The hotel uses these reviews to understand what guests truly enjoy about their stay, and what we can do to improve their stay. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Tony G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
50
22
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Outstanding service at reception desk and in dinning area. Breakfast was great and we were impressed with Thursday evening dinner. This was a first at a Residence Inn stay and we would recommend to other location to provide evening meal! This is a GREAT IDEA. Stephanie, Claudia, Miguel, and Georgina were clearly outstanding and very Professional. Thank you for a Great Stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony G, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Mr. George T:
On behalf of the entire staff: Thank You! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this review, we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes for the New Year!
Tony G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st pete, florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is an average Residence Inn -- sort of an older building -- reasonably good maintenance -- with clean guest rooms -- although completely bland in decor both inside and out. I had a 1-bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. I somewhat agree with the plane noise issues but the rooms have to be reasonably well insulated as the noise while in the room was not bad considering how deafening the noise is when outside. Normally I would rate the hotel 3 our of 5 but my big complaint was the total lack of privacy. I scanned several reviews and nobody else seemed bothered -- but every window in the majority of the guest rooms faces directly onto a public walkway - or even worse - faces directly into another guest room. And not "across the way" -- I mean 7 feet from your window is the window into someone else's room. So if you want any privacy -- you have to pull all the blackout drapes on all the windows in the room. I do not like this at all so gave the property a rating of 2. Otherwise -- everything else was essentially average from staff to breakfast and all of the other typical Residence Inn features. I would not however in any way think this hotel earns a 4 or 5 rating given that there really is nothing great or exceptional about this property -- not sure where other reviewers are coming up with these top scores for what is an altogether "average" property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out into the parking lot if you do not want to be staring directly into so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleville-Mezieres, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arriving late in Miami airport after a 24 h journey flight from Paris due to a delayed connexion in Newark, we rent a car at Alamo and drived only a few miles to the Residence Inn Doral. Very easy to find with GPS. The employee at the front desk was very helpful and registration was quick.
This property is well maintained, nice pool. Breakfast buffet is various. Only a little negative point : no seats enough in the breakfast room. The kitchen is well equipped, and no problem to find a Publix. On our first day we were afraid by the noise of the planes landing on the near runway, but during the night this is not a problem for sleeping. This hotel is not overpriced, around 130 $ a night. My wife and I often stay in Mami area for business/leisure, and will return at this place in our next stop in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go this hotel despite all the reviews complaining about the airplane noise (and occasionally also a train). Major reason to do so where the favorable price (up to 6 persons can stay in the double bed& bathroom penthouse suite !), the Marriot/ Residence Inn quality and the location (not far from airport, on walking distance from Wall Mart and close to 3 malls (Dolphin, International & mall of America). Staid 3 nights and no train passed while the airplane noise wasn't too bad (for me) if in the room with the door shut. The major con's for this hotel were the fact that not all suites on 2nd floor had elevator access and when raining the only place where you basically don't get wet is in your room or the lobby area. By extending the roof's a significant % of the "hall ways" can easily be kept dry so your feet get less wet and dirty when you enter your room. Also some of the suites (building 8 & 9)need to be accessed via the walkway of 82nd avenue; when stepping out the room you are basically on the street.
Rooms were large and clean, swimming pool clean but a little cold (but - in my experience - not unusual for the Miami hotels), the hot tub was better than of the Residence inn by Marriot Miami airport, the exercise room had only 2 treadmills,1bike and 1 elliptical machine, but no weights and no math's to do floor exercise although the space is sufficient for it. Check in/out was fast and hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Complmentarry hot Breakfast was good and the food at the managers reception (Monday thru Thursday) is sufficient to fill your stomach till the free breakfast in the morning.
Overall we got the expected Residence Inn /Marriot quality, while the price is less than other competing hotels in the Doral area. If you have a car, don't have problems with airplane noise, need a kitchen in your room, need to stay in this neighborhood and are on a limited budget than this is the place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Rooms are decent. Pool is filthy. Breakfast/dinner is bad quality and will give you stomach ache. Front desk staff are awful, especially management, except for this young girl that was very nice.

Loud train passes by in the day/night and constant noise of airplanes is very annoying. Bad phone reception and terrible wifi speed. Saw prostitutes coming in and out of their rooms with their johns. Also I've seen police respond a couple of times.Not coming back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just stopped for one night. Breakfast was the typical residence inn. Staff at buffet was friendly and kept the area clean. Front desk made the stay enjoyable. Nathalia at the front desk could not have been more helpful. Helped me plan my day. She was so helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel for it's friendly people. Rooms starting to show age, need some minor upkeep.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view. Close to airport, provides airport shuttle. Some plane noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Address: 1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area Hotel Miami
Miami Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.