We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Privacy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #60 of 129 Hotels in Miami
st pete, florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No Privacy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is an average Residence Inn -- sort of an older building -- reasonably good maintenance -- with clean guest rooms -- although completely bland in decor both inside and out. I had a 1-bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. I somewhat agree with the plane noise issues but the rooms have to be reasonably well insulated as the noise while in the room was not bad considering how deafening the noise is when outside. Normally I would rate the hotel 3 our of 5 but my big complaint was the total lack of privacy. I scanned several reviews and nobody else seemed bothered -- but every window in the majority of the guest rooms faces directly onto a public walkway - or even worse - faces directly into another guest room. And not "across the way" -- I mean 7 feet from your window is the window into someone else's room. So if you want any privacy -- you have to pull all the blackout drapes on all the windows in the room. I do not like this at all so gave the property a rating of 2. Otherwise -- everything else was essentially average from staff to breakfast and all of the other typical Residence Inn features. I would not however in any way think this hotel earns a 4 or 5 rating given that there really is nothing great or exceptional about this property -- not sure where other reviewers are coming up with these top scores for what is an altogether "average" property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out into the parking lot if you do not want to be staring directly into so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
48
20
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleville-Mezieres, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arriving late in Miami airport after a 24 h journey flight from Paris due to a delayed connexion in Newark, we rent a car at Alamo and drived only a few miles to the Residence Inn Doral. Very easy to find with GPS. The employee at the front desk was very helpful and registration was quick.
This property is well maintained, nice pool. Breakfast buffet is various. Only a little negative point : no seats enough in the breakfast room. The kitchen is well equipped, and no problem to find a Publix. On our first day we were afraid by the noise of the planes landing on the near runway, but during the night this is not a problem for sleeping. This hotel is not overpriced, around 130 $ a night. My wife and I often stay in Mami area for business/leisure, and will return at this place in our next stop in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go this hotel despite all the reviews complaining about the airplane noise (and occasionally also a train). Major reason to do so where the favorable price (up to 6 persons can stay in the double bed& bathroom penthouse suite !), the Marriot/ Residence Inn quality and the location (not far from airport, on walking distance from Wall Mart and close to 3 malls (Dolphin, International & mall of America). Staid 3 nights and no train passed while the airplane noise wasn't too bad (for me) if in the room with the door shut. The major con's for this hotel were the fact that not all suites on 2nd floor had elevator access and when raining the only place where you basically don't get wet is in your room or the lobby area. By extending the roof's a significant % of the "hall ways" can easily be kept dry so your feet get less wet and dirty when you enter your room. Also some of the suites (building 8 & 9)need to be accessed via the walkway of 82nd avenue; when stepping out the room you are basically on the street.
Rooms were large and clean, swimming pool clean but a little cold (but - in my experience - not unusual for the Miami hotels), the hot tub was better than of the Residence inn by Marriot Miami airport, the exercise room had only 2 treadmills,1bike and 1 elliptical machine, but no weights and no math's to do floor exercise although the space is sufficient for it. Check in/out was fast and hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Complmentarry hot Breakfast was good and the food at the managers reception (Monday thru Thursday) is sufficient to fill your stomach till the free breakfast in the morning.
Overall we got the expected Residence Inn /Marriot quality, while the price is less than other competing hotels in the Doral area. If you have a car, don't have problems with airplane noise, need a kitchen in your room, need to stay in this neighborhood and are on a limited budget than this is the place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Rooms are decent. Pool is filthy. Breakfast/dinner is bad quality and will give you stomach ache. Front desk staff are awful, especially management, except for this young girl that was very nice.

Loud train passes by in the day/night and constant noise of airplanes is very annoying. Bad phone reception and terrible wifi speed. Saw prostitutes coming in and out of their rooms with their johns. Also I've seen police respond a couple of times.Not coming back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just stopped for one night. Breakfast was the typical residence inn. Staff at buffet was friendly and kept the area clean. Front desk made the stay enjoyable. Nathalia at the front desk could not have been more helpful. Helped me plan my day. She was so helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel for it's friendly people. Rooms starting to show age, need some minor upkeep.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view. Close to airport, provides airport shuttle. Some plane noise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for four nights on business and loved it. The rooms are not dated but they are not modern either..I found the rooms to be quite comfortable and large. It is also nice having the full kitchen. The front desk and hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The complimentary breakfast was good and had a little bit of everything. They also serve light complimentary dinner mon-thurs which was surprisingly good! Parking is free at this hotel and close to the rooms. I do like the location because it isn't right off a busy street so it is easy to get in and out. I am unable to comment on housekeeping as I chose to not have my room cleaned since I was there for a short period of time. On arrival day, the room was clean and felt fresh.

The only cons about the hotel is that it is not sound proofed well so you do hear the planes every now and then. The noise wasn't a big deal to me and never woke me up personally. Also, it rained very hard on my stay and the sidewalks and grassy areas leading to my building were flooded. I had to no choice but to walk in water which was 3-4 inches deep and soaked my shoes. It didn't bother me though because they can't control the weather and everything else about my stay was perfect.

I stayed at a larger hotel last time I was in Miami but it lacked the kitchen and comfort this hotel has. If I ever have to do business in Miami again, I will request to be put in this hotel. I truly enjoyed my stay and that is why I am rating excellent!

Room Tip: Nice being on the first floor near the pool as it is easy to access the lobby for breakfast/dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you love airplanes (like I do) then this is the place to be. The hotel sits right at the end of the runway, so planes constantly go over..I would recommend bringing a loud fan or put one on your IPhone. There is a curfew for aircraft, but you will still here a few cargo planes through the night. We were impressed with the free dinners they serve (Mon-Thurs) if you don't feel like going out. It is located very close to resteraunts and shopping. Some resteraunts within walking distance. The Mexican place across the street was delicious! The rooms overall were good. They just need to clean the obvious. The glass sliding doors (ours looked like a dog had been licking it) and the door to the bathroom had obvious dirt on it that just needed wiped off. If you need to ask the maid for towels or coffee, forget about it if you don't speak Spanish!! Overall, it's not bad and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Address: 1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area Hotel Miami
Miami Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.