We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are Great, Public Areas Not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #70 of 131 hotels in Miami
Webster, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rooms are Great, Public Areas Not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in a Two-Bedroom Penthouse Suite and found it to be perfect for our purposes. The rooms were all clean, except for the vents in the bathroom which definitely need attention. The biggest problem with this location is the areas you walk through to get to your room. It almost is a bit scary with the lack of sufficient lighting, the water running on the concrete. It kind of reminded us of the seedier streets of Hong Kong. I'm not sure what they could do to fix this, but something needs to be done to improve on these walk areas.

The evening meal and breakfast were all great. The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback about your recent stay with us. It’s wonderful to hear your two bedroom room make your traveling easier and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us as it will help us improve our rooms and guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
16
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The room (full kitchen, flat-screen TV, internet, full bathroom) were fine. Was not prepared for the constant noise of take-offs and landings; guess that's to be expected at a hotel located at the end of the runway. However, being that close to the airport, you would expect an airport shuttle at least!

Breakfast was the worst; yes, there was a larger group of students staying there for some event, but with proper planning the kitchen would not run out of everything (sausage, eggs, juice, etc.) for extended periods.

Passes to a nearby LA fitness were a nice benefit.

I'm a Marriott fan ,but for anyone with noise issues, I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our guest as it will help us improve our stay overall. Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after flying in the day before our cruise. Stayed at many RI's before, very typical of many. A bit on the weathered side, though.(You can see from the photo of the arm chair) Clean rooms, helpful staff!!!!!!!!!! N

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our guest as it helps us improve our product overall and hope that we can host you again on your next trip to the Miami area. Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This seems like an older hotel that has only been updated halfway. The kitchen and the bathroom counter looked new and the room had a nice flatscreen TV but that was it. The bathroom had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, the shower head had pink rings of mold, the floor had mold, and the ceiling fan sounded like a band saw. The bed was completely shot and the couch wasn't much better. My room was on the ground floor and the main window faced the narrow and dark walkway between buildings. So the room got next to no light.

I'll be staying at another property if I come back to this area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. We strive to make sure our guest experience the quality they expect from a Marriott hotel and greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve our product overall. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent the entire month of March 2012 at this hotel, so whatever we experienced was no fluke.

We had a 1 bedroom suite that was quite pricey at $179.00 plus tax per night based on a long-term stay.

The kitchen was quite decent and the bedroom and living room were fine.

However, the tub and toilet were in 1 super tiny dingy room.

I really felt claustrophobic in it.

The maids did not do the greatest job of cleaning and there was constant dirt and bird crap on the railing by the sliding door.

I found the pool area to be underwhelming to say the least.

Also be aware that the hotel has no elevators, so if you have a lot of luggage, you may prefer a room on the 1st floor.

We had a lot of luggage but we stayed on the 2nd floor for privacy purposes.

The rate included breakfast, which too was underwhelming.

The hotel also provided dinner plus wine Monday to Thursday.

I gave it a pass most nights.

Yes, the hotel is right next to the runway of Miami International Airport, so all you can hope for is for the airport to use a different runway at night.

It's not a bad hotel but I would have expected more from a Marriott.

Room Tip: Decide if you prefer morning or afternoon sun because you're not getting both. Also, there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback as it will help us improve our hotel overall and ensure we meet our guest expectations. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was very excited to stay here when I checked in, but the minute we went to sit for dinner, the kitchen was full of tiny ants on the table and walls. Our bedrooms were nice, but lots of small flying insects hovered around the lights that scared my kids. Then the noise of the planes kept us up till 2 am.

Room Tip: Very nice looking on the outside but maybe there was cleaner rooms elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. . I would like to apologize for the problem you did experience and in no way find that acceptable. Your feedback will help us improve our guest experience and ensure we provide our guest with the standards they expect from a Marriott hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay in the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I spent mid April 2012 to mid June 2012 living in this hotel for work and I would go back in a heartbeat! The service by the staff was amazing. They remember all the people staying in there regardless if it was for 2 months or 2 days. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Enrique was exceptionally helpful giving my colleges and I suggestions on places to eat and visit in Miami and the surrounding areas as well. Breakfast was very good, but after 2 months of the same choices it did get a bit old. Mon-Thursday they offered a social hour with free diner, dessert, pop, beer, and wine. While it was nothing fancy it was nice for the nights you don't want to leave the hotel again or are trying to reduce your out of pocket expenses. The pool is nice, but not very big. The rooms on the other hand were very nicely sized and always clean. It is both a plus and a minus on how close this hotel is to the airport. It is literally minutes away so great for convenience but that does mean you will not be getting total peace and quiet. There are definitely times that are worse than others and being I was at work during business hours the only time it was annoying was early evening when I was outside on my phone. It would literally get loud enough you'd have to pause the conversation because you couldn’t hear. When in my hotel room I could barely notice the planes though. The front desk did offer ear plugs for free for those who are light sleepers so keep that in mind. I highly recommend this hotel! The hotel is also only a few blocks from Walmart, a gas station, and McDonalds. The mexican restaurant across the street is very good but be warned, this is Miami, don't surprised when the server doesn't speak English.

Room Tip: If you face the pool it can be a bit noisy depending if it is being used or not. So if you want a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our hotel could meet your needs during your extended stay with us. Our staff can make any long stay more enjoyable for our guest and we welcome your feedback on our breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest’s experience at our hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to host you again on your next trip to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area Hotel
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area Hotel Miami
Residence Inn Miami
Miami Residence Inn
Address: 1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.