We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing - Not the quality we expect from Marriott” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #62 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Valley Stream, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very dissappointing - Not the quality we expect from Marriott”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The pool was dirty, the hot tub was filthy and not working properly during the entire stay. Rarely were there towels at the pool had to go to the front desk to get them for the kids . The sofa bed mattress was old, worn, and very uncomfortable. The room was smaller than we were accustomed to. We are loyal to the Marriott brands and belong to the Marriott Reward program so we stay at different hotels quite often. This was not typical of our past experiences. As far as negative reviews regarding the airplane noise, I can tell you that for the past 17 years, I have lived 3 miles from JFK airport. We hear planes constantly and we are used to it. However, the noise at this hotel is extreme. The planes fly very low to the ground (i.e. you can see the windows and landing gear) The noise from the airplanes worked out to be a welcome relief to drone out our noisy, rude neighbors (I realize that this is not the hotels fault, but I do feel that this hotel attracts clientele who are more party than family oriented so beware if you don't feel like being awaken at 2 or 3 in the morning.) Also, the area where the hotel is located has a Walmart (if you need assistance with anything here, speaking Spanish will be helpful) and just a few places to eat - mostly an industrial area. On a good note, it is only fair to say that the front desk was polite and friendly. The breakfast was consistant with what we would expect and the manager's hospitality buffet with beer and wine was a pleasant plus as usual.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback about your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the problem you did experience and no way find them acceptable. Your feedback will help us improve our guest experience and ensure we provide our guest with the standards they expect from a Marriott hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
49
20
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a week. Its great, the rooms are very nice and include a tiny kitchen. The pool and basketball/tennis court were also very cool. The fact that they had dinner 5 nights a week with beer and wine for the adults was also very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us. We are happy to hear we could make your trip to the Miami area enjoyable and you were able to take advantage of our Monday through Thursday evening social hour. Again we appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again on your next trip to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Clean and accomodated our family of 5 with ease. Bathroom was clean but showing wear. Beds were comfortable and clean.
Dining options within walking distance. Breakfast at the hotel was ok.
As the title implies, you are near the airport and planes do fly directly over you periodically.
The one disappointment was I was told that there was shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. Unfortunately, there was not, so we had to take a taxi. Spent about $25 for a party of five.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate hearing our guest’s feedback as it helps us improve our service and property. I do apologize about the issue you experienced with the shuttle service and will be addressing this with our reservation department to ensure they are communicating the correct information. Again we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 1 month and am quite pleased with the stay.

Yes, this hotel is located at the end of the runway for Miami International Airport, still I managed to always get a good night's sleep.

The Airport switches runways ,so the noise doesn't last all day and night.

Also after a while, the brain seems to be able to block out the sound.

However, this hotel has the quietest air conditioning that I experienced in any hotel.

The hotel seems to have central air conditioning that you can hardly hear in the room.

This is great compared to those loud air conditioners that most hotels provide.

That alone makes it worthwhile staying here.

The suite is always cool and quiet.

My wife and I checked into a King 1 bedroom suite.

They renovated everything except the toilet and shower part of the bathroom.

The toilet and bathtub/shower are separate from the sink.

However, the room is dingy and tiny.

I am surprised that they didn't renovate that part of the suite.

The bathtubs are quite old.

The suite has a full kitchen which is great.

The full size fridge came in handy.

The mattress isn't of the greatest quality.

It's not horrible but you would expect better in a Marriott.

Also the towels have seen their better days.

They are anything but plush.

The suite also has a sliding door and window that opens.

Neither of them have a screen, yet this is Miami.

It doesn't look like they cleaned the window in years.

The window was quite dirty and there were bird droppings on the railing.

(Yes, this is a Marriott).

The hotel has a pool.

At the pool, they have padded lounge chairs.

There were lounge chairs but no side tables.

So you either have to use another lounge chair as a table or put your items on the ground.

The towels supplied at the pool were quite ratty.

However, most of the time, there were no towels at the pool.

I usually had to walk back to my suite to grab a towel.

The hotel provides breakfast daily.

I have no complaints about the breakfast.

They also provide a light meal Monday to Thursday.

The meals provided were not that exciting, so I rarely ate at the hotel.

Meals that I had at various Staybridge hotels were more interesting.

Still, they do provide a meal along with wine, beer or soda.

The property is fairly clean and the staff is friendly.

Even though I have some complaints, the suite was nice.

It had 2 flat screen TV's.

The room also had 2 phones.

The high speed Internet service was free.

It was a little slow at times when I tried to stream videos but generally it was pretty good.

The hotel is about 3 miles from Dolphin Mall.

There is a Wal-Mart and Sam's Club lthat is a 2 minute drive from the hotel

Dadeland isn't too far.

However with light traffic it takes over half an hour to drive to South Beach.

It also takes about 1/2 hour to get to Sawgrass Mills.

My wife and I were supposed to stay in West Palm Beach for 6 weeks.

We couldn't take the boredom after 2 weeks, so we booked this Residence Inn in Miami at the last minute.

Given a choice, I would stay elsewhere next time around.

However, our stay at this hotel was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have stayed at this property several times in the past and it did not dissapoint this year again. The rooms are well maintained and more importantly clean. Property is in a good location if you don;t mind the airplane noise (comes with the "Airport" inside the name). The morning breakfast is definitely a par above the rest in that area. The property is completely booked during the weekends so book early. Definitely not a walk-in location. Under no circumstances do you want to leave any property inside your vehicles since your vehicle will get broken into if you do. The friends that travelled with us made that mistake and left bags visible when we went inside for breakfast and when we came out the car windows were broken and all the property taken. Our fault for being careless. Otherwise, it was a nice stay,. Will definitely return

Room Tip: Book early. Suites are worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that we could provide you with the level of service and quality of rooms that you have come to expect from our property. We do apologize for the incident involving your guest, is there anything we can help you with? We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

nice & clean hotel but noisy as it is near the airport & on the flight path. the "penthouse" was very nice & good value, sleeps 4 people . big lounge & nice kitchen.
friendly staff & rather good breakfast .
lots of parking & has restaurents close by.
beware : - was told that the independant shuttle service used by the hotel to the pier was $10 each but was charged $20 each upon arrival. better to take a metered taxi than be cheated!

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom suites are very comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to leave some feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that our hotel was able to provide spacious accommodations for you and your party while in the Miami area and our staff could make your stay more enjoyable. I would like to apologize for the experience with the shuttle you had and I will personally look into the issue. Again thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in a studio, which was comfortable for the 4 of us, including kitchen and all appliances. Facilities are fine but they look really old. Furniture at the cafeteria need to be changed... breakfast was fine and personnel very kind. Location was very good, close to shopping centers and restaurants. Sleep for me was not very good, since we were close to the airport, it's noisy every now and then-I'm not used to it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_R21, General Manager at Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our hotel was able to comfortably accommodate your group during your visit to the Miami area. It’s great to hear that you were able to enjoy the local shopping as and our evening social hour. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area

Address: 1212 NW 82nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area Hotel Miami
Miami Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Miami Airport West/Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.