We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #42 of 129 Hotels in Miami
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convienent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a return trip from Cancun. We have stayed before and were not as happy as previous occasions. However, it is in a great location and I always feel safe in this hotel with my family.

We stayed at a VERY Luxurios hotel in cancun and i think that didn´t help our impressions.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    304
    108
    40
    10
See reviews for
189
163
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. This time though, as other reviewers have noted, there is ongoing renovations and construction the other side of the street. On the evening I arrived, 2/3 elevators were shut down because work being done. The front desk is being overhauled. On the flip side, rooms are nice and you get free Internet. Also, for the inconvenience of the renovations, a free continental breakfast is given, which is a good idea considering. Staff are nice and helpful. All-in-all, I still recommend this hotel, but all will be better when work inside and the building next door are completed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Currently there is refurbishment underway of parts of this hotel. So there is no proper lobby/front desk, no bar,, no restaurant, no room service. Continental Breakfast is served on plastic plates in the Conference hall.and mini-bars are dry!
Add to this - street work outside that persisted until midnight and another major construction site opposite the hotel for the morning wake up call.
It makes the $200+ rate I paid for an otherwise pleasant room, a poor deal.
If they are still refurbishing when you plan to book, demand a low price or go elsewhere.
I'd place the personal value of a King SIze Room currently at this hotel at - $80

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N IRELAND
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Stayed in hotel 2 nights after a cruise it was a very short taxi ride from the port the hotel was modern bright and a very large bedroom with 2 beds
Very friendly staff and good buffet breakfast
Not a lot to do around the hotel at night but close to the buses for South Beach

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from Fri 9/18 through Sun 9/20 and it did not live up to the Marriott brand I am accustomed to. I had read that this hotel had been renovated but it did not convey with the rooms. I cannot remember which room we stayed in but upon exiting the elevator to our floor, there was the strong odor of chlorine as if the swimming pool was on our floor. We mold in our bathroom which was indicative of the black spots in various places on the wall and shower curtain. The toiled ran sporadically throughout the stay and sounded as if it was being flushed or water was running. When we first heard this we thought we had left the water on. I did complain to the front desk and was offered a different room but because we were with another couple and had settled in, we declined the offer and just sprayed the bathroom with Lysol. We were also offered a free breakfast coupon, which was average, and 5000 points of which we have not yet seen. We paid for parking for the duration of our stay and upon our arrival on Saturday night we were told the ticket had expired. We took the ticket to the front desk and were issued a new one with no apology nor explanation.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone or would I stay here again. The service at the front desk could use some improvement. We did enjoy the bartender on duty that Friday night, we did not get his name but he was a joy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed at the Courtyard hotel in down town Miami. Great hotel and staff, especially Jim at the bar who was vey friendly and knowledgeable. Daytime there are shops to visit in the area but the problem is at night, there is nothing around. We searched for restaurants and only found three in the immediate vicinity. There is a great monorail which circles the area, great views, free. At night you look down and just see empty streets, shops closed, This is for quite a large area, it was all very very quiet, scarily so. On speaking to locals its normal, there is nothing there a night. The only live area was Bayfront, 3 blocks away but that was very busy, tacky and loud. Not recommended. You have to drive to South beach or places like Coconut Grove (recommended) to find restaurants and any type of decent life.
In the heat of down town Miami there are two great restaurants, Fratelli Milano, 213SE 1st Street. This is a small very very friendly place where all know each other and everyone is made welcome. On sitting down a man eating neaby, who works locally said "Good choice" re venue. Highly recommended especially the food and staff.
Another restaurant was Puntino Italian restaurant 353 SE 2nd Street. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the manager Ernesto made our stay very welcome. The food was excellent. Again highly recommended food and staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Wasn't the nicest Courtyard I have been to but it was OK. Really nothing special about this hotel. Location is OK cleanliness OK, staff OK, just OK.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.