We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #43 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Calgary
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here May 31 to June 3 (2014). it is not one of the upmarket Marriotts but was very comfortable, room was clean and comfortable, and the service by two of the concierges was as good as one coul ever expect to receive. AWESOME

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    302
    108
    40
    10
See reviews for
189
162
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Excellent hotel if starting a cruise from the Miami port. Just minutes away from the port, and a shuttle provides service every 30 minutes starting at 11:00am (sign up the night before when you check in). Shuttle service was a bit crowded and not too orderly in the lobby, so come early. Hotel itself was average for a Marriott Courtyard. Rooms were nice with good Wi-Fi, but the bathroom was rather small. Some construction nearby, but noise was not an issue. Service could be improved, as no help with our luggage was offered upon check-in. Breakfast at the lobby restaurant was included, but only continental. Full breakfast and other food available for purchase.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Two years in a row we have stayed here the night before our cruise. You can see the cruise port from the hotel if you stay on the bay side. There is construction going on across the street, but we didn't hear any of the noise in our room. Every place that we were, common area, elevators, hallways, and room were spotless. Super clean and very nice employees. I would like to recognize Alexis Collura, Front Desk Supervisor for her excellent communication via email and in person when it came to a special request. My needs were met and exceeded my expectations. Thank you so much Alexis!!

Helpful hints (from personal experience):

1. If driving to the hotel, to enter the parking garage and check in area, proceed straight on SE 2nd STREET and turn left into the parking/check-in entrance. Most GPS devices or smart phone Apps do not route this. One cannot access that area on SE Second AVENUE (physical address of Hotel).

2. Parking in the garage at the hotel, parking is currently $18 self parking with in/out. There is a separate key card for this, not the hotel key card.

3. The hotel key card is required to enter the hotel from the garage, don't forget this.

4. The ramp is very narrow when using a luggage cart to enter the hotel from the parking garage on any floor other than the lobby level. Use caution and patience maneuvering the cart through the door way.

5. CVS is a short walk down SE 2nd Street if you forget any needed items prior to taking a cruise. We purchased our wine and bottled water from there and packed in our carry-on.

Room Tip: If you want to have a city/bay view room and a chance to see all the fancy and some exotic cars on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night prior to our cruise. I had booked the stay months in advance and we decided to splurge a little since it was only one night. We chose to book an executive king suite and requested a higher floor and was terribly disappointed with the room. Although it was spacious, ( it had a separate living room and kitchen area and our bedroom was in another room), the room was outdated and had a horrible view. We had a view of the train tracks and all the litter below us ( We were on the 5th floor). In addition, we had booked a transfer to the which we paid extra for, and had a situation where the concierge was not aware we had reserved the transfer even though we told TWO of the staff members what time we needed the transfer to the ship. Overall for the price that we paid for the room, we will definitely stay somewhere else (Intercontinental Hotel) when we come to Miami.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here with friends for a weekend in March. We booked it on a reward stay primarily due to the great location (within walking distance to restaurants and pubs). The hotel itself is just outside of the Brickell area (easy ~15 min walk to a large number of bars and nightclubs). However, if you don't want to walk that far, there's bars and restaurants within a 2 block radius as well.

The rooms are standard Courtyard rooms - large, clean, and recently re-done. Small bathroom but large living quarters. The gym was small but adequate and had a number of treadmills, ellipticals, and free weights.

From here ,the airport is about a 15 min drive. Similarly, South Beach is also approx 15 mins. It's a fairly central location and I wouldn't hesitate staying here again if my travels brought me to the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is clean spacey! There is a great pool and gym. The area does not seem dangerous at all to me. We were walking around last night at 2am and there was barely a soul in sight. I didn't not feel uncomfortable at all. The staff is great and very attentive. They ask a lot how the stay is going and if anything is needed. The Bistro downstairs is delicious. You can order anything on the menu all day! It is a very convenient location. About a 7-10 minute walk to Bayside where there is great music, food, shopping and entertainment. The Metro Mover is located directly next door and South Beach is a short and cheap cab ride away! I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Great price. If I don't stay at a friends place the next time I come I'll def stay here! The only reason I give it four stars is because of the price of snacks and drinks in the lobby. It is a little over $6.00 just for some Fiji water! Other then that its a great place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillside, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Downtown Miami. I stayed for Haitian Flag day. We were close enough to all the events, restaurants, South Beach, Little Haiti, Nightclubs, etc. Parking situation was great. William, night auditor, was excellent. He even found Krazy Glue for us. I had a wonderful stay!!!

The room was spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Business Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.