We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel pre-cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 130 hotels in Miami
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel pre-cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night prior to leaving for our cruise. Lovely downtown location and we had a view of the port from our balcony. Staff was friendly and provided very good service. Rooms were well appointed and clean too. We had a very nice and large breakfast in the bistro and arranged for the shuttle to take us to port for $5 each. Nice way to start our vacation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Front Office Manager
Olcay Dogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    282
    105
    40
    10
See reviews for
176
152
30
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This Courtyard seems to have been remodeled lately, although some of its features are still old fashioned. Rooms have a good size but the bathroom is so little that only one person can be in it at a time.
Breakfast is not included; there is a bistro where you can buy fruit, sandwiches or drinks.
Now, the location is excellent. Bayside is only a couple of blocks away, as well as the metro rail and tons of stores and small restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel.

Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience, and your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly. We will definitely look at what changes need to made in order to provide the best experience possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the time of moving to Miami! Location is great with free metro mover and miami trolley right next to you. No free breakfast is a drawback! Free wifi in rooms is not all that great. Love the starbucks in lobby. Overall, Great hotel if you have stuff to do in downtown!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is your basic Marriot--you come here because you know what you're getting. Decent rooms (large, even) pretty much reasonable price, and close to amenities.

The good here: absolutely fantastic staff. The front desk people, and especially the manager, are among the most helpful I've encountered, going above and beyond the call of duty.

The not so good: unreliable internet (it tends to cut out in you).

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with an excellent hotel experience, and your comments have been shared with our team members accordingly. We will definitely look at what changes need to made in order to provide the best experience possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here two nights before our cruise. The hotel is in the middle of downtown Miami. Within walking distance to Bayside. The people mover is also close which will take you almost anywhere you want to go.

Hotel staff was excellent – they answered several questions for us on places to go.

There is a shuttle to take you to the pier in the morning – which ran smoothly and quickly for $5/person. Taxi from the airport was $24.00.

Rooms were average. Beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel for the last six years during the Sony tennis tournament. We particularly appreciate the fridge in our room because we like to take a quick breakfast early in the morning and share a glass of wine in the evening, after we return from our shifts. Provisions available at a CWS close by. The beds are comfortable and the room is always well serviced by the housecleaning crew. Convenient parking in the adjoining building at $18 per day. Climate control is an issue……..the air conditioners are noisy and it's difficult maintaining a consistent, comfortable temperature. There used to be free coffee available in the lobby area, in the mornings, but, now, you have to line up at the counter (which can take 5 minutes or more at 9.00am). I've always enjoyed the huge aquarium of saltwater fish in the lobby area. The reception staff are personable and helpful. Try to avoid all hotels in this area at the end of March when the downtown musical festival is on…..very noisy if you want to get some sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip. Be warned ... GPS had me turning left in front of the hotel, but you actully need to go straight through the light. I called the hotel to get directions and they were far from helpful. That was disappointing.

The room was nice and the bed was great. The room was very, very clean and I didn't have any issues with the wifi. The bathroom, on the other hand, was really small and had NO counter space. I ended up having to get ready at the desk. That was a bummer.

The elevators in this hotel are horribly slow in the morning hours. It feels like you are waiting around forever. They really need to do something about that.

The gym was nice {2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals and weights}. It was really clean and I was always able to get on a treadmill when needed. The pool was on the same floor as the gym (7, I think).

There's lots of construction going on downtown and you can hear it. No fault of the hotel's, but something to keep in mind.

I'd likely stay here again. The value was there, it was clean and I love Marriott's.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive feedback.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.