We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fernando was born for hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #39 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fernando was born for hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had been dropped off at this hotel on accident by a cab from a tri rail and as I waited for a ride to my correct hotel I had observed there performance of one of the front desk workers. I travel a lot and also work for a hotel chain so for someone to stand out to me they must be spectacular.
The young man at the desk, Fernando, was in high spirits the whole time, helping everyone that walked through the door no matter if they asked for entertainment suggestions, accommodations, or just coffee. He was the hotel super hero. I hope everyone that stays in this hotel has the pleasure of getting to meet him as he seems to be miami's go to man. This hotel should be very grateful for him and his impressive customer service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience at our hotel, and with Fernando specifically.

We constantly strive to provide service that exceeds our guests expectations, and we are very pleased to learn we were able to provide that level of service to you. We will commend Fernando on a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards,
Olcay Dogan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    392
    147
    45
    15
See reviews for
262
208
39
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard for one night before embarking on a cruise.
I had shopped around for hotels and the Courtyard offered a very competitive rate.
The decor in the hotel and in the room itself seemed pretty dated, kind of 70's. However, the bed was comfortable and the towels and bedding very clean.
They have a small restaurant on the main floor. While the food was not fancy it was fine for a quick bite and also reasonably priced. They also had a computer and printer set up in the lobby for printing out boarding passes for the airport, which is a useful convenience. They also offered a shuttle to the cruise ports for a very inexpensive price.
The stand out of the visit was the service by the staff. They were very helpful, very nice. I actually forgot my jacket when I left for my cruise. When I returned from the cruise I called up the hotel, and yes, they had found my jacket and kept it for me. I was grateful to get the jacket back as it was expensive.
Is this place fancy? No. However, it has all the basics that you need and is centrally located.

Room Tip: They are constructing a building across the road, and the construction did wake me up in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for one reason: the proximity to the cruise port. That's about the only part of the stay that wasn't a disappointment. The cruise port is indeed very close (and so is the Miami Convention Center, if that's what you're looking for).

Would not describe this as "a good area," as one reviewer did below. But really, that's secondary to the main problem we experienced. We noticed that one of our curtains had a large--probably 12 inches or more--stain of uncertain origin, but definitely something you wouldn't want to think about. Took a photo of it and showed it to the front desk staff. She indicated she would consult with the manager and someone would be up within 10 minutes, and offered free breakfast in return.

First: does that seem like an equitable trade? Second: it is now two hours later and we haven't heard a word from anyone.

There are lots of options in this area. You can do much better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you're used to travelling in Europe, this hotel may feel familiar. The entrance is through a garage, the rooms are tiny. On the plus side, it is very close to the Metromover stations but so is the classy Hyatt which has its own access. If you are disappointed that no "free" breakfast is offered, you will be very pleased to find the Cafe Bastille just a block away and you'll never want a free breakfast again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard the night before our cruise. I originally booked the B2 (better location view than Ctyd) but had enough points for a free stay so we change to Courtyard. The staff are very nice. We stayed on the top floor but there is not a view of the water because of construction. Great beds and wonderful shower!! You are close to Bayside which has nice shops and it is a 3 block walk to it. There are a lot of homeless people so be aware that you might be asked for $. If you don't have breakfast included there are some very good breakfast choices. Starbucks wasn't doing it for me. That is one thing I liked about Miami was the European feel to it. It is a nice hotel and close to the Metromover which is a block away. If you have time you should ride the FREE Metromover. It is a fun way to see the sights of downtown Miami.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Disappointing for a marriott hotel .. When unsure where to stay and not familiar with area I tend to lean to marriott or hilton owned resort due to consistent service levels. This hotel is a great location, 3 of us were doing a miami weekend. Upon check-in, none of the 3 keys worked so had to make a second trip to lobby. Room was nice but after sometime in it started to have problems. First tv was unplugged for coffee pot, when plugged in it would not get a signal, then toilet seat was loose, almost slide off was very dangerous and then noticed on the textured wall behind the bed dust balls clinging to wall. They addressed problems we had but 3 things brings concern of quality control and management oversight. Then sat. Spent day at beach, returning at 4:30 pm our room had not been serviced.. Had dinner plans and had to wait for towels and make a trip downstairs to resolve.. Whereas young lady did correct and throw in free coffee in am, having to make phone calls and go to front desk 4 times in 2 days is unacceptable, especially from a marriott level hotel. I'm not sure I will select marriott next time if Hilton available!!

Room Tip: Call the resort they will usually match or beat online booking sites and you can be sure of what roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

No major issues during a recent long-weekend stay -- but having seen nearby offerings, I'd choose elsewhere next time.

This property is not without its charms: a very convenient downtown location near public transit; well-maintained, clean and comfortable, and the staff are generally helpful.

But the shortcomings were all too noticeable: a nonworking television, area traffic and construction that interrupted sleep, elevators jammed and practically unavailable at certain busy times of day, flyers placed under my door twice in two days by local restaurants (who's controlling entry here?), and -- most of all -- this property's popularity among the cruise ship crowd, for whom it serves as an overnight transfer base. This can result in lobby chaos when the entire place checks out at 11:00a.

If you're budget-minded and not annoyed by the foregoing, then this property is your choice in downtown Miami. Next time, I'll spend a bit more and hope for a less chaotic, more predictable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#38 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#49 of 115 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#32 Family Hotel in Miami
#38 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.