We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Nice n comfortable place to stay if u r in this area, within walking distance to activities n fun areas the view of the hotel was not the greatest because of the construction but its ok. Big thank u to Desmond the front desk supervisor for all his help. SIMPLY THE GREATEST PERSON FOR THE FRONT DESK!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    360
    130
    44
    16
See reviews for
235
189
36
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Having flown all day from Europe I was tired and needed a shower before a business dinner. I rented a car and found my way to the hotel without too much trouble, except for one wrong turn due to one way streets. The parking attendants were cheerful and helpful. Check in was seamless and fast.
My room was nicely appointed, thought a bit dated. My bed was very comfortable, I was told they are new and the best Marriott offers. The bathroom was clean and fresh looking. Housekeeping during my stay was excellent.
The Bistro breakfast food was good and the one time i ate lunch there the citrus salad was large and well prepared
The hotel is located downtown close to the cruise port and great restaurants. Unlike many cities, downtown is vibrant after 6:00 PM. Although I wouldn't walk around alone past 9:00 PM.

Check out was as rapid as check in. The entire staff were smiling, friendly, helpful and approachable.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights after a cruise. The biggest positive for this hotel is the staff. They were impeccable....nailed the customer experience. The location is great, downtown close to the port and airport ($24 cab ride to both).The hotel itself is a bit outdated could use some sprucing up. The rooms were however spacious and clean (no fridge or microwave).$15 parking per night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, TX
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We chose this hotel for convenience to the cruise port and within walking distance to Bayfront Park attractions (waterfront park, restaurants, shopping, bars). As expected our room was nice, comfortable and clean. However, at this time there is major construction going on across the street, which means noise and unsightly view. Also there is always a major traffic jam just outside which created vehicle noise such as honking horns, etc.

Regardless of all the distractions mentioned above, we loved the location which allowed us to walk to many nearby restaurants, cafes, and Bayfront Park which is exceptional place to hang out at the waterfront. You can actually see part of Dodge Island and some cruise ships in the distance from our hotel window. The hotel does offer an outside vendor van shuttle service for $5 per person that leaves at 11am.

One drawback was the "continental breakfast" voucher system at the on site Le Bistro. There is a long line in the morning to order your breakfast items (very limited unless you pay extra) instead of the typical buffet. Yet, we were happy the hotel offered breakfast even a limited one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice hotell and close to cruise port,
and offer shuttle. Nice room with coffe maker and rediger for cold beer ?
Close to shopping - restaurants. $20 with taxi to South Beach - art deco
$ 25 taxi to AirPort . Parking garage 1 min.from hotel if you have own car.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

How do I effectively share the amazing, caring, compassionate effort of each and every staff member we met? I can't find the letters on this keyboard!
First, we got lost in the web of downtown Miami and Biscayne Blvd. Our Garmin was NO HELP. The staff member we called stayed with us and gently, carefully, patiently got us right to their garage under the property. Then, we were met by the front staff. I have never met so many people showing us such respect and actual joy for us being there. When they heard it was our anniversary, we were upgraded to a suite. We also received extra free choices of drinks/beverages twice; once at the front desk and then in their Bistro after there was an error in bringing out our food. When they heard it was our anniversary, we were given a platter of fruit and cheeses to take to our room.
The room was clean. The bed was heavenly.The view was blinking lights of downtown Miami.
It's situated near the causeway if you want to get to the beaches. It's not on the beach but near all the downtown attractions.
I was there for the Miami Book Fair. I'm the author of "Confessions of a Childfree Woman. Amazon.com. When we asked how to get to the Book Fair, we had a map with the exact route that got us there the next AM.
There were only two things that you should know: Although they do have a restaurant, I would recommend it for breakfast (they have Starbucks coffee) and lunch. It's not really a dinner restaurant. I ordered roasted chicken which was OK and my husband had a delicious burger. If it weren't for the terrible weather, we would have chosen a better place for our anniversary dinner although their food was good! The ambiance is really more for a bistro environment.
This property, their staff, comfort of beds, location for a city, and service is perfection. Their garage is right there under the hotel. (Valet parking is an extra $21.00) You can also park yourself. We called and our car was waiting for us when we got there to leave.
Without reservations, I recommend this hotel for anyone who needs to be in the downtown Miami area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Spent one night here before a cruise in October 2013. Very clean and well-cared-for hotel. Wasn't too thrilled with the area;however, the staff, in particular the manager, Olcay, went above and beyond by offering us a complimentary breakfast. As we were waiting for our shuttle to the port she even offered complimentary water to guests. Top-notch service at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.