We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good & Near Bayside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 130 hotels in Miami
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good & Near Bayside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My partner and I went to the USA for our holiday. We were staying 3 nights in Miami before going on a 3 week cruise. After much research, we decided to book the Courtyard in Downtown Miami. I emailed them in advance of our visit as it was a special holiday and got an email back stating they would send a free bottle of wine and strawberries to the room on arrival. On arrival we were quickly checked in without any hassle, and done so in a friendly manner. Our room was awesome. Very large, very comfortable and well maintained. The restaurant in this hotel, which has a limited menu was equally good and well priced. The only negative comment was that breakfast was very limited and not the best we have received in other hotels. Overall this hotel is very good for the money. Recently refurbished with friendly staff.
THANK YOU!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    282
    105
    40
    10
See reviews for
176
152
30
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you are traveling to go to the hospital for treatment then this hotel has got it together. They are really up to your needs and great with transportation if needed. Great eating area's close and they can tell you of local places that are not close that are on the bay.

Room Tip: There really wasn't a problem with rooms because you are downtown with large buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed in the Courtyard Miami hotel for two nights on buisness. Overall this hotel is not bad, but you may be able to do better somewhere else. I will list PRO's and CONs below:

PRO's:
- Downtown location (though this is an issue in and of itself, I will explain below)
- Near interstate, waterways
- Clean lobby
- Parking in building
- Standard Courtyard brand rooms, which are upscale but not luxurious
- Good rates, affordable

CON's:
- Restaurant. Staff was very friendly but the food is borderline awful. $15 for a breakfast that wasn't hot. Food in general was overpriced and lacked variety. I don't understand why some Courtyards have a full restuarant, or at least a full breakfast, while some others do not.
- Downtown Miami. I was in a bit of shock, there isn't really much to "Downtown Miami." Many restuarants are closed and those that may be open are too far to walk to. A couple high end, Morton's-type places available. Place seems to shut down around 5 during the week. I've stayed in Miami before, but mainly along the beaches. Many more options there.
- TV remote was not working well
- Loud AC unit
- Parking is confusing. Was told it was $15 for self park. Paid $24 when I left the gate to go to airport.

Overall: This is decent hotel if you must be in downtown Miami. However, downtown Miami doesn't have a whole to offer (maybe I'm just used to other big cities). The most frustrating thing about my experience was food. Not many restaurants nearby (ate at the chicken place across the street, not too bad) and hotel food is pretty terrible for the price.

Stay here if you are looking for a reasonable priced hotel in the downtown area, and either know the food spots or have money to splurge on the high end steakhouses. Otherwise, go across the bay and stay at the beach for a little bit more, which is what I will do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here overnight before embarking on a cruise.
This Courtyard is close to the Cruise Port, and transport there was affordable and easily arranged. The hotel is walking distance from shopping and restaurants, but many of the nearby stores close by 6pm.
The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly, helpful, accommodating and knowledgeable about the neighbourhood.
There is a bistro on site, and though the menu selection is limited, the food is good.
The business centre is in an open area in the bistro. It is functional, with adequate terminal numbers, but privacy is limited.
I would definitely stay here again, should I have a cruise or business in downtown Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here the night before our cruise. Was very nice and clean.. All the staff were
very friendly and hospitable. Enjoyed walking around downtown and along the waterfront.
Lots of restaurants, shopping, and beautiful views...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamentin, Guadeloupe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were 12, arriving late after a long day at the airport from Orlando to Miami. The stewardess was very kind and helpful, speaking differents languages. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Breakfast was not so good but I prefered Orlando's breakfast at Best western inn Orlando International. After 8 days in cruiser, it was very wonderful to have a rest in miami. Metromover was near and free. Bayside was at 10 mn. Dolphin mall at 40 mn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It has some differencial facilities, like USB chargers on the side of the beds, frigobar, swimming pool and gym.
The staff was very helpful and the beds are extremely comfortable.
The location is really nice, near from the main things you've got to know in Miami Downtown.

Room Tip: Ask before for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.