We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good basic downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Vrasene, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good basic downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on April 11th coming back from a Cruise - so location of the hotel very convenient vs. the Cruise terminal - only a 10$ taxi fare away. Hotel at walking distance from downtown locations like Market Bayside Harbour + we also walked from the hotel to the bus stop to Key Biscayne.
We arrived at 11 at the hotel in the morning and we could already check into the room - very convenient to drop of luggage / refresh / ...
Room was very spacious - 2 beds and good basic bathroom.
Breakfast was basic continental breakfast (as we booked hotel beds) and was good quality however some cheese / meats / yoghurts would be nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It's great you were able to take advantage of some of the perks of our location such as being a short walk away from Bayside Market Place, Port of Miami and the bust stop to Key Biscayne .

Glad you chose us for your stay and hope to see your return!

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    333
    116
    41
    15
See reviews for
208
179
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'm a silver member and without batting an eye, the reception desk let us check in at 1pm and upgraded us to a king suite. Very nice room, if a little older. Hotel is in walking distance to Bayside, which is very nice to sit around, shop, and have a beer over the water. Took the bus to south beach for $2 each, and cab ride back was about $20 total.

Paid for breakfast in the morning, which was fine. Nice hotel, good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pot a comment. Our staff work very hard to make each stay special and I’m glad to see we were successful reaching that goal for you. We share these comments Thanks again and I hope you get to visit again.

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here with family (husband and 2 sons:-6 and 14) for three nights before going on a cruise. great downtown location, within easy walking to bayside, shops, AA Arena etc and opposite the street from our Budget car rental. The hotel was nice with comfortable beds, basic complimentary breakfast, good wi-fi throughout. pool area was small but nice, pool water was a little cold tho, especially by US standards. Parking is an extra $15 per day but for a downtown location we didn't expect anything else.

Room Tip: higher room as street can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Our staff work very hard to make each stay special so they will be happy to know that they were successful with your visit. We share all these comments with our staff and I know they will be thrilled to know you enjoyed your stasy.

Tank you for the kind words and hope to see you soon.

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there for two nights after my cruise. The location & the room was pretty good for the price. I searched for days to find a decent room accessible from port & to south beach, I am so glad I found this hotel. Cab cost me $10 from the port Miami, & buses were easily available to South beach. There are several smaller places to check out within walking distance to eat/shop during the day & to hang out later in the night. I was mostly out, so I did not try their cafe, room service, pool etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Travalholic1,

Thank you so much for taking for your kind words. Our staff work very hard to make each stay special so they will be happy to know that they were successful with your visit. We are very happy that you found our location ideal for your trip.

Again thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you next time you MIami!

At Your Service,


Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel to attend a Miami Heat game. Although the streets of Miami are busy and sometimes hard to navigate it was easy getting in and out of this location. We were downtown so we were able to walk to everything we wanted to do and it was very easy to get back on I-95 to leave. Hotel was very clean, room was nice and staff was courteous. What more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you were able to get out and explore the city.
Our staff work very hard to make every guest experience special and I’m so glad were successful with your stay.

Hope to see you during the Playoff's.

Thanks again for staying with us.


Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is at a very good location. Around this hotel you have all the important shopping malls, pharmacies and all kinds of food joints. All within a walking range of 200mts. Also if you have to catch the Cruise to Bahamas then too it is very close, it is walkable if you do not have the luggage.

The hotel looks very old from outside and inside. It is undergoing renovation. The check in is pretty fast and the staff is very very co operative.

The rooms are very antique type, they have all the modern facilities but the ambiance is still very old. There is carpet in the room and I personally do not like this.

The beds are ok nothing special. The Bathroom like the rooms are not modern and small. They are clean but not good enough.

The morning breakfast is excellent. I being a vegetarian enjoyed the food. I did not try any other meals in the 5 days I stayed here.

I would still stay at this hotel for the location and if they give us the same price of around 120 dollars per night with breakfast and double occupancy.

Room Tip: Select the view which is towards the open plot in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like you were able to get out and explore the city.
Our staff work very hard to make every guest experience special and I’m so glad were successful with your stay.

I am sorry to hear that the rooms were not to your satisfaction and we would hope you give us the opportunity to make this up to you as the hotel is at this moment replacing all bedding in our rooms.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Peggy Jimenez


Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Dated rooms, small with noisy and nasty old air conditioners. The pool is bad and in a terrible place next to the parking garage. Not up to the Marriot name. On the bright side, the lobby is nice and the parking cheap. Staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Stay at a newer hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Business Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.