We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location & Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days while attending a conference. The hotel is located close to many great restaurants and attractions. The staff were attentive and friendly. The room was comfortable, clean and did not look at all "tired" as one reviewer put it in a previous review. Had a neat view of Miami tower from my room. One caveat: While the pool and pool deck are quite nice with comfortable chaise lounges, the area only had sun in the early to mid afternoon hours during the time I stayed. Coupled with the fact that the pool is not heated, those people looking for an all day sun & swim experience should head to the beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel.

I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you should the opportunity arise.

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    334
    116
    41
    15
See reviews for
209
179
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roosevelt, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Check in was great. Location was awesome. We were within walking distance to the bay, and shopping. The restaurants in the area were great.
I enjoyed the shopping in the Avenue's better than the Bayside Shopping centre.
Shuttle to the port was handy. Be sure you get the Shuttle confirmed, it was $5 a person.
I think I enjoyed the location better than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your found our location convenient to both restaurants and shopping and we hope you had time to experience some of them.
.
We do hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the future when travel and time permits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for 17 people for a 1 night stay pre-cruise out of the Port of Miami.
Choose hotel based on location - which was good - 10 minute walk to the Bayside Shopping centre with shops and restaurants/bars and lots to see and do.
Check in was slow, desk clerk seemed to have something else on her mind and wasn't overly interested in doing her job. Didn't tell us about the breakfast or shuttle to cruise -- I had to ask another staff member.
Some confusion on booking shuttle bus to Port the next morning, but I did finally get it all sorted out. Good shuttle at only $5 per person, once you get it booked - AND CONFIRMED.
Our room was okay. We booked the king suite with hide a bed for our family of 4 and requested a roll away. The suite was a good size with SMALL balcony. Had small fridge and sink. Could use a renovation in the near future.
Elevators where very slow and busy and you had to wait a long time to catch one.
Every member of our group complained about the awful sleep they had - beds hard and lumpy and in our room we where woken up at 7 AM (on a Sunday) to a garbage truck right outside our room and workers tearing off shingles into the garbage truck.
Breakfast was basically a credit at Starbucks in the lobby area with okay food.
Overall, I expected more, or maybe too much from a Courtyard by Marriott. The location was good, but when 17 people have a bad night's sleep, location doesn't do much.
I would rethink choosing this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floor may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed our sleeping rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Miami you give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you for your feedback.

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Check in was efficient and the manager was very attentive to help with restaurant selections. The room was well appointed and free wifi a plus. I was in town on business and the wifi was adequate to run my VPN connection which has been an issue with other hotels. Location is great and lots of restaurants within walking distance. The Starbucks bistro worked well for breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Attended conference at Hyatt which was booked. This hotel will provide you with the basics. Mostly clean rooms, comfortable beds, tv, and internet. Starbucks coffee and breakfast options available downstairs. The rooms seem a bit run down, probably wear and tear of being near convention center and having a high volume of customers constantly. The gym was good, although the weight/cable machine was broken on one side, a few cardio machines and lower free weights that are good for women.

The concierge did recommend some excellent and healthy restaurants that delivered which were delicious. Check in was too slow, especially late at night I would have appreciated more attentive service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here Sunday, February 17th. It was cool that night and we found it quite funny that everyone was running around with scarves and hats and "freezing to death". We came from -30 so plus 57 felt like Summer. The hotel is basic but it's clean and the location is great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very basic hotel, though everything was in working order. Good location, friendly staff. Not a hotel to stay at for any food service -- basically a small facility on the reception floor about two steps up from a well-stocked office microwave pantry. Functional, but not fit to invite clients over for a bite. Stay here for the price and location, not for the frills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Business Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.