We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay -- but expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 130 hotels in Miami
Alberta
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Okay -- but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for 17 people for a 1 night stay pre-cruise out of the Port of Miami.
Choose hotel based on location - which was good - 10 minute walk to the Bayside Shopping centre with shops and restaurants/bars and lots to see and do.
Check in was slow, desk clerk seemed to have something else on her mind and wasn't overly interested in doing her job. Didn't tell us about the breakfast or shuttle to cruise -- I had to ask another staff member.
Some confusion on booking shuttle bus to Port the next morning, but I did finally get it all sorted out. Good shuttle at only $5 per person, once you get it booked - AND CONFIRMED.
Our room was okay. We booked the king suite with hide a bed for our family of 4 and requested a roll away. The suite was a good size with SMALL balcony. Had small fridge and sink. Could use a renovation in the near future.
Elevators where very slow and busy and you had to wait a long time to catch one.
Every member of our group complained about the awful sleep they had - beds hard and lumpy and in our room we where woken up at 7 AM (on a Sunday) to a garbage truck right outside our room and workers tearing off shingles into the garbage truck.
Breakfast was basically a credit at Starbucks in the lobby area with okay food.
Overall, I expected more, or maybe too much from a Courtyard by Marriott. The location was good, but when 17 people have a bad night's sleep, location doesn't do much.
I would rethink choosing this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floor may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed our sleeping rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Miami you give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you for your feedback.

At Your Service,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    282
    105
    40
    10
See reviews for
176
152
30
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Check in was efficient and the manager was very attentive to help with restaurant selections. The room was well appointed and free wifi a plus. I was in town on business and the wifi was adequate to run my VPN connection which has been an issue with other hotels. Location is great and lots of restaurants within walking distance. The Starbucks bistro worked well for breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Attended conference at Hyatt which was booked. This hotel will provide you with the basics. Mostly clean rooms, comfortable beds, tv, and internet. Starbucks coffee and breakfast options available downstairs. The rooms seem a bit run down, probably wear and tear of being near convention center and having a high volume of customers constantly. The gym was good, although the weight/cable machine was broken on one side, a few cardio machines and lower free weights that are good for women.

The concierge did recommend some excellent and healthy restaurants that delivered which were delicious. Check in was too slow, especially late at night I would have appreciated more attentive service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here Sunday, February 17th. It was cool that night and we found it quite funny that everyone was running around with scarves and hats and "freezing to death". We came from -30 so plus 57 felt like Summer. The hotel is basic but it's clean and the location is great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very basic hotel, though everything was in working order. Good location, friendly staff. Not a hotel to stay at for any food service -- basically a small facility on the reception floor about two steps up from a well-stocked office microwave pantry. Functional, but not fit to invite clients over for a bite. Stay here for the price and location, not for the frills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLorida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard for the boat and art shows and found it to be top notch! The staff was outstanding - always at the ready with a smile to answer questions and lend assistance. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Unfortunately the balconies were under renovation, during our stay as that would have been an enjoyable benefit. The hotel is conveniently located within less than a block of the free train that provides great access to many downtown spots. We look forward to heading back to the Courtyard for our next visit to downtown Miami.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel.

I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home when staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Miami.

At Your Service,


Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario. Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were really happy with the Starbuck's bistro - quick friendly service and good food. The hotel was surprisingly quiet as it seems to be popular with people on their way to or from their cruise ships. There is some traffic noise (Miami drivers like to honk their horns a lot). It is around the corner from a Metromover station and walking distance to Mary Brickell village and Bayside mall.

Room Tip: Maybe there are better rooms not so close to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Suites, Mid-ran...
Show More
Downtown
b2 miami downtown
b2 miami downtown
#44 of 130 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Restaurant, Fam...
Show More
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#39 of 130 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#65 of 130 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Family-friendly...
Show More
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
#45 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.