We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“website not updated, dissapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 130 hotels in Miami
nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“website not updated, dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

our family decided to stay at this hotel before our cruise. One of the things we required when we were booking was a breakfast. when researching the courtyard marriott downtown maimi, their website indicated that they have a breakfast buffet.
This morning we arrived downstairs for breakfast and we were told they switched their restaurant about 3 months ago but they never updated their website. They now have a bistro style restaurant where you order from a small menu. the food was not bad but when you expect one thing and receive another, it is very dissapointing.

The other thing I don't like about this hotel is the layout of their bathroom. the door opens out into the bedroom. it swings out wide and is a tight squeeze . the bathroom sink is small and right next to the towel holder. so when I was washing your hands, I hit my shoulder on the towel holder several times.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful. I can't say I would stay at this hotel again, but I cannot complain about the staff. they were very accommodating and that is a reason why I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback I am so sorry to hear that there was some mis understanding with regards to breakfast. The hotel converted to the Bistro Concept 2 1/2 years ago. We did offer breakfast to our guest during our exterior renovation during the months of June to mid December 2012. Once our renovations were completed we did not offer this amenity.

Please accept my apologies for letting you down. . We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. Once again Thank you for your feedback.

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    284
    106
    40
    10
See reviews for
176
152
30
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel boasts of a recent upgrade but the upgrade does not go beyond the lobby. The rooms are very old, with an air conditioner built into the wall. The beds are old and lumpy along with the furnishings in the room. Rooms are not as clean as they should be. Lots of dust on the lamps. It is an ok location, but the hotel is not the best. I was stuck by a protruding nail out of the carpeted floor. The hotel would not accomodate my request to move to another room. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained and clean for our guest. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed our sleeping rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. Thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I were going on a cruise and stayed here the night before. Service was great. Room was great. Bar/resteraunt was awesome, ate dinner and breakfast there. It was also affordable. They also have a shuttle to the ships. I believe it was $12 per person but a cab would be more than that. Be sure to sign up for the shuttle and get the card to make sure to get the earliest time. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was smooth sailing during your sta at the Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown. I hope you enjoyed your cruise with the family and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,


Peggy JImenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My mom and I visited Miami this weekend. We stayed on the 10th floor. The hotel is in an excellent location, only 4 blocks from Bayside Marketplace, 5 blocks from American Airlines Arena. There are multiple restaurants and pharmacies near the hotel. The shops on Flager St have good stuff at very good prices. You can walk three blocks from the hotel (Byscane Blvd) and take the S bus to South Beach. The hotel front desk personnel is a bit rude and not very helpful. Their attitude can be improved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel. I wan't to advise that we are definatley dissapointed that you did not feel welcome by our staff, I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home. We will take this opportunity to address your concerns with our staff. Please give us the oppotunity to welcome you once again to the Courtyard Marriott Miami Downtown on your next trip to Miami to experience a friendly and welcoming staff!

Warm Regards,


Peggy Jimenez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Navy Afloat
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you are visiting Miami for the Marathon weekend......this property is conveniently located near the Bayside/Bayfront area - easy walk to/from the race.

The hotel is an older property - but very nice. We arrived from JAX early (10:45am) and was able to get our room....that early. Front desk staff very nice and accommodating. Rooms are a bit dated......and our room (Room 1122) smelled horrible (mold smell) - but, I didn't complain due to the property being full for the marathon (but the odor was miserable). The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fine.

Pool area was outside on the 7th floor and very nice. Fitness equipment was very modern.

For the price and location - if you spending your time out in town....this is the place (not much to do at the hotel itself nor right nearby). Metro and MetroMover are very close and hotel is just off the freeway (but no noise in room...windows are thick). Parking fee is reasonable for a Downtown property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown. The staff enjoys being a headquarter hotel for the ING Miami Half Marathon & Full Marathon. We look forward to welcoming you next year for the race.

Warm Regards,


Peggy Jimenez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniondale, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visit Miami every year and decided for the first time to stay in downtown Miami instead of south beach back in June of 2012. Upon arriving, I noticed the hotel was in a good location and I was greeted very friendly by the staff. I enjoyed the room and the breakfast every morning made my day. The only bad thing was my head stand on the bed kept banging due to construction next door, but other than that I loved the pool and had an amazing time! My Marriott employee discount really paid off for this excellent hotel!

Room Tip: great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Found this place after fleeing from the River Park Hotel Suites next door. That place had bed bugs. The Courtyard had rooms available and accommodated me late at night. The place was reasonable and clean!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.