We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“website not updated, dissapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #37 of 115 Hotels in Miami
nj
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“website not updated, dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

our family decided to stay at this hotel before our cruise. One of the things we required when we were booking was a breakfast. when researching the courtyard marriott downtown maimi, their website indicated that they have a breakfast buffet.
This morning we arrived downstairs for breakfast and we were told they switched their restaurant about 3 months ago but they never updated their website. They now have a bistro style restaurant where you order from a small menu. the food was not bad but when you expect one thing and receive another, it is very dissapointing.

The other thing I don't like about this hotel is the layout of their bathroom. the door opens out into the bedroom. it swings out wide and is a tight squeeze . the bathroom sink is small and right next to the towel holder. so when I was washing your hands, I hit my shoulder on the towel holder several times.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very helpful. I can't say I would stay at this hotel again, but I cannot complain about the staff. they were very accommodating and that is a reason why I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback I am so sorry to hear that there was some mis understanding with regards to breakfast. The hotel converted to the Bistro Concept 2 1/2 years ago. We did offer breakfast to our guest during our exterior renovation during the months of June to mid December 2012. Once our renovations were completed we did not offer this amenity.

Please accept my apologies for letting you down. . We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. Once again Thank you for your feedback.

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    393
    148
    45
    15
See reviews for
264
208
39
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel boasts of a recent upgrade but the upgrade does not go beyond the lobby. The rooms are very old, with an air conditioner built into the wall. The beds are old and lumpy along with the furnishings in the room. Rooms are not as clean as they should be. Lots of dust on the lamps. It is an ok location, but the hotel is not the best. I was stuck by a protruding nail out of the carpeted floor. The hotel would not accomodate my request to move to another room. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained and clean for our guest. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed our sleeping rooms. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. Thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Peggy Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I were going on a cruise and stayed here the night before. Service was great. Room was great. Bar/resteraunt was awesome, ate dinner and breakfast there. It was also affordable. They also have a shuttle to the ships. I believe it was $12 per person but a cab would be more than that. Be sure to sign up for the shuttle and get the card to make sure to get the earliest time. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was smooth sailing during your sta at the Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown. I hope you enjoyed your cruise with the family and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,


Peggy JImenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My mom and I visited Miami this weekend. We stayed on the 10th floor. The hotel is in an excellent location, only 4 blocks from Bayside Marketplace, 5 blocks from American Airlines Arena. There are multiple restaurants and pharmacies near the hotel. The shops on Flager St have good stuff at very good prices. You can walk three blocks from the hotel (Byscane Blvd) and take the S bus to South Beach. The hotel front desk personnel is a bit rude and not very helpful. Their attitude can be improved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was great with your accommodations and location of the hotel. I wan't to advise that we are definatley dissapointed that you did not feel welcome by our staff, I can assure you that we take great pride in having our guest feel at home. We will take this opportunity to address your concerns with our staff. Please give us the oppotunity to welcome you once again to the Courtyard Marriott Miami Downtown on your next trip to Miami to experience a friendly and welcoming staff!

Warm Regards,


Peggy Jimenez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Navy Afloat
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you are visiting Miami for the Marathon weekend......this property is conveniently located near the Bayside/Bayfront area - easy walk to/from the race.

The hotel is an older property - but very nice. We arrived from JAX early (10:45am) and was able to get our room....that early. Front desk staff very nice and accommodating. Rooms are a bit dated......and our room (Room 1122) smelled horrible (mold smell) - but, I didn't complain due to the property being full for the marathon (but the odor was miserable). The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fine.

Pool area was outside on the 7th floor and very nice. Fitness equipment was very modern.

For the price and location - if you spending your time out in town....this is the place (not much to do at the hotel itself nor right nearby). Metro and MetroMover are very close and hotel is just off the freeway (but no noise in room...windows are thick). Parking fee is reasonable for a Downtown property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJimenez305, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown. The staff enjoys being a headquarter hotel for the ING Miami Half Marathon & Full Marathon. We look forward to welcoming you next year for the race.

Warm Regards,


Peggy Jimenez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniondale, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visit Miami every year and decided for the first time to stay in downtown Miami instead of south beach back in June of 2012. Upon arriving, I noticed the hotel was in a good location and I was greeted very friendly by the staff. I enjoyed the room and the breakfast every morning made my day. The only bad thing was my head stand on the bed kept banging due to construction next door, but other than that I loved the pool and had an amazing time! My Marriott employee discount really paid off for this excellent hotel!

Room Tip: great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Found this place after fleeing from the River Park Hotel Suites next door. That place had bed bugs. The Courtyard had rooms available and accommodated me late at night. The place was reasonable and clean!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#38 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#49 of 115 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#36 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.