We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a night before a cruise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #38 of 113 Hotels in Miami
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“ok for a night before a cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A pretty typical Courtyard by Marriott. conveniently situated for the downtown area of Miami. Excellent and courteous check-in. We had booked a suite which was on the 9th floor. As there was a lot of noise from other room doors banging at least we had the cushion of a lounge between the bedroom and our door.
The breakfast bar (run by starbucks) could be described as adequate.
Generally ok, but i think we might pick an alternative hotel on our next Miami visit.

Room Tip: if you want a quieter night - maybe book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    384
    143
    45
    16
See reviews for
250
205
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Was in Miami for the Orange Bowl and I used rewards points to stay at this hotel. Location was perfect for driving around the area and I appreciated the free happy hour and breakfast while the hotel is under renovation. However, the hotel just lacked the attention to detail that you expect from a Marriott property.
Pool was dirty and cold. Hotel had no beer to purchase on New Year's Eve or New Year's Day. Room smelled like a dirty sock. The door from our floor (third) to the parking garage would not close properly, thus giving access to anyone not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

OK for a night. Very close to convention center. Not much of a view on the back side. Parking is $15. The internet was crawling on the night we were there (wifi was working, but there was a bottleneck somewhere as it affected different devices equally). Good sized pool, but no view. Decent value from a discount site.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We really liked staying there..good location...very good room, massive size..nice view..just shame breakfast not included..staff helpful..very nice experience..
the area is very nice everything is just there..we just did not like Miami very much and we would advice you to visit the Keys and the Bahamas ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went with my mother after booking throug Despegar.com. They gave us a bedroom with a kingsize bed for they said they didin't habe a double one as I had already booked and payed for.We stayed for we were pretty tired. The rooms are spacious and good. Bathrooms good also. At the front desk nobody cares about you. No recommendations, no help. Its restaurant has a good service but they serve onle some fast food . Don´t expect a good restaurant. Service here very good.
When we left I talked to the luggage boy Rudy for some items I had ordered online had not arrived yet. I told him i was going to look for them 5 days later. What a surprise when I came back they told me several times nothing had arrived. After talking to some manager, nobody kind, they realised they had kept them under my second name and thats why in a very bad mood ?i even was a little afraid¡ they gave my 4 packages back. I could not believe I was in a Marriot Hotel!!!!!!!!!II felt discriminated for being 2 women. We received very bad tratment in a very loud voice from these BIG GUYS I toldall this to another that had been kind before and pretended not to be listening too, and he said . Well madam , what can I do, theyre my friends.
I would certainly return there with my husbund or son!!!!!!!!! The location is very good for business and Shopping

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I read the reviews and as my husband being a Marriott Rewards Gold member we booked this place with a free night certificate we had before heading out to the port for our cruise the following day.

While the resort is going through some remodeling it did not interfere with our stay. However, the beds were very uncomfortable and old...my husband regularly stays in Courtyards and he said the beds were terrible compared to the other Courtyards he frequents for business. The service is also lacking. We had to call three separate times to get a crib delivered to our room which made us have to delay putting down our very tired tot. Being a gold member you think they would of gotten right on it, I can only imagine how they treat their regular guests! I'd skip this one...you can do better I am sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel wasn't bad for a one night stay before departing for a cruise but I wouldn't recommend it as part of a long term stay or vacation. The lobby is very nice however the "renovated" rooms still leave much to be desired. Staff was very nice and helpful and the free breakfast buffet was also a nice treat since we were woken up by the construction crew at 7 am!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#37 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#49 of 113 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
#38 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.