We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Night Review of hotel room, snack bar service, bayside area, and transportation from Fort Lauderdale Airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #42 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Christmas Night Review of hotel room, snack bar service, bayside area, and transportation from Fort Lauderdale Airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We arrived on Christmas day about 7pm and was surprised to see the hotel with so many people. However, with it's close proximity to the port of Miami and so many people leaving on cruises the next day (including us) it was a hopping place.

The downstairs reception was very friendly and helped us find our way to Bayside which was only 3 blocks east and 3 blocks north and was VERY surprised at the amount of shops and restaurants that were open on Christmas night. The walk is in a downtown area but seemed perfectly safe and there were a lot of people out. The whole Bayside area appeared open and as busy as any Saturday night. (And Christmas was on a Sunday this year) We enjoyed an outside Italian dinner on the bay overlooking all of the yachts.
Our room had some renovation to it but obviously it was still an old building with popcorn ceilings. For one night it was perfectly fine. We had a suite that had a bedroom with a king bed and a sitting area seperate with a pull out couch and sink/fridge etc. We didn't really need that but had to choose that to have a second bed for our child. It felt like an old room with new things in it.
The bar/snack area was a little bit unusual and the service was lacking. We actually sat at the bar and drank a beer and drank slowly and never was asked if we wanted another. Finally, we did get the attention of the server and ordered again. The same place was open for breakfast and we had already checked out and wanted to pay cash form some coffee and they said they couldn't take cash.
Transportation from Ft. Lauderdale: We arrived at the Fort Lauderdale Airport at 4:40pm on Christmas night and were able to take public transportation all the way to the hotel.
First we took the Tri Rail from Fort lauderdale to Miami and got very lucky to make the last train at 5:03pm. We wouldn't have made the shuttle if we had checked our bags! The schedule said there would be a 7:03 train also but arriving at the station found out that the last train had been canceled for the day due to the holiday. We actually arrived at the station about 5:03 bought our tickets and waited about 10 minutes and the train arrived. Overall felt very lucky as we were unsure of transportation options on a Sunday Christmas evening.
We took the Tri Rail to the Metrorail transfer and then took Metrorail to Government Center. At times the Metrorail didn't feel very safe and on a future visit I would most likely make a different arrangement for transportation. At the Government Center we transferred over to the Metro Mover and had to use the elevator due to our suitcases and found it soiled with urine. We also wanted the Omni loop and somehow got on the Brickell loop. Luckily we recognized our error and were able to get off and go in the opposite direction and still get off at Knight Center Station. Once at Knight Center Station we exited the building and it was less than a block walk to the hotel. Overall I would do the mass transit option again if I felt the Metrorail section could be safe. Maybe it was just because it was evening on a holiday. Overall this route only cost us $7 per person. $5 for the Tri Rail and $2 for the Metrorail and then because we had been on Metrorail the Metro Mover was free.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    304
    108
    40
    10
See reviews for
189
163
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of the city which gives it a great view, and with a great location! You have a wide variety of places to eat at, a couple of grocery stores, and the Bayside Mall with a lot of stores to go shopping at. The stuff is very friendly and the rooms very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We only stayed one night because we were passing through and this hotel served that purpose just fine. The best part of the stay was the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk and bar. Also, the bayside mall with tons of shopping, waterfront restaurants and night life was a short walk away, that was nice. You can tell there has been some limited upgrading, but the hallways and guest rooms still look outdated, this hotel needs an overhaul. We had a suite and the layout was a little weird. But it was clean and everything worked, so whatever.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Not the best location since it[s somehow dark by night and not very safe. The Hotel is OK with and average service and standard Marriott rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Perfectly acceptable for a 1 night stay when having business in the area. Would certainly stay here again if the price was right. Friendly staff was helpful with questions and advice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel has clearly been upgraded in the past few years (i.e. - lobby, restaurant area), but where the ownership decided not to upgrade, it is quite obvious (i.e. - room product). Comparing this to new construction Courtyards certainly dates the hotel and the hotel lacks the pop and wow factor that I have come to expect at newer Courtyards. That said, great location and easy to get around to downtown Miami and Miami beach from here, which makes the location factor very valuable. Overall, it was an average Courtyard. Not great, and certainly not terrible.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here one night before leaving on a cruise. We didn't explore the neighborhood because we were only there one night and were tired from traveling most of the day. Check-in was efficient, our room was very clean, comfortable bed, plenty of nice big towels. The only minus was no magnifying/make-up mirror in the bathroom. Since we arrived in the evening, we ate dinner in the hotel's bistro restaurant, where we also ate breakfast the next morning. The food was very good, we weren't expecting gourmet, so we were satisfied. The concierge told us about the shuttle to the pier, which is a really good bargain--$5 a person!! The driver was polite and helpful and the van was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there if I cruise out of Miami again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown

Address: 200 SE Second Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Downtown
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.