We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, adequately comfortable, but a few quirks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami International Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Miami International Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miami International Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N.W. 20th Street & LeJeune Road, Inside MIA Concourse E, Miami, FL 33299-7510   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, adequately comfortable, but a few quirks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thanks to a aircraft mechanical problem I missed a connection in Miami and needed a place to layover for twenty four hours. I wanted something in the airport and, after looking at reviews here, decided to give the Miami International Airport Hotel a chance.

Overall my room was comfortable and spacious, largely because I was lucky enough to get one at the corner. There was clear evidence of the recent hotel remodel in my room including nice tile and fixtures in the bathroom, good king size bed, comfortable chairs, and fairly modern lamps. Perhaps because it was at the corner, I had no problem with noise from the hotel hallway or the airport, which I could see out my room window. The room met my other basic tests -- ample electrical outlets, hot shower with plenty of water pressure, and excellent air conditioning. Overall I was satisfied and would certainly stay at the hotel again if I'm ever in need of a place to shower and sleep at the Miami airport.

I had few interactions with the staff but they all seemed pleasant enough and certainly attentive (though not chatty).

Several things about the room were odd, though. There was a desk, but it was in use as a TV stand and there was no desk chair. I ended up using a side chair and ottoman as my work area. There was no bureau or place to store clothing, though there was a clothes rack mounted on the wall and a large suitcase stand built in below. The hotel doesn't have its own wifi, so guests need to connect to internet services provided by the airport next door. In my case this was a major problem as the connection dropped and reconnected at least every five minutes, making it difficult to work and impossible to use the internet for voice services (which means I couldn't call into an important remote meeting over the internet, a common travel need for me). One odd benefit of using airport wifi in the room is that the 24 hours you purchase (for a delightfully low $8) also cover any access you may need/want in the airport proper, and I found the signal is much better in the airport itself.

There also didn't appear to be room service. The hotel has its own restaurant, which I used for breakfast and found the service attentive and the food good, basic fare. (The breakfast menu has three items -- eggs/meat/potatoes, fruit plate, or oatmeal.) Happily breakfast was included in my room rate. Other food options exist, however, as just outside the hotel lobby is a concourse area with food court containing a number of fast food choices.

I should note that finding the hotel was quite difficult. The hotel web site only mentions that it is on the second level of the E terminal. There are no helpful signs in the airport to point you to the hotel and it does not show on any of the airport maps located along the concourse. I had to call the hotel twice from within the airport to get guidance as to how to find it. (Hint: It is located just outside the Terminal E security checkpoint, on the departure level.) If you are like me and arrive somewhere in Terminal D you need to plan ahead so you can figure out how to find the hotel.

Overall, though, the inconveniences and missing features were relatively minor (except perhaps the Internet) and I would consider staying here again if similar circumstances arose.

Room Tip: I was in a corner room (#600) which was roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    264
    392
    209
    160
See reviews for
276
324
163
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I missed a flight in Miami and needed a convenient place to stay as I needed to check-in by 4:30 am for my flight the next morning. The room was tiny, like a closet and the bed was also tiny. The tiny mattress was horrible also as it was lopsided and I was almost falling off. The worst part though was that at 4:30 in the morning I was waiting 10 minutes for the elevator (not exactly rush hour), and finally I called the front desk where I was told matter of factly that the elevators weren't working right and she would send one up to me. That took another 5 minutes. I would think in an airport hotel where most people have to catch a flight if thee was a problem with the elevator, there should be a sign or something to let people know they had to call and have one sent up. I almost missed my flight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was left stranded in miami after missing a connecting flight so checked myself in the nearest airport hotel which was the miami international .. I paid £110 for one night stay (actually for 7 hour hours as i had an early morning flight) which I thought was very expensive!!! But I was very tired and did not fancy spending the night in a airport chair.....
I was given an ensuite double bedroom with a view of a construction site. Most of the room space was taken by the bed with little room to walk around the bed...... the bedsheets appeared laundried but were stained... the bathroom was of modest size and clean... there was space next to the bathroom to accommodate my large traveling suitcases.... Overall a good place to crash in between flights, does the job, but is overpriced and not that clean....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed on my own in a queen bed which was adequate. If 2 people had been there one would have to climb over other to get into bed as it was flush to the wall. Not much room however it was clean and did the job for one night.
Eating facilities was best going into the terminal concourse

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were in the process of moving out of the country with a lot of luggage and two cats. For that purpose, this hotel was perfect. I would not recommend this hotel unless it is for its proximity to Concourse E and Miami International Airport. Construction of an 8th floor could be heard on the 3rd floor until about 9 PM. Also, eating facilities are at a minimum unless you leave the airport.

Room Tip: If you book directly with them online, you get breakfast free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for a short layover during the day. Noise outside room disturbed sleep. Room was clean but small (no desk), no free wifi but cost for 24hrs was only about $8. Restaurant was ok but devoid of any atmosphere even though it has great views over the airport apron. Very convenient location at Terminal D.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

American Airlines stranded me in Miami (my flight was still on the ground but they would not let me board...), so I checked into this hotel because it is in the airport.
The hall ways and the rooms have been sprayed with way too much scent.
When i took the bedspread off the bed, a full size shampoo bottle fell onto the floor. Fairly gross.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami International Airport Hotel

Address: N.W. 20th Street & LeJeune Road, Inside MIA Concourse E, Miami, FL 33299-7510
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami International Airport Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenientely located inside the Miami International Airport, Concourse E (Departure Level). Features 259 sound-proof rooms, Top of the Port Restaurant open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.Day Use Rooms subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Miami International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Airport
Miami Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami International Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.