We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dump. (NOT worth $160/night)” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7401 North West 36th St, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #68 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Dump. (NOT worth $160/night)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Allow me to get the good out of the way:

There is a free airport shuttle and our driver was excellent- very courteous and polite. (That's all for the good.)

After a delightful cruise aboard the Royal Caribbean, we decided to get a hotel overnight as our flight was changed for a 615a departure the following day. We called numerous hotels near the airport (and even the hotel inside of MIA) only to be told there were no vacancies due to the occurrence of the Miami Grand Auto Show. A quick search online gave us the number to LaQuinta Inn Miami Airport North. The clerk told us there was only one double occupancy room left so we quickly made the reservation. She also was quick to dispatch the shuttle (as we was currently en route to drop off guests).

We were given room 233 upon check-in. The clerk advised that we come downstairs the next morning and she would immediately hail the shuttle to take us to the airport. We walked past the pool and up the stairs (as all of the rooms are outside and the elevator was farther than our room) to get to our room. There was a weird smell when we opened the door, but we couldn't tell if it was mold, mildew, or cleaning solutions. The carpet was also stained throughout the room. Nonetheless, we dropped our bags and headed back to find something to eat. [FYI: there is a Wendy's, McDonald's, and a strip mall with both Peruvian and Chinese restaurants.] After eating we came back to the room and that's when we saw the disaster for what it was. I went into the bathroom and pulled back the shower curtain to reveal the filthiest tub I've ever seen at a hotel. (Note: we showered in our flip flops.) The bathroom was just a mess-- even the toilet paper had green mold on it. (Luckily there was an unopened roll behind the toilet.) While I was in the bathroom, I heard a shriek. My cousin pulled back the covers to take a nap and there were black flecks all over the sheets. I told her to move over to my bed and we'd just sleep on top of the covers (and on top of the unused towels). In the midst of picking up our bags and moving them to higher ground (as the floor and bed could no longer be trusted) we noticed little ants creeping along the corners of the nightstand [some of which appeared to fly]. I was enraged with the conditions. I called downstairs to tell them of our horrors and the clerk was very nonchalant about the entire thing. She offered no apologies but did offer to move us the following night. I reminded her that this was only an overnight stay. She then had the bright idea (sarcasm) to send up another hotel employee with bug spray. I told her that was not the best idea as we'd be left to inhale the fumes. About 10min after I hung up, we heard a knock on the door. It was a male employee holding a can of spray. I grabbed the spray and I quickly noticed that is was an odor eliminator. I asked the employee the purpose of the spray and he stated, "it works for everything." I declined his offer and shut the door. We slept in the fetal position on top of the bedspread and towels that night- the most uncomfortable ever.

The next morning, we ran downstairs to check-out and catch the shuttle as we were all to anxious to leave the hotel. We asked the clerk to dispatch the shuttle and she told us that we would have to wait until 6a. When we told her the info we had been given the previous afternoon, she informed us that the shuttle only runs every hour on the hour. (The time was 5:04a, meaning we had just missed the 5a shuttle.) We told her of our flight time (615a) and she looked at us dazed and confused. We then asked her to hail a cab, which came quickly, and we were on our way.

This was my first (and definitely my last) stay at a La Quinta property. I went onto the company's Facebook page to express my disappointment and I am still awaiting a response from corporate. I didn't expect Waldorf-type conditions for $180/night (with taxes and fees) but I did not expect to stay at Chilligan's Island either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    203
    212
    93
    77
See reviews for
241
153
65
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at La Quinta Miami Airport North because they have a 24hr free airport shuttle and because it is close to a lot of restaurant's..
I was picked up within 15 min's after getting my bags.
I grabbed some take out for the near by Hong Kong city restaurant, that too was fast and easy, food was great the beds are great.
My ride back to the airport was fast and I made my flight on time Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight transfer through Miami Airport. The hotel is near the airport with a free shuttle, although it is a bit further from the airport than other hotels, Our room was nice and clean. The A/C was a little noisy, but it was basically white noise that helped drown out any noise from the airport across the street. There are a few places to eat within walking distance - a McDonald's, Denny's, and a small shopping center next door with several small Latin/South American restaurants.

There was a continental breakfast included, however it was very crowded in the morning. The food was adequate - toast, packaged muffins, bagels, cereal, apples, oranges, juice & coffee. With the crowd it was a little difficult maneuvering between the toaster, coffee & tables.

Depending upon the rate you get, I would recommend the hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A basic hotel that has great staff, clean rooms, but dirty stairwells. Breakfast was basic, but fine. Convenient to airport. I prefer fresh air over air conditioning, but that was not an option. I like the ease of transportation offered from Hotel to Airport every 300 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good airport hotel .. 10 minutes from airport with free shuttle. Nice big room, helpful staff, close to many dining options, seems to be bus stop just outside . Good variety for free breakfast.
May need to ring for shuttle to come to airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

First and foremost ....the Staff there....THEY ARE SUPER FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL OMG you cannot ask for better staff....I do think that they were a bit understaff during my stay ....but they are wonderful people.

Me, my husband and 16 month old son stayed there for a period of 9 days...the location is great....close to a number of resturants.....close to the airport....to bus stops.....to walmart...to malls ...it was a great stay.

I'll stay there again....the only down thing is the floors in the rooms needs an update/ renewal..the carpet has a smell attached to it and the bathrrom floors needs a proper scrub. Also aprt from the breakfast that needs to be spruced up a little ....one morning we arrived for bfast at 830 and of course like any other morning had to wait for a table by 8 45 we were seated and the woman who was serving bfast had stopped refilling the trays and baskets with bread and fruit ....and everything else...If breakfast is served from 6 to 9 then the trays should stop being refilled at 9 between my husband , me and my son who has a very healthy appetite we were left with 4 pcs of bread . There were others who came after us but before the 9 am and got nothing....This should be looked into.

Other than that our stay was great.....Front desk staff made it this way!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 140 and it was good ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport West
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs / Miami International Airport
2.2 mi away
Clarion Inn  & Suites Miami Airport
4.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North

Address: 7401 North West 36th St, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Miami Airport North Hotel Miami
Miami La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.