We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good only for business trips.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7401 North West 36th St, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Nassau, New Providence Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good only for business trips.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stay at La Quinta because of the "drive up to your room" feature. The rooms are very average. Over the last few years the beds have become smaller and harder. The bathrooms need to be fully renovated. The best thing there was the tv. Mc Donalds and Denny's are close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    162
    162
    71
    58
See reviews for
187
125
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overnighted in Miami, coming off a long-haul flight to catch final flight home the following day. Had asked the person making the bookings to find us an airport hotel with a shuttle so that coming off the late-evening flight we could just head straight to sleep with no worries in between.

Unfortunately the first sour note was that we saw every other hotel shuttle but our own. Once we started seeing other shuttles appear twice, we called the hotel which told us that we have to call (we didn't know this), so that they'll send the shuttle, which duly appeared 23 minutes later, picking us up along with a couple and a guy who had no reservations. The driver had an abrupt attitude, which caused me to remember that not all hospitality workers are necessarily hospitable.

When we went to check in, we had to wait behind the guy with no reservation, but were checked in eventually. On complaining about the driver, we were told (by way of response) that there's free wifi and breakfast and given a 'room close by' which turned out to be on third floor, and close indeed, if you didn't count the very distant elevator.

The room itself was as basic as La Quinta rooms always are. The gym locker odor, however, was a new feature which I would not recommend. The mildewed grouting, temperamental faucets, ancient showerhead and almost-white towels were noteworthy for someone who had been looking forward to a shower after several hours in the air and in airports.

In short, while I will not condemn the La Quinta brand, as I have had very pleasant short-stay experiences at other properties, I think it would be strategically appropriate for them to have this one torn down and at least one driver retrained in hospitality before being redeployed on other unsuspecting guests elsewhere.

Room Tip: Suggest you find a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great for business travel
Close to everything and fast to airport! Hotel looks like they modernized everything including rooms
Breakfast was ok but for the value was reasoanable
Overall I was happy
McDonald's and restaurants very close by at walking distance
Palmetto expressway was right next door and close to paintball place called action town that was also great for kids and corporate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Close to the airport, Staff are very friendly especially Ana at the front desk. Beds are comfy and rooms are very clean. A little noisy from being close to airport, Shuttle does not run exactly as they say, had to wait 2 hrs to be picked up from airport, but besides that i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Main observation, this is a parking lot where you stay the night before you go out on your cruise. It serves that purpose at a reasonable (not bargain) price.
An efficient check in process and helpful desk people. The facility is a motel style, not a hotel style. The rooms were clean if a little dated. Since the hotel is in an older area and directly on the landing path into the airport the outside walls are a bit dirty but that is to be expected.
A couple of helpful hints. Stay in the rear facing rooms or you will hear the landing planes continuously. There are several restaurants nearby that you can walk to for breakfast or lunch. If dinner time, keep an eye out, not the best area.
Speaking of breakfast, the one offered had to be in all honesty the worst I have ever seen. It offered some pre-packaged muffins (two choices), some machine based coffee (pretty sure it was safe to drink if awful but I would not bet the farm on it), thyer OJ was out the whole time as were the English muffins. I have been at many express type breakfasts but this was I’m sorry to say well below even that limited standard.

Room Tip: stay in the rear facing Telmundo or you will hear the planes landing every few minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North

Address: 7401 North West 36th St, Miami, FL 33166
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Miami Airport North Hotel Miami
Miami La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Miami Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.