We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #58 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for our connection the next day and the hotel is Ok, the room was in excellent conditions but the bathroom can use some renovations it looked outdated, also like the common areas, for a hotel that size only I think it needs another elevator. The staff is very friendly and guide you with the options around the area to dine. It offers a shuttle service to the airport if needed. The breakfast offer is good like any other hotel in the same category. It was a good stay for the price paid.

Room Tip: High Floor, far from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jaimeborjas,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral with the Tripadvisor viewers. I was happy to read that you found our hotel to be very clean and that our hotel's staff and service met your expectations. I have made a note of the concerns you have mentioned in your review so that I may discuss with upper management. Thank you for your honest feedback and we hope to have a chance of welcoming you once again.

Sincerely,

Kenneth Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    161
    82
    24
    16
See reviews for
149
91
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arkansastraveler74
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Average hotel close to the airport. The rooms were average sized. Has a mini fridge in the rooms. Small parking lot. Breakfast was decent. Has a blow dryer on the wall and shampoo/conditioner is provide.

Overall, reasonably priced average room.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear arkansastraveler74,
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. Your feedback is valuable and we shared your experience with our staff. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again and demonstrate first hand our improvements. Please contact me if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Kenneth Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The stay we had here was unbelievably bad. No hot water in the entire hotel and we were not informed of this problem when we checked in at 6 pm. We called several times that night and were told it was throughout the hotel but that it would be fixed in 1/2 hour. Each time we called, same story, never an explanation or apology given.
When we checked out the next day at 5 am, there still was no hot water. The water that did come out of the faucets now had a terrible odor, so much so that I could not wash my face in it and it was now undrinkable as well as being cold.

The room was very damp, funky odor coming from the air conditioning unit, dusty, black mold in the corner of the bathtub, filthy carpeting, and there was even a black hair inside the dirty refrigerator.

The shuttle they advertise (and breakfast), does not begin running until 6 am so anyone with a flight leaving before 8:30 or 9:30 am is out of luck and a taxi to the airport is $25.

The amount of money paid for this pathetic establishment through Hotwire, came to over $146+ including taxes.



Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear travel627,

First and foremost thank you for the candid evaluation of your recent stay at our Hotel and my sincerest apologies for the inconvenient experience. As you can see from our many positive reviews, this is uncharacteristic for our Hotel and our staff. We are known for our helpful and friendly employees. As a company, our commitment to guest satisfaction is one of the core values of our Management Company and we will take action to make sure this is not repeated. As per our conversation in the phone I explained to you that we did indeed lose hot water in the whole hotel due to a thermostat issue, in which we had a member of our maintenance department try to repair this issue at that very moment but wasn't successful due to a broken part. The part that had broken from the boiler had to be purchased the following day and the boiler was fixed on 01/07/2015. As mentioned previously this is a VERY RARE occasion and our maintenance team keeps a well preventative maintenance program in effect to avoid this happening to our equipment and provide our guest with as great quality product. I'm also glad to inform you that you were compensated with a free night for this inconvenience and we already notified Hotwire of this incident. Our associate wasn't able to assist you at that given time with the compensation due to it being a pre paid reservation. I do appreciate you letting me know and bringing it to your attention by calling me the following day. On behalf of our Owners and Associates, please accept my sincere apology.

Sincerely,

Kenneth Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked this hotel through Expedia for 2 nights – 30th December 2014 to 1st January 2015 for family stay.

The Hotel is centrally located and is very convenient for leisure and business travelers.

The Hotel offers free high-speed wireless Internet access and it really is easy to connect and fast.

Breakfast served is good for the beginning of the day. Although it was informed while booking on Expedia that Breakfast was not included, but the receptionist at the time of check-in confirmed to us that it was included .

Hotel is neat and clean, service is good, response at reception for any questions is positive. Rooms are also clean.

Decoration for Christmas was good near reception but there were nothing attractive for the New Year.

There is no sufficient parking in the parking lot for the number of Cars expected on the bases of hotel occupancy.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear SadhanaRakesh,
First and foremost Happy New Year!!! Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the service you received at the Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral Area. Our staff strives to provide exceptional service to all of our guests and I'm great to hear the positive comments you mentioned. We will look into our area of opportunity in reference to the parking spots and address this to my owners. We hope that our Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral Area will be your first choice when traveling again to the area.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Kenneth Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night with my brother before a cruise. The shuttle service should be improved since there's so many people using it.
But it was ok in the end, continental breakfast was ok too.
Free wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear cmcs_frozenmoments,
We want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with our shuttle service as we will definitely look into ways we can better this service.Unfortunately you were here just one night, we hope next time you can stay with us longer to enjoy our signature breakfast with our complimentary Wi-Fi and improved shuttle service availability..

Kind regards,

Kenneth Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called to get a room and leave our car for a week while vacationing but we were able to book it through a third party for $40 less. I don't understand why as we are IHG Members???

We got to the hotel and found the room reeked of disinfectant. It was irritating our eyes and throats so we opened the window and went to eat so the room could air out. We were speculating why they would need to use so much cleanser in the room and we were hoping it was not because a forensic clean-up crew had been there to remove a body from a crime scene. We returned to find the smell of cleanser to be replaced by what smelled like a wet cat. Whatever happened in that room we decided we didn't want to know.

Then started the pounding beat of the bass from the live band at the club next door. Thankfully it only lasted until the club closed whereas the wet cat odor remained.

It made the body hair in the tub from the previous occupant almost seem "not too bad."

We stay in a lot of Holiday Inn Express Hotels and this one holds the record for being the worst.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
GeoAdventurer,
Thank you for coming and staying with us and telling us about your stay. I sincerely apologize that the expectations were not fully met on our end. I found out after you left that your room had an odor to it. The room has been put out of service and treated appropriately. The odor you experienced was a wet carpet smell due to a leaking AC unit that wasn't reported from our end. We only want the best condition of rooms for our guests. Our staff could have moved you to a better room if notified. Please know we have used this feedback as an opportunity to grow & improve. In regards to the rate found cheaper through a third party please give us a call next time as offer a best price guarantee policy. I will also look into the sound experienced late at night as we don't have any club in the area that could cause that. I do hope that if you are headed our way again, you would consider giving us the opportunity to continue to earn your business.

Thank You,

Kenneth Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Stayed here the night before our cruise because they offered free parking. They offer a cruise shuttle for 12.00 a person one way which left at noon. They offered a return shuttle again on return for 12.00 a person but that left the port at 9:30 am. That couldn't work for us since we seldom leave a ship before 10 am. The hotel itself was nice and the help was very friendly. The place itself was very clean and in a safe location. The free breakfast was okay but we only had cereal the hot items did not look very good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Dear larry51347,

Thank you for your comments, and for taking time to rate our services.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. In regards to the return shuttle service from the cruise port I will speak with our provider and possibly seek a secondary pick up time.All other of your remarks will be sent directly to the concerned department and the Management Team. Anyway, we hope that had a fun time on your cruise and thank you for your loyalty to our brand. We hope you'll choose Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral during your next Miami adventure.Thanks again, and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Kennneth Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral

Address: 8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral is now open. The Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral is a homey, boutique property, conveniently located just minutes from Miami International Airport and the Port of Miami. Other notable attractions nearby include the Miami Children's Museum, Dolphin Stadium and the Doral Golf Resort & Spa. Both Parrot Jungle Island theme park and the Miami Seaquarium provide fun and entertainment for the entire family. World-renowned South Beach offers more than just white, sandy beaches. The area boasts colorful art-deco buildings, lively nightclubs, outdoor cafés, and countless people and vehicles cruising along Ocean Drive. The nearby neighborhood of Coconut Grove boasts an abundance of culture, arts, entertainment, unique shops and a variety of great dining options. Miami International Mall and Dolphin Mall offer fabulous shopping opportunities in the area. South Beach, Miami and the surrounding vicinity are home to a diverse selection of restaurants and cocktail lounges, including several near the hotel. During your stay, enjoy a robust, free Express Start breakfast bar with signature cinnamon rolls, eggs and bacon! This Miami, FL hotel offers packages that include daily transfers to the Port of Miami. Please contact the hotel directly to arrange all transportation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area Hotel Miami
Miami Holiday Inn Express
Miami Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.