We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but too far from Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #55 of 129 Hotels in Miami
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel but too far from Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed one night, a stopover booked for us on our way to Central America. We hoped to get the hotel shuttle but unlike the other Holiday inn hotels in the area it does not collect regularly but only on request. We found no information point or public telephones at the airport and so after waiting hopefully for an hour we went by taxi. The 6 mile journey was slow because of roadworks and traffic. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the room was a liitle tired but OK. There was no restaurant except for breakfast. It was quiet so we had a good nights sleep before returning to the Airport using the shuttle which was very efficient in that direction with a friendly helpful driver. We would recommend a taxi for travel to the hotel as even if the hotel was contacted it would take some time to get to the airport for pick up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Greetings mousebirdEngland,

We thank you for your kind words and recommendations for our future visitors. We are sorry to hear that you weren't able to experience our shuttle ride from the Miami International Airport to our property. I hope that our staff took of your needs upon arrival and made up for that lost time. We are glad to hear that we took advantage of our shuttle the following day. Remember our shuttles is complimentary and it is a ON CALL from the airport but we are going to look into ways to make it overall more convenient for you all. We arent the closes airport hotel but we strive to be the best and make every guest have a memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you once again. Thank you for your feedback and time.

Best Regards,

Kenneth C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    154
    76
    23
    15
See reviews for
143
87
26
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were given a room on the end of the corridor which was very big. It had a sofa and TV away from the sleeping side of the room which was great. Front desk service was excellent as was the breakfast. The aircon was a little noisier than I am used to but turning down the fan speed fixed this. As for the person who wrote that there weren't any window curtains, you obviously didn't look very hard!

Overall it was a very pleasant stay. Would stay again for certain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear 197travelbug,
On behalf of the hotel staff and myself I thank you for your feed back and glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to always provide our guest with the most comfortable stay possible. We are also overwhelmed to know that you enjoyed the luxury of our suite to the fullest. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

On arrival was greeted by a very warm welcome and checked in easily.I found the room to be very well furnished ,very clean and plenty of space and also a great view.The room had everything you need from storage space to an iron..

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Robin B,

First and foremost I thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor viewers. We are glad you found your room very comfortable and spacious. As we strive to provide all our guest a great room your reviews allow us to know that we are on the right path. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The room was of a good size, with a separate living room, but it lacked comfort. It was mostly furnished with very basic furniture and to my amazement didn't even have window curtains, so the morning came much quicker than expected. Overall it is centrally located and would be a good fit for quick close-to-airport stays.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is a very important factor in order to better our amenities for our guest in the future. We hope you find yourself at our property again next time you're in Miami so we can better accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We also sought out a hotel to leave the car while we went on a cruise. This was a great hotel for this, as they allowed the vehicle to stay after only one night of stay. The check in went great- or so we thought. They were friendly and fun. We paid for the shuttle to the pier the next day, they told us to be downstairs at a certain time the next morning and we double checked the time in the morning.
The room was okay. Nothing fancy, not dirty, plain. It is an older place, not updated. Breakfast was NOT anything special. We told them again at the desk that we were waiting for the shuttle, asking where to wait, etc-- and we waited, and waited, and checked at the desk again -and waited. After much time, we talked to a few others waiting and finally asked the desk workers to find out when the shuttle would come. We finally were told the shuttle came and went. The workers the night before did not sign any of us up on the 'shuttle list' and the shuttle came earlier than anticipated, etc etc. After a great deal of time and phone calls made by the staff, specifically James worked hard to find another shuttle for us, and gave us some refreshments for the wait. He found a shuttle, repaid us for the charges and said our return trip would also be paid. We made it to the boat on time- so he made it work. On the return trip- there was more confusion and a very long wait- but we did get back to our car, which was safe in the lot. James followed through with his promise and tried to fix the problem. Hope the hotel appreciates him, as he saved this review!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear daisy38344,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are truly delighted you found our staff highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced surrounding the shuttle service. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and comments. This feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofallon mo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Old disgusting rooms , no restaurant and would never stay again. The hotel is located in an industrial area and appeared very unsafe. If u are using the airport as a stopover bite the $ bullet and stay very close
It took the pick up shuttle 45 minutes and three phone calls to pick us up

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear binlady,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Living in Minnesota, we decided to take off for our cruise on Carnival Liberty a day early due to weather. Good call. We arrived on time at MIA. While collecting our luggage, I left our group to contact Holiday Inn Express for our shuttle pickup. Instructions to meet were clearly understood. We waited over an hour for the shuttle. The traffic in Miami is terrible at the time of day we arrived. Check in was quick and friendly. However, the elevator was down. Traveling with an 81 year old and having our own share of luggage proved to be exhausting. A tall, strong employee never as much as offered us help with our luggage. He passed us twice. Minor issue with our room was the lack of understanding we needed a roll a way. One was located, but when we entered our room, we had a hide a bed. Something I requested on the phone, but was told nothing like that was available. I quickly ran down to the front desk in hopes of stopping them from bringing us a roll a way. Got more bedding. Our need for transportation to the Port of Miami was quickly remedied by the staff. Arrangements made effortlessly. Our morning breakfast was perfect. The staff in the breakfast area were very friendly!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear FollysJourneys,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate facilities issues prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral

Address: 8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral is now open. The Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral is a homey, boutique property, conveniently located just minutes from Miami International Airport and the Port of Miami. Other notable attractions nearby include the Miami Children's Museum, Dolphin Stadium and the Doral Golf Resort & Spa. Both Parrot Jungle Island theme park and the Miami Seaquarium provide fun and entertainment for the entire family. World-renowned South Beach offers more than just white, sandy beaches. The area boasts colorful art-deco buildings, lively nightclubs, outdoor cafés, and countless people and vehicles cruising along Ocean Drive. The nearby neighborhood of Coconut Grove boasts an abundance of culture, arts, entertainment, unique shops and a variety of great dining options. Miami International Mall and Dolphin Mall offer fabulous shopping opportunities in the area. South Beach, Miami and the surrounding vicinity are home to a diverse selection of restaurants and cocktail lounges, including several near the hotel. During your stay, enjoy a robust, free Express Start breakfast bar with signature cinnamon rolls, eggs and bacon! This Miami, FL hotel offers packages that include daily transfers to the Port of Miami. Please contact the hotel directly to arrange all transportation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area Hotel Miami
Miami Holiday Inn Express
Miami Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.