We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Customer Service?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #48 of 129 hotels in Miami
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What Customer Service?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I chose this hotel for the name, the price and the convenience to the airport. The fact they had a shuttle to and from the airport was a deciding factor as well. We arrived at the airport and after retrieving our bags went to the curb to wait for the shuttle. After about 20 minutes, I called the hotel and they said they would send it right away and it should arrive in about 20 minutes. I told them EXACTLY where we were waiting and gave them my cell phone number. Forty five minutes later, we called again. "He will be there in 5 minutes". Twenty minutes later, another call....5 minutes.....my husband told them how long we had been waiting. They said the driver was at the airport and to watch for him. After another 20 minutes we took a cab (the hotel did pay the fare). My husband was VERY clear with them about how unhappy we were. There was NO apology. They did lower the price of the room and gave us two free bottles of water! I will not stay here again. This is NOT the way to treat customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
First and foremost we apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your visit at our property. I assure you this is a rare situation and we have taken the appropriate measures to prevent this from happening again. The truth behind this is that we had a sister property doing the pick-up/drop-off at the airport and unfortunately took longer than expected. Although we don't like to play the blame game this was the reason for our shuttle and miscommunication issue. After the delay we felt that a taxi would be the solution to the problem in which we paid for the fare. Once again on behalf of the property I apologize for the misunderstanding and hope you can give us a chance to make it up to you next time. Thank you for your feedback and time taken to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    145
    65
    22
    14
See reviews for
131
83
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Average hotel. Room and entrance were clean. Older hotel. Front desk clerk and staff were very courteous and personable. The shower had low water pressure, but water was hot. Breakfast was above average for a continental breakfast. We were picked up in a timely manner from the airport and the shuttle back to the airport was on time. The hotel was good for the 7 hour stay in Miami.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
As a valued customer, what you think is important to us. By giving us your feedback, you are helping us to understand what we do well, and what we need to focus on improving. We thank you for taking the time to let us know about your Miami experience. We are glad that the hotel met your expectations and those minor issue you had during your stay have already been take care of by our department staff.
Thank you once again for your feedback and wee look forward to seeing you on your next Miami visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were 4 grown ups: my wife, daugther and son and the room was very conformatable, with queen size beds. The hotel is clean, small and very close to the Miami Int. Airport. Breakfast was good, but the space gets very small for the amount of people that uses it. We stayed for two nights before taking to another city.
The hotel is near many restaurants and malls. Our room was quiet and everything worked perfectly. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for an economic and confortable room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
ON behalf of myself and the rest of our staff we thank you for your generous compliments. Your encouraging words will certainly help to strengthen the motivation of our staff. We look forward to your next Miami visit.Thank you once again for the feedback and for taking the time to let us know how we are doing to make you feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've been here a few times and staying here for a few days this week also. This place has always been consistent. Rooms are usually clean, public spaces are clean. Décor is appealing and the sundry shop is minimal but functional.

I would pick this location over the regular Holiday Inn two blocks up the road. Plenty of restaraunts nearby. The location is quieter, better visual appeal and Wi-Fi seems to actually work. My only issue if any is the parking. It can be a problem and you'll sometimes come out in the morning to find cars parked on the grassy areas and so close to your own car you can't even open a door. Spaces are VERY narrow.

Room Tip: Stay off floor 4. Half the rooms up there are smoking rooms but it stinks up the whole floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
First and foremost thank you for your loyalty in staying with nus and for giving us various opportunities to make you feel at home.We appreciate your input, and will follow up on the comments you mention regarding the parking.We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to your net visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute stay and couldn't have asked for better.
Carey was quite helpful at the front desk. We got into our room and it was very clean and spacious. Room had 2 beds and a pull out sofa bed. Along with a desk and wet bar. Very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Good Day,
On behalf of our staff and myself I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and share with the world your experience during your Miami visit. We are glad to know that we met your expectations and look forward to seeing you in your next Miami visit. all reviews are read and responded to assure that we see the goods and bad that we can improve on. Thank You once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Did the job when our flight arrived in Miami late at night and we didn't feel like driving to the Keys until the next morning. AC worked really well in the stifling Miami heat. Checkout was super fast, as the "express" implies.

Room Tip: We ended up being assigned the wheelchair-accessible room, which had a couple minor quirks if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are glad you took the time to share your experience with other regarding your recent stay in Miami.We also hope you had a great time in the Keys. We always strive to prove the best room and service in the industry and we are glad we meet your expectations. We hope to see you again for your next Miami visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The good.......
Excellent check in, rooms next to each other.
Rooms very good size and comfortable bed.
Holiday Inn with its own pool, gym, laundry and ice machine.
Free parking.

The bad................
Very noisy air con in our room, difficult to sleep with it on and too hot with it off.
Broken shower curtain rail in one room so curtain moved into the middle when showering soaking the bathroom.
Noisy guests allowed in the pool very late.
Inflexible check out - requested late check out as our plane was not due to leave until 9pm. Was told we would have to pay an extra night ( showing our room was free) but then told in the next breath hotel was full so we could not keep the room later ???

Room Tip: Do not have poolside view if guests are to be allowed in the pool very late
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear WAEAberdeen,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate tour nice comment regarding room size and bed.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the air conditioning, shower curtain and noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral

Address: 8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#43 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral is now open. The Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral is a homey, boutique property, conveniently located just minutes from Miami International Airport and the Port of Miami. Other notable attractions nearby include the Miami Children's Museum, Dolphin Stadium and the Doral Golf Resort & Spa. Both Parrot Jungle Island theme park and the Miami Seaquarium provide fun and entertainment for the entire family. World-renowned South Beach offers more than just white, sandy beaches. The area boasts colorful art-deco buildings, lively nightclubs, outdoor cafés, and countless people and vehicles cruising along Ocean Drive. The nearby neighborhood of Coconut Grove boasts an abundance of culture, arts, entertainment, unique shops and a variety of great dining options. Miami International Mall and Dolphin Mall offer fabulous shopping opportunities in the area. South Beach, Miami and the surrounding vicinity are home to a diverse selection of restaurants and cocktail lounges, including several near the hotel. During your stay, enjoy a robust, free Express Start breakfast bar with signature cinnamon rolls, eggs and bacon! This Miami, FL hotel offers packages that include daily transfers to the Port of Miami. Please contact the hotel directly to arrange all transportation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area Hotel Miami
Miami Holiday Inn Express
Miami Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.