We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money at Miami airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #49 of 131 hotels in Miami
Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Value for money at Miami airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

On late flight arrivals we like to book a nearby hotel and continue the journey next day. Priority is on location and value for money. Holyday Inn Express scores high on both. Clean rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast all adds up to a four star experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts on our property. We are glad to know that we are keeping the hotel brand up to standards and providing you the service you all deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    135
    63
    21
    13
See reviews for
110
74
23
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here before our cruise and it was very suitable. The courtesy shuttle picked us up from the airport, it runs once an hour so if you just miss it be prepared to wait. Their courtesy shuttle did not take us to the pier but they will set you up with a shuttle service for a reasonable fee. The staff were friendly and the room was alright. The breakfast buffet was okay, a bit expensive but there was no other option. The restaurant next door is not open for breakfast. We would stay there again if it was for a quick connection only.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are glad to hear your review on your recent stay. All reviews are read by the team and it shows us the strengths and weaknesses we have. I'm glad to inform you that we will do a modification for the shuttles to run ON CALL. That way guest don't wait as long. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked this property because of their stay & park deal while cruising. Check in was super fast, even with a full shuttle of folks just being dropped off in front of us from the airport. The morning shuttles to pier were full until afternoon so Kenneth took the time to secure a different company for us and several others that had expressed concern about the available time slots. Only $12 for shuttle and picked up promptly with no other stops except for different ships once we got to the pier. (took a cab back upon our return for speed & ease, that was $35 for two of us with luggage)

Room was clean, just be sure to bring ear plugs because there is a lot of traffic noise if your room is on the front side of property, and the air conditioner can't be left on and cuts on & off all night. Typical continental breakfast with very small space, so you'll likely have to grab something and take back to your room. Coffee wasn't bad either.

We found a good end parking spot we didn't want to loose so we asked about close by restaurants. Carino's is an Italian place just a few minutes walking distance that was perfect for dinner. I'll review it separately. We would stay here again for the same purpose.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
On behalf of our staff, I would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you found our hotel pleasant. We are pleased to know that the shuttle company was also a success and we hope you enjoyed your cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here before our cruise. We arrived in Miami in the evening, called hotel for shuttle pick up. Shuttle arrived shortly and we were on our way to the hotel. It was about a 15-20 minute ride from the airport to the hotel. Only 1 other family checking in at the same time so got right to our room. Room was nice and large. We had a king bed with a pull out for our son. Bathroom seperates the bedroom from the front room. We had to call the front desk and ask for sheets, pillows and blankets for the pull out but the were delivered in about 15 miuntes so not an issue. We did not want to walk anywhere to find something to eat so we asked at check in if they had any recommendations for dinner and they gave us 5-6 different menus for local delivery. We ended up just ordering pizza and it worked out great. Slept just fine then got up the following morning went down for breakfast. They were trying very hard to keep the breakfast buffet filled but there were a lot of people trying to eat . After breakfast we waited for the shuttle to the pier, Shuttle was an additional $12.00 per person. Not a fan of the shuttle service that they use. The driver was not too sure where he was going so we ended up backtracking to pick up more passengers at a different hotel then we headed on to the pier. For the price we will most likely look for a hotel closer to the pier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion and thoughts of your Miami visit. I would like to let you know that I have talked to our shuttle company and we have resolved the issue you mentioned. We would never want to have the guest wait as much to get to their destination. We thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next Miami visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this location on Feb 3 and on Feb 8-10. We had picked this hotel because of a free shuttle from / to airport. When we arrived at the airport we had to call the hotel and then the shuttle would pick us up. This worked out fine. The only negative is that the shuttle doesn't run 24 hours so we had to take a taxi to the airport since we had to be there by 5 am.

Room: the room is spacious. Nothing special. Our room was clean. The only thing we noticed is that one of the table lamps did not have a bulb in. Check in was fast. On Feb 8 we returned from a cruise and arrived at the hotel early. They had a room available and allowed us to check in and since our flight was cancelled for the next day they were able to extend our reservation.

Staff: The staff at the registration desk during the day were friendly and helpful. Fay, gave us ideas what to do since we were stranded for an extra day. She directed us to the bus stops and told us how to get to the Dolphin mall. We had noticed that there were day trips available, with hotel pickups, and she found out information and arranged for us to go on one. She even arranged for us to get a breakfast to go- cereal, milk and a breakfast bar. The one complaint I have is the young man that was working the desk at 5am on Feb 9th. We had been waiting for over a half hour for a bus to pick us up for the tour. When he was asked about checking with the company about where the bus was it seemed as if it was a bother to help us. He was not friendly and seemed that we were an inconvience to him.

Location: The hotel is close to the airport and that is about it. It is located in a business district so there are not many restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a Carino's about a 5 minute walk that is very good. Other resteraunts are more like a 15 minute walk minimum so if you don't have a car it is very limited on where you can go.

Breakfast: average contential breakfast.

The biggest complaint that I have and it is not the fault of the hotel is about the Super tours that they work with. The tour was misrepresented to us but I believe that was the fault of the tour company. Do not book a tour through the hotel with this tour company.

I think that if we went back to Miami I would consider spending more for a room and staying in an area that had more restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear falcon59,

Thank you for your detailed review and recent stay at our property. You have covered many aspects of your stay and I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us especially with the issues encountered with some of the staff and the tour experience. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Once again, many thanks for your review and I do apologize and regret that this impacted your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not quite what I was expecting, but did meet almost all my pre-search criteria for a place to stay overnight en route to the Caribbean. What I liked: free airport shuttle, wifi and decent breakfast, comfortable king-size bed. What I didn't like: no blackout curtain (!), hotel is showing some signs of age, and no food available the night we arrived. 10 PM on a Sunday, coming from west coast so it was our dinnertime: the only place open within walking distance (15 min) was the Hyatt, where a small lobby bar offers a limited menu. 2 or 3 other places closed at 10. Be aware the shuttle takes a good 20 min. to/from airport, more at rush hour. Call the desk when you arrive at the airport, and be sure to look for the correct Holiday Inn shuttle (HIE Doral).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
After further review we have assured that all the rooms have black out curtains and we do apologize for not having much dining options. i do want to inform you that we now have a new sports bar within walking distance that is open 7 days a week from 11am-2am. We hope you come by and give them a try. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Doral is 10-15min from the airport. Free parking and free shuttle service. Rooms are spacious, and have a strange layout where the entrance is through the bathroom. A simple but filling breakfast is included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressDoral, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
we are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and we were able to meet your needs. We apologize for our room layout and we will be working to fix that in the near future. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami
Miami Holiday Inn Express
Miami Clarion
Address: 8436 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#44 Business Hotel in Miami
#47 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Miami Doral is now open. The Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral is a homey, boutique property, conveniently located just minutes from Miami International Airport and the Port of Miami. Other notable attractions nearby include the Miami Children's Museum, Dolphin Stadium and the Doral Golf Resort & Spa. Both Parrot Jungle Island theme park and the Miami Seaquarium provide fun and entertainment for the entire family. World-renowned South Beach offers more than just white, sandy beaches. The area boasts colorful art-deco buildings, lively nightclubs, outdoor cafés, and countless people and vehicles cruising along Ocean Drive. The nearby neighborhood of Coconut Grove boasts an abundance of culture, arts, entertainment, unique shops and a variety of great dining options. Miami International Mall and Dolphin Mall offer fabulous shopping opportunities in the area. South Beach, Miami and the surrounding vicinity are home to a diverse selection of restaurants and cocktail lounges, including several near the hotel. During your stay, enjoy a robust, free Express Start breakfast bar with signature cinnamon rolls, eggs and bacon! This Miami, FL hotel offers packages that include daily transfers to the Port of Miami. Please contact the hotel directly to arrange all transportation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Miami Airport Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.