We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel quality everywhere in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #30 of 131 hotels in Miami
Bangor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sofitel quality everywhere in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Like all of the hotels in the Sofitel range, this is very very good! The beds are out of this world! The staff on reception were very good and they gave me an upgrade to a suite. The room was massive and the lobby and lounge in the hotel were classic Art Deco style. You get great value for money compared to the hotels on Ocean Drive or in the SOBE area but it is a bit of a short drive to get to the shops and the bars. Stay here for quality and check out any Sofitel hotel in the world if you are looking for something special!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    764
    822
    282
    121
    63
See reviews for
519
713
152
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

My wife and I are Miami locals and planned a weekend escape from the routine. We are really glad we chose The Sofitel. The service was perfect and the hotel is centrally located between Coral Gables, Coconut Grove and South Beach for a perfect 3 night stay. The lakeside pool with modern waterfall was an oasis, and the outside tables at the Hotel's restaurant "La Riviera" were just right for early dinners and late brunches. The room was impecable and so was the room service, but the personal touch that sealed the deal came from Andres (concierge) and Franceina's contagious smile and professionalism at the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Modern, chic, clean, comfortable, friendly staff, close to airport, not near night life and south beach, though Coral Gables isnt too far away. Pricey menu. Great place for a romantic getaway with your lady. Everything was great, but housekeeping forgot to clean our room after first night. They brought towels after we requested them.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel the night before a cruise, and also rented a day room to use between disembarkation and our late afternoon flight home. The day rate is about $80.00, similar to the price of using the airline's private lounge, but a much more comfortable way to spend several hours! The hotel is literally right across the road from the airport and has a shuttle service to both the airport and the pier. It's about a 4 block walk to a shopping center so it's easy to pick up last minute items like sun tan lotion and disposable cameras. We had excellent meals in the restaurant at both dinner and breakfast. The area around the pool is very pleasant and includes a nice eating area. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating. Unfortunately the soundproofing in some of the rooms is poor making it difficult for light sleepers. There is the noise of the planes in the rooms on the airport side, and the jr. suites are above the entrance canopy so there is both noise and vibration. It's important to really check out the room before you start to unpack or go to bed. We checked in tired and hungry, ate, turned on the TV, and got ready for bed before we noticed that our room was far to noisy for us to sleep well. Do not assume that asking for a quiet room before checking in will solve the problem.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We wound up here via our cruise line and did not know what to expect...it was Superbowl Weekend and everything was else was booked. What a pleasant surprise!! The outside of the building was a bit strange...cubism gone mad...but the inside is beautiful..elegant, spacious, artfully decorated, luxurious. The service was five star from the doorman to the porter, reception, lounge and restaurant. Every single staff person went out of their way to make us feel welcome and pampered. The room was excellent, the beds were heaven. The drinks at the bar were great (try their Mojitos!). We had a great breakfast on site and the pool here is gorgeous. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel...only negative is that it is adjacent to the airport, but the windows when closed are pretty soundproof. It's 10 minutes from the cruise dock and 5 minutes from Miami International.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed here on our way to and from the Caribbean in the beginning of January and we loved it. We got in late on the way in and they upgraded us to a suite for free which was great. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable. On the way back we were upgraded again. This hotel is close to the airport but you could not hear it at all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Sofitel. The restaurant was awesome both in style and taste! The bar area was relaxing and quite pretty. The room was very nice. My favorite thing is that everything about the Sofitel makes one feel like they are in France.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport
Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#34 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.