We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #36 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed @ Sofitel 21 years ago on our first wedding night, and I decided 2 surprise my hubby 21 years later with a weekand stay there. Bought back alot of memories.Extremely friendly staff from thesecurity lady at the entrance to the bell boy to the supervisor. Rooms are comfortable although they were installing plasma tv's in the rooms this weekend and made quite a bit of noise, they did respect our do not disturb sign and didn't disturb us. Wish room and at least a mini fridge but overall it was a good 2nd honeymoon and with great rate of $88.00 per night i found on line even better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    1,158
    429
    167
    102
See reviews for
822
1,032
221
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

With the exception of the uninterested barman the staff were very good but the rooms were grubby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This hotel was great for us! We wanted a hotel that had an airport shuttle and wasnt far from the cruise dock. I had read some not so good reviews on here and was praying that we had a better stay and we did. The shuttle picked us up we only waited a few minutes which wasnt bad at all. The hotel is really close to the airport and I thought the planes would keep me up at night but I never heard them not once. We checked in very fast and there wasnt a wait on the room as we checked in a couple hours early. The nice lady even gave us a great room with a view of the lagoon. Our room was very clean and the bathroom ammenties were great. The pool was smaller than I thought but it was fine. We did order room service and it was yummy! The only negative thing I have to say is I wish there was a vending machiene with cokes. You have to go to the lobby where they have a Starbucks and little cafe like thing set up to buy drinks or chips or whatever. I do recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

This was my second stay at the Sofitel Miami Airport. A beautiful and relaxing place to stay overnight between flights. My room was on the top floor with a view of the pool. The ground floor bar was pleasant for drinks and snacks (in lieu of dinner). The Art Deco ambiance is elegant, althought the '80's post-modern exterior looks a bit dated. The hotel is superior to any other airport hotel I've stayed at. Didn't have a chance to try the Starbucks in the lobby, but I enjoyed the sumptuous and moderately-priced (by hotel standards) breakfast in the dining room. Just two minor disappointments: the gift shop did not sell any magazines and there weren't enough computer terminals for the internet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

This was our third stay at the Sofitel Miami, and it is great for an overnight between flights. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. There was a small glitch when we stayed at the beginning of our trip in March, but we talked to the front desk upon our checkout and when we returned in April, everything went flawlessly. The restaurant is excellent, although not cheap. We were also pleased that complimentary internet is available at four computers off the lounge/bar area. Rather than vending machines, one can purchase sodas etc. in the small coffee bar/sundries shop off the lobby. All in all, we will definitely stay here when between flights in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Enjoy it always.. good rooms and beds to get you a good nights rest... Food is great at the restaurant or in room dining.. but dont expect much out of the restaurant service.. they seem to have too much of an attitude problem. I have been staying here for too many years and have had this age old experience...which doesnt seem to improve

  • Liked — Lcoation
  • Disliked — Service attitude at the Restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We booked this hotel in February for an overnight stay before our cruise. We made the reservation on Priceline and paid $165 for a one night stay. We reached the hotel around 1 am on April 5th and we were told that our room wasn't ready. There were a few other families with young children waiting in the lobby for their rooms with us. We were told by the manager that they were having some trouble with the housekeeping staff and that the room will be ready in about 15 minutes. After waiting for one hour we were given the room key around 2 am. We asked for a room with double beds, but we ended up in a room with a king bed and a rollaway bed. We called the manager about it and he told us that they could not guarantee the type of room when you make a reservation with them. We were so exhausted that we didn't do anything about it. The manager gave us a voucher for breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel to make up for all the inconvenience. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and left the hotel the next morning for our cruise. We thought that would be the end of our experience with Sofitel but I checked my credit card statement today and found out that the hotel charged us for the "free breakfast" that was offered to us as compensation for the inconvenience caused by them. I will never stay at any Sofitel again. This was probably the worst experience we have had at any hotel. The hotel itself is in a good location near the airport, but the rooms are small and the bathroom was not even cleaned properly after the previous guests. You will be better off paying a little extra to stay in a hotel that actually cares about their reputation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#27 Family Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.