We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stop prior to Cruise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel stop prior to Cruise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is near airport and cruise ship docks.

We stayed one night prior to cruise..

It is far from everything except airport and cruise, so you stay here for business nearby eitherwise I don't see why..

It is typical Sofitel 4*, the restaurante was very expensive and no kid friendly food.

The staff was helpful and kept some bags for us during cruise!!! Thanks..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    980
    340
    126
    74
See reviews for
675
861
190
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First time in a Sofitel, I didn't had choices as my favorite hotels were sold out.
Since the entrance you can figure out is not maintained and old. Main door is not automatic. Arrogant front desk clerk with strong French accent assign us a lower floor room despite our request in our reservation for a top floor room.
Room are small and beds as well, perhaps French standard. Elevators are tagged, corridor carpet are dirty, etc. The luxury is just in the logo. I will class a 3 stars, even you can get better @Holiday Inn or Best Western

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I love staying at Sofitel, the Miami Sofitel is no exception, great lobby lounge where you can sit down and relax with exceptional cocktails and service. I usually stay here when travelling on business in Miami, the rooms are good and its perfectly located if you need to be close to Miami Airport.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite, despite distance from the Airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at Sofitel Miami for two nights during my business trip. As Le Club Gold member, I got upgraded from superior room with city view to luxury room with lagoon view. However, the room didn’t have that much feel of luxury. It was dated like the whole place. Instead of a typical nice Sofitel scent in lobby, nose was filled with musty smell.

The bed was good as always in Sofitel, but that was almost the only Sofitel element in this hotel. Towels weren't from French Yves Delorme even if they are similar basic element of Sofitel than the signature MyBed. Moreover, they did have neither bathrobes, slippers nor turn down service. I experienced this first time in Sofitel.

Also shoe spoon and Bose music player were missing. Laundry bag wasn't tagged with Sofitel logo but it was just normal cheap looking plastic bag. Even bigger problem was shower gel that was missing and replaced with a bar soap. Every single day I had to make a phone call to housekeeping and request liquid body cleansing gel – in a five-star luxury hotel! Toiletries were from Lanvin.

My room was also dirty: couch and chair were full of stains and pieces of leftover food from previous customers. Disgusting!

Location was close to airport. It took about 15 minutes to get there. If you are planning to spend time in Miami Beach, I would consider staying elsewhere. It took around 30 minutes to drive from Sofitel Miami to the South Beach. If one doesn’t have a rental car, it’s going to be really expensive to use taxi back and fort all the time.

To sum it up: sadly I didn't feel like being at Sofitel at all.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was great, the room spacious, employees always helpful and the food really good. The only thing we could think wasn't perfect was the shuttle - at the airport every shuttle drove by a couple of times accept for ours - had to wait for it for a while.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Miami to see two shows and to experience the city-however the prices in the main part of town (downtown and South Beach) were quite steep. Found the Sofitel for a reasonable price, was only 15 minutes from everything we wanted to see and do-but was in a quiet and peaceful place. Property and rooms were wonderful. Staff was incredibly friendly and accoomodating. While the airport is nearby, I can't say I heard anything from inside the hotel. Pool area lovely.

Only thing to watch for-we used the food service twice. Food was fine, but bill was high. We tipped based on bill. Come to discover that an 18% gratuity has been applied to the bill already. Bottom line-they double dipped on the tips. Don't mind tipping generously for good service-which we had-but the double dip left a bad taste in out mouth. If they had told us when they presented the bill-it would have been much clearer and we could have made our own decision as to whether to tip additionally.

However-I'm leaving the 5 stars-because this tipping problem did not outweigh the other great positives of the property. Will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're in between stops in Miami and want to stay within minutes of the airport, this place will work. Its a quick, inexpensive cab ride from airport. So if you're just staying one night to catch cruise or other te Ave the next day, try this hotel.

Pros:
-close to airport, 5 min ride
-cab $15
-pool gorgeous, with neat waterfall
-nice bar, good food
-nice restaurant, ok prices
-service was very good
-late checkout of 1:30 if requested
-clean, quiet

Cons
-nothing really

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#29 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.