We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and just a few minutes away form the airport!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 129 hotels in Miami
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and just a few minutes away form the airport!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We spent a night after our vacation in the Caribbean and Florida at Sofitel Miami, since we had a morning flight to come back home and we loved the hotel. Great rooms and facilities and quite attentive staff, as well.

We are looking forward to go back and stay there again, at some point!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are looking forward to your next visit, and hopefully, you will be able to stay a little longer to fully enjoy our central location and service from the heart.
Kind regards,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    841
    903
    320
    120
    69
See reviews for
616
797
173
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have a hard time giving this anything more than average. We stayed twice, before our cruise, and the last night of our vacation. Even though the staff were fantastic (Thank you Mario!), I was disappointed by some of the amenities. This is a high end hotel, so expect to pay more (we paid over $400CDN for the stay, dinner, a couple of drinks and the breakfast buffet). There is a Starbucks, but don't expect much, it's a very limited coffee menu. The breakfast buffet was probably the most disappointing meal of our vacation - the scrambled eggs were runny, the sausages somewhat rubbery, and the bacon, well, not good.

The hotel is close to the Miami International airport, and while the rooms were clean,this hotel is best suited for overnight stays, I could not envision any reason to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Sofitel Miami. I truly regret not fully meeting your expectations and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.
Our coffee shop "le petit marche" proudly brews Starbuck coffee and offers a large selection of hot & cold beverages as well as freshly baked breakfast pastries. Our ambassador will also gladly assist you with any other special request you may have.
Breakfast buffet is occasionally offered on weekends. Each item should reflect the same freshness and high quality than our "a la carte" menu, and we will immediately review our buffet procedures with our Executive Chef in order to ensure consistency.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust in our product and services. Please do not hesitate to inform our reservation team of any special request you may have, including your favorite beverage.
Sincerely,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a five star hotel, very close to Miami's International Airport. Easy access to main roads and Downtown Miami. Be aware of the traffic jam on week days on hotel surroundings. The room had king bed, with a skyline view, a very nice and clean bathroom. Staff was all very friendly. No free parking in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Accor hotel disappointed. Checkin took an hour. Quoted incorrect rate, printing vouchers was a hassle, and contentious or inexperienced hotel staff did not make the experience better. Hotel rooms were very worn and tired. All water bottles in room had broken seal (most likely refilled). Breakfast was included but took more than an hour for coffee, bagel and cold cereal. Requested to waiter need to catch shuttle for airport and waiter told us our breakfast needs to be cooked and will take time. Unfortunately, we had to leave table without breakfast with no server to be found.

I can mention the French poor service stereotype but I travel in France regularly (Aclub platinum member for several years) and have lived in France for 4+ years. I never had such poor service experience at Sofitel's or other Accor hotels in France.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Tempted to stay at the Miami International Airport Hotel? Think Again and stay here instead....10 minutes away and for about 20-30 more a night you get areal room and decent service....nothing great but a solid hotel and much less expensive.....have a little more time? try the Setai or the Mandarin Oriental instead...

Room Tip: If you are there for only a night, who cares? NOt a hotel for an extended stay in Miami
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We picked this hotel as a stopover for our first night in Florida due to its location to Miami airport,and the late arrival of our flight.
The room was adequate and the staff friendly especially the lady on reception, who smoothed our passage to the room after a long days travel.
The only muggle was breakfast albeit included in the room price you are limited to certain items from the menu but the waiter failed to inform us and tried to charge us, but after a brief discussion this was sorted, overall a good hotel and close to Miami airport.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#23 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.