We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #33 of 129 hotels in Miami
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent hotel. Conveniently located and secure, it is a well managed property that gives new meaning to accommodation. The staff is professional and works as a team to make everything work. I applaud them and The Hotel Sofitel Miami.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. All of our ambassadors are looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.
With all my best wishes for the New Year,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    803
    870
    313
    119
    68
See reviews for
589
781
167
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had not heard of Sofitel hotels - and were very impressed with the new décor and the very courteous and helpful staff! The lobby and lounge area was fantastic -- very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Our only concern was with the some issues with leaking in two of the 7 rooms our group had -- but have to believe that this was because of the recent remodeling and probably still needing to have final check-off fixes. We were pleased - at the rates we had especially. The concierge was very helpful, too!

Due to high numbers of families there, we were unable to get a blanket at bedtime -- and I hate those down comforters. So - ask ahead if you are like me.

Room Tip: We all had rooms with king size beds and were happy. If you are bothered by airplane noise, might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel Miami. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation, and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.
Warm regards,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crevalcore, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's our second time at the Sofitel Miami. What to say..everything is perfect.the hotel is decorated in Art deco style and it's our ideal location for our holidays in Miami.It is located near Miami Intarnational Airport, Coral Gables and South Beach Our room, a superior room was very nice big and clean with free wi-fi and a beautiful view of the Lagoon..Amazing the american and continental breakfast at the buffed which was complementary.We appreciated the service and the kindness of the staff.What could be improved is the valet parking that should be included, we had tov pay USD 9 a day and second thing there was no mini-bar in the room only two free bottles of water.We enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel Miami.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Miami and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Mini bars are available upon request. Please feel free to mention your preference when making your next reservation.
Kind regards,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for on night on 23rd December 2013. Excellent hotel and very professional staff. Very clean and the best comfortable bed for a hotel. Beautiful surroundings and very sound proof rooms. Would have like to stay longer to really enjoy this hotel. Perfect stay. The only criticism is that the dinner at restaurant was expensive at 95 USD.

Room Tip: Room 801 is great or rooms on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Sofitel strives to offer its guests a fine dining experience through demonstrating the French Art de Recevoir. Our restaurant ambassadors will also gladly make any suggestion based on your preferences. They stand at your service to make your dining experience most enjoyable.

We hope to have the opportunity to better cater to your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved the warm breeze of Miami, the proximity to the MIA and the service at the hotel.
Being familiar with the Montreal Sofitel, which is really first-class luxury, I had higher expectations - for example, a clean adult-size bathtub. Yes, it was visibly dirty and, inexplicably, child-sized.
The room was as expected, even though nothing special. The food at the bar was very good, and the personnel we communicated with were all very nice and helpful: from the doorman to the maid who brought us extra shampoo and conditioner. We had to ask for those because we were three, with a month-old reservation, but somehow the room had two glasses, two towels and two tiny, 2-oz bottles of shampoo and conditioner, which would definitely not do for three girls with long hair, coming from an international flight...
Speaking of flights, the airport is really close, so be prepared to hear super jets zoom by. The noise is tolerable and didn't bother us.
We enjoyed the outdoor amenities - the pool and the patio furniture where we enjoyed some food and sunshine, before heading to the port on our Disney Cruise.
I'd recommend this hotel and probably go back, but the star rating does not correspond to the reality. It's an all right hotel - but don't expect glamour.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us before embarking on your cruise. We were delighted to welcome you and your friends to sunny Miami, and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. All amenities should have been adjusted based on the number of guests in the room. I can assure you that we have already addressed the situation with our Director of Housekeeping in order to better coach our team members.
We hope you will be back soon to enjoy another sunny afternoon on our pool deck.
Sincerely,
Fadhel Tahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Amex, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.