We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pet policy for travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    972
    337
    125
    74
See reviews for
670
854
189
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giv'atayim, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel conveniently located near the airport, and without traffic, pretty close to downtown Miami.
Decent wifi and huge beds.

The food is good. American breakfast or belgian waffles. Fresh and good.
Nice view of the airport, and once you get used to the takeoffs and landings, you sleep like a baby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
It was a pleasure to host you during your recent visit to Miami. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and our succulent breakfast. All of our breakfast pastries are freshly baked in house, from our French chocolate croissants to our local pastelitos.
Kind regards,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I took the shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel and the guy was so hospitable, handling my luggage with care. I was so happy from the beginning. The hotel staff was also friendly....My rest was comfortable on one of the most luxurious beds, the pillows were also comfortable. I noted that because I love large and comfortable pillows. Even though I stayed one night and had to rush the next day to catch another flight, I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends and hope to return for at least a longer period to enjoy the spa and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Can't say much but I was on a higher floor and was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Miami and wish you a very Happy New Year.
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Sofitel beds are the best! And the staff was very friendly throughout. Friendly experience and a good night's sleep; what more do I want from a hotel? I liked the location as well, particularly good for passing through for one night including parking the car. The only downside is that they are in the middle of renovations right now. I stayed in an unrenovated room though, and it was perfectly fine. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Very minor thing: The "skyline view" I got was less than impressive; it's basically a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments on the comfort of our beds which is very important to all Sofitel Hotels around the world. The Sofitel MyBed concept consists of a firm mattress, a soft featherbed fluffed daily by hand by our housekeeping ambassadors, and a comfortable duvet on top. Our sheets are of the highest quality and each element can be adjusted to our guests’ preference to make their stay with us most Magnifique and memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another good night sleep and feel free to mention your preference for a room on a high floor or with a lagoon view when making your next reservation.
Kind regards,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are super old!!! The curtains are full of holes, there is no sheets in between the mattress and the duvet, gross! The elevators are either broken, stuck on certain floor or stop at every single floor. At least 5-20 mins wait!!! And it's super SLOW!!!! This place needs MAJOR updating!!! At least replace 1 elevator!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us.
I would like to apologize as we did not meet your expectations.The Sofitel MyBed consists of a firm mattress, a soft featherbed fluffed daily by hand by our housekeeping ambassadors, and a comfortable duvet on top. Our sheets are of the highest quality and each element can be adjusted to our guests’ preference to make their stay with us most Magnifique and memorable. Our duvet covers are changed daily and, upon request, we gladly offer top sheets. Please do not hesitate to mention your preference when making your reservation.
Also, while we are currently under renovations, it should not affect the functionality of our three elevators. I can assure you that we have immediately addressed the issue with our Director of Engineering.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance.
Sincerely,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salto, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Location: Near the airport - free shuttle to and from it (check timetable), near shopping malls shuttle to Dolphin Mall (U$ 12) - taxi (U$ 25). Restaurants, bars and shops at walking distance.
Staff: Friendly
Bedding: Very comfortable
Rooms: Clean and good size.
Pool area: Nice
Comfortable one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel Miami. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel.

With all my best wishes for the New Year,

Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stood for this hotel for only one night to catch an afternoon flight at MIA airport.
Arrived by car and bellboy helped with luggage while I did the check-in. The receptionist Teresa was very friendly and spoke some Portuguese.
Room was clean with an airport view, had no problems at all with the noise. No complain regarding the room, only could have a mini bar.
Breakfast is not an all you can eat buffet, they’ll take the breads/juice to your table and breads were fresh and tasty. Waiters were friendly and polite.
Around midday, at check-out time, the cue was quite long – around 6 people - with only a receptionist to everyone. After a while a new employee came to help.
Summarizing
What I was looking for: Good sleep close to the airport in a up class hotel.
Pros: Friendly service, clean and confortable room. Had a nice sleep to take the flight.
Cons: Checkout cue was quite long - in a low scale hotel is acceptable. Hotel is going under refurbish, I don’t know what was changed or not, but at the 16th floor elevator wall/window bit aged as well as some main bar furnitures.
If the location suits your needs in Miami, I’d recommend Sofitel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending the Sofitel Miami. We truly value your patronage and hope you will be back soon to enjoy our newly renovated rooms.
With all my best wishes for the New Year,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.