We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to the airport.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to the airport.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stood for this hotel for only one night to catch an afternoon flight at MIA airport.
Arrived by car and bellboy helped with luggage while I did the check-in. The receptionist Teresa was very friendly and spoke some Portuguese.
Room was clean with an airport view, had no problems at all with the noise. No complain regarding the room, only could have a mini bar.
Breakfast is not an all you can eat buffet, they’ll take the breads/juice to your table and breads were fresh and tasty. Waiters were friendly and polite.
Around midday, at check-out time, the cue was quite long – around 6 people - with only a receptionist to everyone. After a while a new employee came to help.
Summarizing
What I was looking for: Good sleep close to the airport in a up class hotel.
Pros: Friendly service, clean and confortable room. Had a nice sleep to take the flight.
Cons: Checkout cue was quite long - in a low scale hotel is acceptable. Hotel is going under refurbish, I don’t know what was changed or not, but at the 16th floor elevator wall/window bit aged as well as some main bar furnitures.
If the location suits your needs in Miami, I’d recommend Sofitel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending the Sofitel Miami. We truly value your patronage and hope you will be back soon to enjoy our newly renovated rooms.
With all my best wishes for the New Year,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    1,033
    371
    138
    86
See reviews for
720
921
199
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Staff (apart from one surly person at the check-in counter) are excellent throughout the hotel. It's conveniently located and makes a great stop-over before or after a cruise -- having a Norwegian rep onsite is great. It could do with a make-over though, it's looking tired.

Be warned -- it is near the airport and jets taking off and landing aren't quiet. It's a trade-off for the convenient location.

Starbucks "lite" on sight but just a short walk to a full-service Starbucks, drug stores, grocery, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to host you during your recent stop in Miami. I will proudly share your compliments with our team.
I am also very pleased to inform you that we are in the process of major renovations and hope you will be back soon to experience the same excellent service and a brand new design.
We wish you a Happy New Year 2014.
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was one of our worst experiences at a hotel. The previous reviews claim this is an elegant hotel.....it is not. Our room did mot look like the pictures. We paid over $200 per night for a luxury room. There was tons of construction going on.....I mean loud drilling much our room was vibrating. Maybe it was righr next door to us? We didnt have a car but we couldnt relax in our loud room. You could barely hear each other talk. So we went for a walk to kill time until they were done drilling. Why again did i have to pay so much for a room i cant occupy?! There was no warning of the constuction when we booked the hotel online through the hotel's website. However when we arrived there was a sign saying "sorry for the noise and temporary WATER OUTAGES between 9-5. The drilling finally stopped at 5:45 but began promptly at 8:30am and woke us up. They need to close the floors above and below the floor they are remodeling. This is really poor service to expect a cusomer to pay such high rates to stay with you and then create this kind of experience. I'm sure the remodel will look nice ( like the pictures on their website). This hotel was not very clean either. From the rooms to the bar to the lobby.......could have been maintained much better in the clean department. I have stayed at many other Sofitel Hotels and have never experienced this before! :( Very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during our renovations. I will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could please contact me at your convenience at H0889@sofitel.com to share your feed-back in detail.
Our relationship with our guests is extremely important to us. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to gain your entire satisfaction and trust.
With all my best regards,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel last week before going on our NCI cruise. The front desk employees friendly but overwhelmed. I traveled with my husband and was given a full size bed while my cousin who traveled alone recd a king size bed. We requested a king size,but we where told they did not have anymore. The room was clean and the bed small... The restaurant was very pricey and breakfast was 3 was well over $ 70.00 .. The rooms furniture was one piece under the TV and there was no head bored. The room needs to be updated... This room cost us close to $400.00 was it worth it, no..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Miami. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore, your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our services and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

I am truly sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. I have reviewed your comments and can assure you that I take them very seriously. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Our entire team stands at your service to ensure your next visit is most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel with a gracious & attentive staff. Beautifully appointed in an updated art nouveau style. Well worth the price. The hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas with a large tree in the lounge area. Very nice seating area in the lounge, the nibbles plate is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated, and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Holiday decorations.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a fantastic choice for pre cruise hotel stay. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are clean, the beds are VERY comfortable. A lovely pool area to lounge around with beautiful sunset views. There is a shopping center within walking distance from the hotel. It is probably a 10 minute easy walk. The hotel offered to shuttle us over if we were willing to wait 20 minutes, but after a long flight, we wanted to walk. There is a grocery store and walgreens right there. So buying bottled water, sodas, shampoo/conditioner, suntan lotion, wine to take on the cruise is right there. And saves you on luggage weight for the flight. Also, there is a fantastic Cuban food restaurant in the shopping center! Wendy's and a Burger King nearby as well. They offer free airport shuttle ( which was very prompt) and they offer port transfers for $13 per person. NCL uses this hotel for their pre-paid transfers and overnight stays, so on the weekends there is an NCL rep in the lobby.
The only downside it that it is very close to the airport, so you can hear airplanes taking off occasionally.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending the Sofitel Miami. Our central location allows fast and easy access to the airport or the port of Miami which is always greatly appreciated by cruise passengers.

We look forward to welcoming you back before your next cruise.

Sincerely,

Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nicer hotel but a little dated. Fortunately, they are doing some needed renovations. Unfortunately, they were working on the floor above and beneath our room the entire stay. This made any kind of rest impossible except for late at night. Food was good but pricy. Overall disappointed with very loud construction noise and no help when we complained very nicely.

Room Tip: Away from construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadhel_Tahar, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Miami. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during our renovations. We will immediately reinforce the strict hours of constructions we had implemented to ensure the comfort of our guests and better coach our front office ambassadors on offering to move to another room in case of any inconvenience.
All of our guestrooms will be completed very shortly. We hope you will be back soon to enjoy our brand new design.
With all my apologies and warm wishes for the Holidays,
Fadhel Tahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#19 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.