We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #33 of 130 hotels in Miami
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

very nice and convenient hotel , I stayed there for few days for business trip ...it is close to Miami international airport around 20-25 min from Miami beach ....if you planning to move a lot in Miami you will need a car , you will need t pay for parking which I wish they make it free but still cheaper than other hotels
it has nice restaurant with reasonable prices , hotel staff are friendly...I enjoyed my stay will come there again .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for making the Sofitel Miami your choice of accommodation during your recent business trip.
Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    802
    867
    312
    119
    67
See reviews for
586
780
167
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Was not impressed with this hotel at all. Please note this hotel is currently undergoing renovations and you WILL be disturbed. I have stayed in several Sofitel Hotels and this one was the worst I have ever stayed in.

Firstly we had a 90 minute wait at the Airport as the hotel was only running one shuttle bus. Each time it went past us is was too full and just kept going. Meanwhile all other hotel shuttles would go by 5-10 times in the space of a Sofitel one.

The hotel itself is outdated and the room felt dirty. The bathroom had been updated however, that was about it. There wasn't even a bar fridge in the room, and when we rang down to get one they brought us up one that was so old and dirty we didn't use it.

There was no notification upon booking that there were renovations going on, nor were you advised upon check-in. It wasn't until we got to our room that there was this little bit of paper stating that you may be disturbed during business hours. Well considering we had arrived from Australia and were hoping to catch up one nights sleep it would have been prudent to advise guests. Well as you can probably guess no sleep was caught up on. Construction work was going on right above our head as soon as business hours kicked in.

Overall, DO NOT recommend this hotel in its current state. MAYBE in the future once it has been renovated it will be nicer, however found the overall experience disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Miami. We are committed to providing the highest level of service to all of our guests and, based upon your feedback, we clearly failed to demonstrate our passion for excellence.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our airport shuttle and refrigerator. Rest assured that we have already taken the necessary measures in order to prevent any future occurrence.
All of our guestrooms and corridors are scheduled to be completed by the end of the year. We hope you will reconsider the Sofitel when visiting Miami to experience our newly renovated rooms. Should you wish further information regarding the constructions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
With renewed apologies,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

In town for the Miami 70.3 triathlon in late October. Am from Australia but have travelled a fair bit in Europe and Asia and have expectations of a Sofitel....this did not meet these expectations at all. As I approached it I felt like I was on the set of Miami Vice from the 80's. The entrance area was tired, the lobby, the lifts and particularly the corridors were tired and grubby.

I guess the surprising thing was it really just seemed to need some TLC, some paint and some new carpet (everywhere), some nice tiling on the floors in the lobby and and a new set of sliding doors at the entrance and the place would have been transformed.

The rooms need hairdryers and fridges. Come on please. With new carpet as well it would have been perfectly acceptable.

Staff were great ad the french touch was nice. The outlook over the lagoon was great and carpark security also a bonus.

However the above decorating faults were so disappointing. I would not stay there again unless they get their act together. Easily the worst Sofitel I have seen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
As a loyal guest of Sofitel hotels around the world, we truly value your comments, and I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of major renovations. All of our guestrooms and corridors will be completed by the end of December 2013. We will then proceed with our indoors and outdoors areas. Should your travel plans bring you back to Miami in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. It will be my pleasure to give you a tour of our newly renovated rooms and share pictures and drawings of our upcoming projects.
Respectfully,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We didn't stay long just a one night stay before departing on our cruise, but out of all the hotels we have stayed at this one tops the cake. Staff very friendly and eager to meet you, room was very nice. Room service although pricey was very good and worth it. Check in and check out was a breeze. Had a short wait in the lobby for our bus, staff stopped by and checked on us a couple times. Overall had a great stay would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We were delighted to host you before embarking on your cruise, and I am delighted to know that you were able to experience the excellent service we are known for during your short visit.
Please come back to visit us again soon.
Warm regards,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I picked Sofitel when I had to transit overnight in Miami because of their very good reputation in Europe and around the world. This Sofitel was disappointing to me. Simply put it's old and needs a major upgrade. I was told the upgrade is underway - but not available until sometime in 2014. First I agreed to be put into a room with disable facilities. Wow. This was nearly insulting. I asked for a different room. Much better but still the room was showing its age! It was ok. I had a supper meal in the hotel restaurant. It was good, but 60 DOLLARS?? C'mon. That was way too much. The breakfast in the same location was very good. I would not stay here again. Sofitel you are better than this.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose a disable-friendly room - unless you are disabled - even then I think you deserve bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Sofitel Miami. I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations.
As you mentioned, we are currently in the process of major renovations, and we are expecting to have all of our bedrooms and corridors completed by the end of December 2013.
We hope you will be back soon to discover our new modern design. We would be very thankful for the opportunity to regain your trust in our product and services.
Sincerely,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Located near Miami airport. Reasonably priced hotel suitable for staying at between flights. Outside area not so great. Pool uninviting and dirty. Breakfast as usual in the states, far too big but very nice. Would use again if rates are good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director or Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Miami. I am sorry to read that our pool by the lagoon did not meet our expectations. It should remain in immaculate conditions throughout the day, and I have already taken the necessary measures with our Director of Housekeeping in order to review our inspection procedures.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have the pleasure of your visit again soon.
Best regards,
Pierre Jotterand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattaraugus, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Sofitel. We regularly cruise in the fall and when looking for a hotel, we booked one that gave us everything we wanted, and when we checked into the Sofitel, we got much more than we bargained for. In a world where mediocrity is the norm, the staff at the Sofitel went over and above to ensure our comfort and convenience while we were there. We will without a doubt book our hotel room next year at the Sofitel. Wonderful staff, excellent facilities.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back before your next cruise, and I thank you for your compliments that I will proudly share with all of our ambassadors.
Sincerely,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.