We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #34 of 129 hotels in Miami
la Romana
1 review
“Perfect day hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I spent less than 7 hours at the Sofitel MIA and it was the best rest I could have wanted without a single hitch or agrevation. At reception they are fluent in spanish ,my language,engish and french and other languages . No waiting just a away for the crédito card payment and the key and THEN a soundproof bed room with batirme with french toiletries

Room Tip: I doubt if there is any significent difference in the comfort of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I am delighted to know that you were able to fully enjoy the quiet comfort of our rooms and our elegant bathroom amenities by Lanvin during your short visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully for a longer stay.
With all my best regards,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    814
    888
    315
    120
    68
See reviews for
604
787
170
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Sofitel is really quite beautiful and they are in the process of renovating the entire building so there was plaster dust in the air and on the stair handrails. We did request a room near the elevator but our location was about as far away from the elevator as one could get. The physical location for us was totally wrong. A cab cost $30 to get downtown or to South Beach and the same to get back!!!! We went thru the Concierge for a couple excursions. The operator used for the Airboat ride in the Everglades was definitely not up to the standards one would expect the Sofitel to recommend. We left the hotel at 11:30am and did not get back until 8pm!!! While in route to the planned location, the operator "George" called to tell us to go to South Beach to connect with the van. We did this and Ended up downtown doing the "milk run" stopping at all the hotels. We finally got to the exhibit at 3:20 in the afternoon. It was after 6pm before we were returned downtown. The van driver's clothes were unclean and he drove very unprofessionally weaving in and out of traffic without signals. Just a poor choice Of operator for the Sofitel to be doing business with. Last day was spent laying by the pool and relaxing in the perfect location. Great place if you want to be near the airport and just hang out. Staff was all very gracious.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I take your comments very seriously and will immediately address the issues you brought up to our attention with the tour operator and our concierge team. We sincerely appreciate you took the time to inform us as we expect them to demonstrate the same elegance and excellent service we strive to be known for.
We hope you will be back soon to discover our newly renovated rooms.
Kind regards,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here prior to a cruise on the Panama Canal to Los Angeles. So we didn't choose the hotel it was chosen for us and about 70 other passengers. The check in was good, the room a bit tired but the meal in the bar was excellent with good service. The bar staff even mixed a cocktail for us not on their list . I am afraid it failed at breakfast . Queues and terrible service. Looked like they were short of staff but at an average of $30 a head no excuses please.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am very disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my deepest apologies. The difficulties we experienced that day do not reflect the excellent service we strive to be known for, and I can assure you that we have already taken all the necessary measures to prevent any future occurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly at any time during your next visit.
Sincerely,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We only stayed at the Sofitel for one night after a flight from the UK, but will have no hestation of using the hotel again when we visit Florida in 2014. We really liked the French theme of the place, welcomed in both reception and restaurant in French. The location is superb for Miami airport being only five minutes drive, but it is surrounded by lakes and feels like its in the countryside!!
We really liked the restaurant both food and service was exellant, the menu being extensive and having a european feel.
The rooms were well equiped, large and clean ours looked over the airport runway yet we experienced no noise from the planes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It was a real pleasure to host you upon your arrival to Miami, and we are very happy to know that you will keep excellent memories of the French Elegance Sofitel hotels are known for around the world.
We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014. Please do not hesitate let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay most comfortable.
Sincerely,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had the good fortune to accidentally book this property while on a business trip to Miami. Great Service, wonderful hotel. Could not believe this gem is located near Miami International. My view from the room was that of a lake, no noise or sound from the airport, excellent bed and good linens. I will make this property my base of operations from now on. Easy to get to..shuttle to the airport and lovely setting.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed in your selection of this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel Miami. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation, and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Warm regards,

Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza Ceara Brazil
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed with my husband in this hotel for just 2 nights in October. It was close to the airport, with a good shuttle service and close to the Dolphin Outlet Mall. After arriving late from the airport, at the first night, we decided to have dinner at the restaurant and found amazing food. We got in love with the corn and crab chawder imediatelly. The next day, after shopping all day long, we decided to ask for the room service, and once again, delicious food. The room huge in size and the king bed extremelly comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Jotterand, Director of Operations at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
At Sofitel, we strive to demonstrate French Elegance through our gastronomy, design and cultural events. Your kind words are very important to us, and I will proudly share your compliments with our culinary team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another delicious taste of the Sofitel "Art de Recevoir".
Sincerely,
Pierre Jotterand
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.