We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Oceano, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew out of MIA, we were coming from another hotel we had stayed at the night before in Miami Beach which was awful. We arrived at the Sofitel before check in time but they did allow us into our room early for a small fee, which was worth it to us since our nightly rate was a great deal. We were greeted by the front desk promptly and they were very friendly and cordial. This Sofitel is much smaller than the one in San Francisco, but it is still nice.

We got to our room on the 9th floor which had a view of the pool, lagoon, and airport. The room was very large with sitting area and king bed, but it was a bit dated. Though everything was clean and comfortable. The room had everything you needed and typically find in a hotel, but no coffee maker, but that's not a big deal. We changed right away and went to the pool. The pool is decent size but I do not think it was heated. It was a very hot day and the pool was quite cool when getting in and took a while to get used to. We were there in August. We enjoyed lazing around the pool for a while, but there was no bar or food service out there. But the bar and restaurant were right inside the door nearest the pool. After a while we walked a couple blocks away to get some lunch elsehwere. It's not far but in that heat it was somewhat uncomfortable.

After lunch and lazing more around the pool we changed and went to the bar for cocktails and dinner. The bartender was not super friendly at first but them warmed up. Our cocktails were excellent and we ordered a lot of tapas which were also excellent. I would eat at that restaurant again for sure.

We had an early flight the next morning and took the first shuttle to the airport at 5am. It was very prompt and the driver was courteous. For the price, I would stay at this hotel again. It is quieter than some other properties and maybe not near restaurants and shopping, but it was fine for our lazy pool day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the detailed review of your recent stay at the Sofitel Miami. We are delighted to know that you were able to enjoy a relaxing day by our pool. Should you come back for some shopping, feel free to ask our concierge about the shuttle to the Dolphin Mall or the possibility of renting a car at the hotel for a day or more. He stands at your service with any transportation needs you may have.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    1,075
    397
    148
    94
See reviews for
756
965
208
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here because the airplane was late for the weather condition. We just love it, and extra day from our vacation. Close to the MIA airport transportation is always there for you. Will come back or stay here if I ran into trouble again.

Room Tip: even toothbrush and paste! our language were all wrapped and they give us toothpaste and a regular t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
While we regret the circumstances that brought you to the Sofitel Miami, we are thrilled to know that we have been able to demonstrate the French elegance Sofitel is all about and make you feel like on vacation for another day.
We look forward to your next visit!
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Good place nice and clean rooms. Food was good and so was the staff over here. Was on official trip so had stayed over at sofitel Miami. Would recommend to friends and family. They have good breakfast menu in the buffet restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendations to friends and family. We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business and location. The hotel was clean, well run with great staff. I would recommend staying here. My friends had some good food at the bar and there is a Starbucks in the lobby. The pool looked very relaxing too. I wish I could have enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending the Sofitel Miami. It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we hope you will be back soon to enjoy our beautiful lagoon pool.
Kind regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice views over the laguna. Comfortable room, Lanvin toiletries are a nice touch and in-keeping with the Art-Deco theme.
Buffet breakfast was poor value for money, little choice and quality not great. Certainly did not entice us to eat an evening meal there.

Room Tip: Laguna view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great local to stay, there's some restaurants around (Wendys, Burger King), you can also find CVS (pharmacy), and the MIA Intl Airport its about 5 min by car (the hotel also offer shuttle to airport). Nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the city. At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests. We are delighted to know that you will keep excellent memories of your stay with us.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I rated this excellent last year, but this year was a little bit different.

Firstly, and for overseas visitors who shop online, this is relevant: they now charge $5 handling fee on packages they receive. This was a surprise for me when I came, as there was no hint last year that this is soemthing they would do, it's the first hotel I know that does that.

I think $5 is too much, a little less is reasonable. Then, when I confronted staff of the fact that this came as a surprise to me, they **made me feel that "it's policy"** which was a little sickening because I expected too much from Sofitel. My stay last year in this hotel, and earlier this year in another city's Sofitel made me conclude there's a Sofitel way of doing things. That was not how I was treated.

To be fair, the lady who checked us out gave me substantial credit the next morning, to her great credit, and more than that she "restored" the Sofitel service level, and that's Maria.

There are renovated and un-renovated rooms in this hotel. It is a BIG disappointment that as I travelled with my family we were placed in an un-renovated part of the hotel!

But apart from that the bar food was fantastic, the rest of the staff still served the Sofitel way, and the other parts of the hotel were excellent, escpecially the lobby where we hang out for a bit.

If we had our way, we could have used the pool, which I recommend!

Room Tip: Get a renovated room. if you have kids interested in planes there's a side that looks out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We were delighted to host you and your family during your recent trip to Miami. Thank you very much for staying with us at the Sofitel.
We gladly receive packages for our guests free of charge during their stay. A storage fee applies only when packages are received before our guests’ arrival. Please do not hesitate to contact our concierge before your next visit at miami_concierge@sofitel.com. He stands at your service with any special needs you may have.
Also, all our rooms will be renovated by the end of the year. We hope you will be back soon to enjoy more of our exquisite bar menu while relaxing on our pool deck.
With all my best regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.