We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MiAmI VaCaY:)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #33 of 130 hotels in Miami
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“MiAmI VaCaY:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My fiance' and I went to Miami for a weekend get away and we had an awesome time. This hotel is so beautiful and the staff is super friendly and helpful. We brought food and when it was time to reheat it, we realized there wasn't a microwave, so we called front desk to see if you could warm it at the little cafe, but they brought one up to our room:) lol
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The South end has beautiful view of pool and lake:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back, and it is with great pleasure that I will share your kind words with all of our ambassadors who constantly strive to offer a personalized service filled with emotions.
A bientôt!
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    828
    886
    316
    125
    71
See reviews for
579
774
162
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was pleasantly surprise to receive tickets from my wife to go to Game 2 of the NBA Eastern Conference Finals in Miami. It was a last minute trip and places were booked. She found, the Sofitel, Miami and booked the room. This is a nice place but, for me, a little out of the way. We were very close to the airport, big plus, but, 20-30 minutes from the main sites. And cab fare can get expensive. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Free WiFi and a nice pool area. The bar was a little expensive but, the total value of the hotel was very good.
The one thing that stood out the most was the service. They were ON IT!!!! That TRUMPS some of the inconveniences. Ricardo, one of the drivers, is an excellent addition to their staff. He suggested some places for us to visit and even drove us there in the shuttle. And, always smiling. Great guy!!!
Again, this, really, is not a bad place at all and would stay there again......but, it would be better if you have transportation. It's not the most convenient or luxurious hotel but, it is nice. And a good value!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and I can assure you that I take your comments very seriously.

I hope you enjoyed the game and that you will be back soon for another great evening in the Magic City.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Sofitel annually on our way to St. John USVI. While I will admit that the hotel has not updated it's carpeting and room attire, we find that the staff makes up for the lack of bright, clean and new furnishings. The staff is outstanding, the concierge arranged to have us delivered to our favorite Cuban restaurant due to heavy rain that evening, even giving us a coupon for 10% off our meal.

If you need a clean, safe room near the airport, I recommend them.

Room Tip: Anything above the 6th floor has either a view of Miami or the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for being such a loyal guest to the Sofitel Miami. Our concierge is delighted to know that you will keep excellent memories of your Cuban evening in Miami. I am also very pleased to inform you that we are in the process of replacing our carpeting and renovating our guests rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another Magnifique stay at the Sofitel Miami.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Highly recommend! Celebrating a wedding at sofitel miami and all family and out off town guests really enjoyed their stay. Everyone had great things to say. Food was delicious. I would do this all again and wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was truly an honor to host you, your family and friends for the wedding celebration at the Sofitel Miami. We are delighted to know that you will keep excellent memories of such a joyful event, and our entire team is joining me in wishing the new couple a lifetime of happiness.
Congratulations!
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The staff is exceptional and caters to your every need. The beds are a so comfortable that you really do just sink into them. The service at the pool area was excellent. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. It's located about 20 minutes from south beach and 10 minutes from Bayside. I went for a wedding, and that too was beautiful.

Room Tip: ask for a higher level with the lagoon view/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your satisfaction on TripAdvisor. We strive to create emotion, surprise and pleasure for each of our guests through attention to detail and a passion for excellence. It is with great pride that I will share your kind words with our team.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Normally I go to Miami on business and spend very little time at the hotel so I always stay at the Sofitel……it’s close to the airport……not pricy at all……depending on what you are planning to do there are nicer and better places…but if you don’t want to spend too much and still want something acceptable this is a place to consider.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us when traveling for business. We truly value your patronage and hope you will have the opportunity during your next visit to enjoy our fully equipped fitness center or some relaxing moments on our pool deck. Our entire team stands at your service to make your next stay most enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to St Lucia. Hotel Sofitel is just fine for an overnight quick trip. They were very kind and surprised us with a bottle of champagne for a birthday celebration. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. Would stay again if flying out the next day. Not ideal for vacation stay, only for airport convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to know that you will keep excellent memories of your birthday celebration at the Sofitel Miami. We hope you will be back soon for a longer stay. Our central location is convenient for a quick access to all of the major attractions the city of Miami has to offer. Our concierge will gladly provide directions and assist you with renting a car on property. Some tours are also available departing by bus from the hotel. For further information, feel free to contact us at miami_concierge@sofitel.com.
With all my best regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Amex, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.