We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Sofitel hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the Sofitel hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is my second stay at Sofitel. The first one was in Chicago, probably the best hotel I've ever been at. The Sofitel near Miami airport is a bit less luxurious but still has the same high standards as in Chicago.
The service is great, from the reception desk to the server at the restaurant.
The room is comfortable, including also a nice sofa and a business desk. The design is classy. The products for the shower are of high quality.
The breakfast was very tasty, had omelette, oj and coffee with croissant and jam.
Stayed in other hotels in MIA airport that more expensive but definitely enjoyed my staying at the Sofitel more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your loyalty to Sofitel Hotels. Our ambition and pleasure is to strive constantly to offer excellent service enriched with emotion, performance and a passion for excellence. I am delighted to know that you have been able to enjoy the same Magnifique moments at both of our properties. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    972
    337
    125
    74
See reviews for
670
854
189
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed in the past at this hotel for my Miami holidays and now that I ha the opportunity to travel on business, I (of course) decided to stay here again.
The hotel is excellent, Located a few minutes away from the airport with complementary shuttle every 30 minutes, staff is simply amazing, always willing to make you feel at home.
The rooms are just perfect and the bedding a dream came true.
The restaurant offer delicious french and international cuisine in a delicate ambiance...
The pool is beautiful, facing the lagoon.
This is the best place to stay in Miami for business ... And vacation if you rent a car.
I love this high standards hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel Miami. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation, and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have used other Sofitel hotels in the past, and I have to say that overall this one is not in the same league as the others. I has a slightly tired feel about the place. However we did enjoy a nice meal in the restaurant, and the staff were attentive, and friendly.The food was of a reasonable standard, if a bit overpriced. The room was average, but the bed was comfortable. The hallway to the bedroom was very uninspiring and unwelcoming. With bleach stained carpeting and no decor. (What you would expect from a cheap budget hotel.) Having said all this we had a nice time in Miami.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for referring to Sofitel Hotels as your choice of accommodation when traveling. We sincerely value your patronage and take your comments very seriously. We are planning to replace the carpet in our hallways by the end of the summer and hope you will be back soon to experience other Magnifique moments in Miami. I will then gladly share with you the exciting projects we have in progress.
Warm regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The service is up to the Sofitel standards from check-in to the restaurants but the structure of the hotel, tired and charmless, is not what you normally expect from Sofitel.

Unless you are looking for an airport hotel there are many better options in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
At Sofitel, we strive to create unique, contemporary luxury hotels by artfully blending its French origins with the very best of local culture. I am very disappointed to read that your experience in Miami did not reach your expectations, and I would like to invite you to contact me directly in order to gather further details regarding your recent visit. You can reach me at (305) 264-4888 or by email at H0889@sofitel.com.
Thank you very much for your loyalty to Sofitel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Miami, and I stand at your service with any special request you may have.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early around 9 am. And when I wanted to check in the reception lady told me that I have to pay extra 50$ if I want to have my room at that moment. I think it's kinda ridiculous. In all of the hotels that I've ever stayed, they never asks me to pay extra money if the room is ready before check in time. Of course I completely understand if the hotel is busy which sometimes make us wait even more than the check in time. But, with my room ready and the hotel is not busy, and she doesn't wanna give me my room unless I pay 50 $ is just ridiculous. Anyway, the hotel room is nice and clean and most of the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and would like to invite you to contact me directly for further information. I will gladly answer any question you may have regarding our early check-in policy.
We truly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very convenient to the airport, Has shuttle to cruise ships available, Wonderful staff, Beautiful facility, Fun bar with great appetizers, Short walk to grocery and Starbucks, just a really nice stay.

Room Tip: we did a junior suite for 4 of us and it worked out fine, though the couch is pretty short - gotta p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and we are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am a regular Accor customer and i can say this is not a Sofitel. The hotel is old and you can see there is no maintance. The room and bathroom was really dirty and i can say my experience at this hotel was terrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We truly value your loyalty to Accor hotels, and I sincerely regret to read that your experience at the Sofitel Miami did not meet your expectations. I will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could please contact me at your convenience to share your feed-back in detail. You can reach me by phone at 305-264-4888 or by email at H0889@sofitel.com.
We hope you will give us another chance to gain your entire satisfaction and trust.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.