We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersGold level
panama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Got this hotel thru Hotwire and I was impressed with their excellent service and comfortable rooms, is true that certain areas look dated but the room was impecable clean nd bed was super comfortable!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments on the comfort of our beds which is very important to all Sofitel Hotels around the world. Our MyBed concept consists of a firm mattress, a soft featherbed fluffed daily by hand by our housekeeping ambassadors, and a comfortable duvet on top. Our sheets are of the highest quality and each element can be adjusted to our guests’ preference to make their stay with us most Magnifique and memorable.
Please come and visit us again real soon!
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    975
    340
    125
    74
See reviews for
673
859
190
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is billed as a luxury hotel and is often used before or after a cruise from Miami. It was well decorated and classy. Our friend had cockroaches in their room but reception desk did not seem to think this was a problem. No coffee maker in room. Pricey lounge and restaurant. Very noisy in foyer

Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, and I can assure you that I take them very seriously. We have immediately taken the necessary measures with our service provider in order to review and reinforce our preventative treatments as we have no tolerance for such nuisance.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After a long flight to MIA The Sofitel is real close, a quick shuttle ride there. Stayed here prior to NCL cruise, as did many others. Nice pool with waterfall. Has a gym but didn't have time to check it out. Kind of isolated, so the $15/glass charge for wine is my only complaint. But maybe thats just big city prices I am not used to.

Room Tip: ask for king bed if you dont want 2 smaller beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us before embarking on your cruise. We are delighted to know that you will keep excellent memories of your stay with us and look forward to your next visit, hoping you will have the opportunity to enjoy our fully equipped fitness center.
Warm regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very comfortable hotel. Perfect overnight airport hotel. Very good service, the bar, bar food, and service was second to none. Good place to hang out at night. Pleasant surprise. Rooms were good , and clean. Not a resort nor expected to be.

Room Tip: check multiple websites. Found lots of different prices out there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We were honored to welcome you for the first time at the Sofitel Miami and are truly pleased to know that it was a pleasant surprise.
I will gladly share your kind words with all of our ambassadors at Le Bar who work diligently to offer our guests a personalized service enriched with emotion, performance and a passion for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel staff and service are wonderful.

The physical hotel itself does not speak the same quality. I was told while staing there that they are going to renovate the hotel later this year. The renovation is overdue to match the service quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for making the Sofitel Miami your choice of accommodation during your recent business trip to Miami. I am delighted to know that you were able to experience the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world, and we hope to have the pleasure of your visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was given a room on a floor where the hallway walls were in the process of being painted and stained carpet. Instead of a view of the Blue Lagoon, I overlooked the parking lot and a roof with the hotel HVAC system. One of the windows drapes didn't close so the sun woke me up too early. The restaurant had good food, but 16.00 chicken tenders on the kids menu is criminal. Moisture damaged the bathroom door and was poorly disguised with layers of paint. The structure that created a waterfall in the pool was an eyesore. The hotel was clean, service was good (except the reservation clerk who put me in a lousy room). The hotel is tired and needs repair. I kick myself for not speaking up during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations, and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your reservation.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly with your next reservation. I will personally ensure that your stay with us is most enjoyable. You can reach me at sofitel.miami@sofitel.com.
Sincerely,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It may not be in South Beach, but had a great short business stay at the property. Beds are great and rooms are average but decent (no coffee maker in the room though?). What makes this a 4 vs a 3 rating is the staff - espescially the bar. Good people watching, but the staff is really good - courteous, funny, aware and went out of there way to make sure I was attended to and having a good time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear John R:
I am delighted to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy some Magnifique moments at Le Bar. It is with great pleasure that I will share your compliments with our team members and personally recognize them on your behalf for their courteous, funny and personalized service.
Warm regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#5 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#29 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.