We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feel special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Miami

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #33 of 130 hotels in Miami
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always feel special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We always choose Sofitel Miami when traveling to and from Miami. We are welcomed back and treated very well by the staff. Our special requests are honored when possible. The dining room has wonderful food and also a great staff....Carlos, Carlito, Luz and the "suits" pitch in and add to the elegant atmosphere.
Ricardo always has a smiling greeting and interesting story whether at the front door or in the Shuttle!
This is NOT your ordinary Airport Hotel, which is why we love it. Merci...a bientot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We truly value your loyalty to the Sofitel Miami, and it is with great honor that I will share your compliments with all of our ambassadors who work diligently to demonstrate the French Elegance Sofitel is known for around the world.
Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back for another Magnifique stay in sunny Miami.
Warm regards,
Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    834
    894
    320
    125
    71
See reviews for
582
778
165
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff was so pleasant , friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean. The restaurant food was excellent. The pool area was clean and the chairs and lounges were very comfy. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our large and comfortable rooms, as well as the French “Art de la Table” we strive to be known for around the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Truly a let down from Day 1. I arrived to find out the room I reserved wasn’t available- now I was in a double room not King- Also unable at first to locate FEDEX shipped to me (which hotel charges fee for) he next issue is the horrible service received from a "Julie" at front desk- I asked for the bellman with luggage cart and gave my valet # to also have the car pulled around- waited 20 minutes and called back to hear from her- Yes, I will let them know in a minute" I explained the purpose for my original call was to minimize time so that I could attend my business meetings. She said she would let them know-they NEVER showed up- I carried the large box to the car- that WAS NOT there. The valet said they just got the call and couldn’t find my car ticket ( I pointed it out right in front of him on the desk)- Restaurant in Lobby- At lunch- the waitress didn’t know the menu she thought the item on my plate was Cheese when I ordered tofu- It was tofu. Then I ate dinner at La Riviera also in Hotel- Food was not fresh - Seafood Paella- bad odor as well. Service was fair. The service in the rest of this hotel is terrible; rooms are average- and no reason to return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I sincerely regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please allow me to express my deepest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

We will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could please contact us at your convenience to share your feed-back in details. You can reach me by email at H0889@sofitel.com or by phone at (305)264-4888.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to experience Sofitel Miami and gain your entire satisfaction and trust.

Yours sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I was very satisfied with my hotel stay. While the pool area is not that large, it never filled up and the lounge chairs were very comfortable. I had a fridge in my room and there is a supermarket 2 blocks away. I had a smoking room which was very comfortable with bottled water provided daily.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending the Sofitel Miami.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back and stands at your service with any special request you may have.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

An amazing service from reception desk to the Lavin amenities in bathroom !
Macarons and chocolates in the room .
Good food, we ate in the room.
Near by the airport. I just stay for a stop over, comming back from Orlando.
I certainly will be back !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Danirosasiq:

Thank you very much for your kind words on the quality of our Lanvin bathroom amenities and delightful macarons, all part of the French Elegance we strive to be known for.

I will proudly share your compliments with our Front Office Ambassadors and personally recognize them for their amazing service.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Sofitel before and have always enjoyed our stay there. This trip was a little disappointing. The shuttle from the airport was terribly overcrowded to the point of being dangerous for the riders. The check-in process was lengthy due to some issue with an athletic team trying to get their room straightened out, and the restaurant was not up to their usually high standard. Cold, subpar crab and corn soup. I sent a note to the hotel manager, and he apologized profusely. We will stay there again, and expect that the issues that we experienced will be addressed. Sofitel takes great pride in the quality of the customer experience, so I was very surprised but confident that our concerns will be resolved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear av8tr:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit. I can assure you that we have already taken the necessary measures with our Front Office Manager and Executive Chef in order to review our check-in procedures and ensure consistency of the hearty and sumptuous soups we served daily at our restaurant La Riviera.

We are very grateful for your loyalty to the Sofitel Miami and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stated here for two nights prior to a cruise!

Staff, food and the rooms were nice and fit for purpose!

Breakfast in the hotel was lovely and the drinks reasonable

Check in and out a bit slow but not the end of the world!

I would happily stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Nagesvaran, General Manager at Sofitel Miami, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
It was a true pleasure to host you during your pre-cruise stay in Miami.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and stand at your service to make your next visit most enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Balendra Nagesvaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
City Center, Qu...
Show More
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Park...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Quiet, Pool, Lu...
Show More
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#36 of 130 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Suites, Mid-ran...
Show More
Downtown
b2 miami downtown
b2 miami downtown
#44 of 130 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Miami

Address: 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting like a tropical paradise, Sofitel Miami is only 5 minutes from Miami International Airport, 15 minutes from the nearest beach and 10 minutes from the Port of Miami. In addition, it's an easy drive to a number of major attractions. Overlooking a peaceful blue lagoon, the hotel features an exquisitely decorated lobby in which striking tropical colors are paired with Art Deco design and sculpture. The overall effect is one of contemporary French ambiance, comfortable yet captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Sofitel
Accor Miami
Sofitel Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.